Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658

Subscription of Press Releases


Press Release 005/2013

KIT Succeeds in the “EXIST Culture of Entrepreneurship” Competition

Federal Ministry of Economics Funds Concept for the Support of Startups with about EUR 3 Million
Bundeswirtschaftsministerium fördert Konzept zur Gründungsunterstützung mit knapp drei Millionen Euro
From left to right: Jens Fahrenberg and Professor Orestis Terzidis from KIT are handed over the EXIST winner certificate by the Federal Minister of Economics Philipp Rösler. (Photo: Thilo Schoch, EXIST)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one winner in the final round of the “EXIST Culture of Entrepreneurship” competition launched by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi). For its concept to enhance the culture of entrepreneurship at the university, KIT will be granted nearly EUR 3 million in the next three years. In total, 27 German universities applied for funding.


“This win is a big success for KIT. It confirms our strategy to en-hance the support of startups and the culture of entrepreneurship at KIT,” says KIT President Professor Eberhard Umbach, who presented KIT’s proposal in Berlin. “KIT is not only responsible for research and education, but also for knowledge transfer to the market. This objective can be reached with sustainably successful startups.”


The KIT proposal was set up by a team of scientists, students, innovation managers, and regional entrepreneurs and investors. The main element of the proposal is the consistent extension of existing KIT offers and systematic pooling of all activities in a holistic, KIT-wide culture of entrepreneurship. More than 100 ideas were gath-ered, on the basis of which a national “center of startups” and more innovative companies than ever are to be established at KIT in the next years. “With these activities, we want to further strengthen the enormous potentials of KIT on the market,” emphasizes Professor Orestis Terzidis from the KIT Institute for Entrepreneurship, Tech-nology Management, and Innovation.


From April, new measures for the support of startups will be introduced under the direction of Professor Orestis Terzidis and the head of the KIT Innovation Management Service Unit, Dr. Jens Fahrenberg, with existing facilities being used as a basis. Among others, a KIT funding platform for new business projects is to be established: In leverage crowd funding, many smaller investors will be convinced of a business idea and then fund the startup as silent partners. New teaching formats, such as business plan workshops, entrepreneurship lectures, or patent laboratories are to familiarize the students with topics related to entrepreneurship at a very early point in their education. The Center for Entrepreneurship (CfE) is to be extended to a startup center and detailed counseling by KIT startup coaches is to be enhanced. CfE and the KIT startup coaches will bring scientists, students, doctoral students, professors, and alumni of KIT together in order to support startups in an unconventional and unbureaucratic manner. The services offered will extend from counseling to concept development to the supply of infrastructure and funding. KIT startup coaches will advise young entrepreneurs, identify commercially exploitable ideas and technologies at KIT, and support their further development and transfer to a business model.


More information on entrepreneurship at KIT:


More information on the competition “EXIST - Gründungskultur”


Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

as-le, 09.01.2013

Press contact:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehnePke2∂kit edu

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 005/2013

KIT im Wettbewerb EXIST-Gründungskultur erfolgreich

Bundeswirtschaftsministerium fördert Konzept zur Gründungsunterstützung mit knapp drei Millionen Euro
Bundeswirtschaftsministerium fördert Konzept zur Gründungsunterstützung mit knapp drei Millionen Euro
Von links nach rechts: Jens Fahrenberg und Professor Orestis Terzidis vom KIT erhalten von Bundeswirtschaftsminister Philipp Rösler die EXIST-Gewinner-Urkunde. (Foto: Thilo Schoch, EXIST)

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) hat sich in der Endrunde des Wettbewerbs „EXIST-Gründungskultur“ des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi) durchgesetzt: Für sein hochschulweites Konzept zum Ausbau der Gründungskultur erhält das KIT in den nächsten drei Jahren knapp drei Millionen Euro. Insgesamt hatten sich 27 deutsche Hochschulen beworben.

 

„Die Förderung ist ein großer Erfolg für das KIT. Sie bestätigt unsere Strategie, die Unterstützung für Gründer auszubauen und damit die Kultur der unternehmerischen Selbstständigkeit am KIT weiter zu stärken“, sagt KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach, der die Bewerbung des KIT in Berlin präsentierte. „KIT trägt nicht nur für Forschung und Lehre Verantwortung, sondern auch für den Wissenstransfer in den Markt. Mit nachhaltig erfolgreichen Gründungen können wir dieses Ziel erreichen.“

 

Den KIT-Antrag erarbeitete ein Team aus Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, Studierenden, Innovationsmanagern sowie regionalen Unternehmern und Investoren. Kern des Antrags ist der konsequente Ausbau des bestehenden KIT-Angebots und das systematische Zusammenführen aller Aktivitäten in eine ganzheitliche, KIT-weite Gründungskultur. Dabei kamen mehr als hundert Vorschläge zusammen, auf deren Grundlage am KIT in den nächsten Jahren eine nationale „Gründerschmiede“ und noch mehr innovative Unternehmen als bisher entstehen sollen. „Wir wollen mit diesen Aktivitäten die enormen Potenziale des KIT als marktwirtschaftlichem Faktor weiter stärken“, so Professor Orestis Terzidis vom KIT-Institut für Entrepreneurship, Technologiemanagement und Innovation.

 

Ab April werden unter der Projektleitung von Professor Orestis Terzidis und dem Leiter der KIT-Dienstleistungseinheit Innovationsmanagement, Dr. Jens Fahrenberg, auf Basis der vorhandenen Einrichtungen neue Maßnahmen zur Gründerunterstützung eingeführt. Dazu zählt etwa eine KIT-eigene Finanzierungsplattform für junge Gründungsprojekte: Beim „Leveraged Crowdfunding“ (auch Schwarmfinanzierung) geht es darum, möglichst viele kleinere Investoren von einer Geschäftsidee zu überzeugen, die das Unternehmen dann als stille Gesellschafter finanzieren. Neue Lehrformate wie Business-Plan-Workshops, Entrepreneurship-Vorlesungen oder Patent-Labore sollen die Studierenden schon früh an das Thema Unternehmertum heranführen. Zudem soll neben dem Center for Entrepreneurship (CfE) als Gründerzentrum auch die konkrete Projektberatung durch die KIT-Gründer-Coaches weiter ausgebaut werden. Das CfE und die KIT-Gründer-Coaches bringen Wissenschaftler, Studierende, Doktoranden, Professoren und Alumni des KIT fachübergreifend zusammen, um Unternehmensgründungen unkonventionell und unbürokratisch zu fördern. Das Angebot reicht von der Beratung über die Konzeptentwicklung bis zum Bereitstellen von Infrastruktur und Finanzierung. KIT-Gründer-Coaches beraten Jungunternehmer inhaltlich und fachlich. Sie identifizieren dafür auch kommerziell verwertbare Ideen und Technologien innerhalb des KIT, unterstützen bei der Weiterentwicklung und beim Transfer in ein Geschäftsmodell.

 

Nähere Informationen zum Gründen am KIT:
www.gruenden.kit.edu

 

Nähere Informationen zum Wettbewerb „EXIST-Gründungskultur“
www.exist.de 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

as-le, 09.01.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneBbp9∂kit edu