Press Release 004/2013

Data Safe for Research

“Alliance for Research Data Storage” Develops Strategies for Long-term Storage of Valuable Data/ Test of Storage of Particle Physics, History of Literature, and Climate Research Data

Information from former times survived centuries on stone and paper. Modern hard disks, DVDs, and magnetic tapes are less stable and lose reliability after a few years already. However, they are used for the storage of data that have been gathered by modern research projects funded by millions of Euros. In the “Alliance for Research Data Storage” established in the beginning of this year, computer scientists of KIT develop strategies to overcome this dilemma in cooperation with colleagues from Cologne and Göttingen.


“Nowadays, vast amounts of digital information data are produced by research projects. From them, major findings are derived for science and industry,” explains Rainer Stotzka from the Institute of Data Processing and Electronics of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). For the data to be available to future generations of researchers even upon the completion of the project, strategies and tools are needed to store these data over several decades in a safe and retrievable manner. For this purpose, KIT, the University of Cologne, and the Society for Scientific Data Processing, Göttingen, have started a cooperation project.


The strategies to be developed will be based on joint standards for long-term data storage, the generation of describing meta data, and data storage at distributed locations. Contrary to valuable books, the circulation of which is to be limited in order to prevent their wear, digital data are to be copied and distributed regularly in order to be able to cope with a failure of the storage medium. “Research and development work is required to make the tools fit for reliable operation over several decades and generations,” Stotzka says. To develop interdisciplinary strategies, work of the alliance focuses on data from astroparticle physics, climate research as well as the history of literature.


“Experiments, observations, and simulations produce increasing data volumes,” emphasizes Achim Streit, Director of the Steinbuch Centre for Computing of KIT. Top research, such as the discovery of the Higgs particle, extensive genetic and pharmacological studies in life sciences, or measurement series in materials research are no longer feasible without efficient data processing. Consequently, KIT is pooling its competences in the handling of large data volumes by effective acquisition, storage, distribution, analysis, visualization, and archiving in the project “Large Scale Data Management and Analysis” (LSDMA). “In this field, the newly established Alliance for Research Data Storage is one element to sustainably secure research results for the future,” Streit adds.


More information on the research conducted by Dr. Rainer Stotzka:

http://ipelsdf1.lsdf.kit.edu/cms/

More information on LSDMA:   

http://www.helmholtz-lsdma.de/


Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 08.01.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis does-not-exist.kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 004/2013

Datentresor für die Forschung

„Allianz für Forschungsdatenhaltung“ entwickelt Strategien, um wertvolle Daten langfristig zu erhalten / Daten der Teilchenphysik, Literaturgeschichte und Klimaforschung in der Testphase

Informationen aus anderen Epochen haben auf Stein und Papier Jahrhunderte überstanden. Moderne Festplatten, DVDs und Magnetbänder sind flüchtiger und schon nach wenigen Jahren nicht mehr verlässlich. Und gerade hier lagern die Daten, die moderne Forschungsprojekte unter Einsatz vieler Millionen Euro gesammelt haben. In der Anfang des Jahres gegründeten „Allianz zur Forschungsdatenhaltung“ entwickeln Informatiker des KIT mit Kollegen aus Köln und Göttingen Strategien, um mit diesem Dilemma umzugehen.  


„Heutzutage werden in Forschungsprojekten sehr große Mengen digitaler Informationen erzeugt, aus denen wichtige Erkenntnisse für Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft abgeleitet werden“, erklärt Rainer Stotzka, vom Institut für Prozessdatenverarbeitung und Elektronik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Damit die Daten nach Projektende auch kommenden Forschergenerationen zur Verfügung stehen, bedarf es Strategien und Werkzeuge, um Daten über Jahrzehnte sicher und auffindbar zu verwahren. Dazu starten das KIT, die Universität zu Köln und die Göttinger Gesellschaft für wissenschaftliche Datenverarbeitung eine Kooperation.


Elemente dieser Strategien sind gemeinsame Standards zur langfristigen Datensicherung, zur Erstellung beschreibender Metadaten und die Datenspeicherung an verteilten Standorten. Im Gegensatz zu wertvollen Büchern, die möglichst wenig im Umlauf sein sollen, um Abnutzung zu vermeiden, bietet es sich bei digitalen Daten an, diese möglichst regelmäßig zu kopieren und zu verteilen, um gegen den wahrscheinlichen Ausfall des Speichermediums gewappnet zu sein. „Hier bedarf es noch Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit, um die Werkzeuge fit für einen verlässlichen Betrieb über viele Jahrzehnte und viele Generationen zu machen“, so Stotzka. Um interdisziplinäre Strategien zu entwickeln, werden in der Allianz sowohl Daten aus der Astroteilchenphysik, als auch aus der Klimaforschung und der Literaturgeschichte betrachtet.


„Durch Experimente, Beobachtungen und Simulationen werden immer größere Datenmengen produziert“, bestätigt Achim Streit, Direktor am Steinbuch Centre for Computing des KIT. Spitzenforschung wie die Entdeckung des Higgs-Teilchens, umfangreiche genetische und pharmakologische Studien in den Lebenswissenschaften oder Messreihen in der Materialforschung sind ohne effiziente Datenverarbeitung gar nicht mehr denkbar. Deshalb bündelt das KIT unter dem Dach „Large Scale Data Management and Analysis“ (LSDMA) seine Kompetenzen im Umgang mit großen Datenmengen, etwa durch effektive Erfassung, Speicherung, Verteilung, Analyse, Visualisierung und Archivierung. „Die neu gegründete Allianz zur Forschungsdatenhaltung ist hier ein Baustein, die Forschungsergebnisse nachhaltig für die Zukunft zu sichern“, ergänzt Streit.


Mehr Informationen zur Forschung von Dr. Rainer Stotzka:

http://ipelsdf1.lsdf.kit.edu/cms/

Mehr Informationen zu LSDMA:     

http://www.helmholtz-lsdma.de/


Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 08.01.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu