Press Release 045/2012

E-Mobility: Campus Fleet and E-Traffic Space Stuttgart

KIT Coordinates Two Projects under the Successful Showcases Proposal “LivingLab BWe mobil“
Erfolgreicher Schaufenster Antrag des Landes:Das KIT ist mit zwei Projekten beteiligt.  (Foto:KIT, Robert Fuge)
Successful showcases proposal of the state: KIT coordinates two projects. (Photo: KIT, Robert Fuge)

The Baden-Wuerttemberg “LivingLab BWe mobil“ is one of four concepts to be funded under the Electric Mobility Showcase Program in Germany. The Federal Republic of Germany will provide funds in the amount of EUR 180 million for the complete program in four regions of Germany. Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) assumes a leading role in the LivingLab BWe mobil concept with projects relating to an electric campus fleet and to the “E-Traffic Space Stuttgart”. KIT is the project partner in another two proposals.

Today’s decision of the federal government is based on the recommendations of a jury of 13 scientists and representatives of expert associations. The decision will now be followed by a procedure, during which the funding volumes will be specified for the individual projects.

Under the “KIT Campus Fleet” project, it is planned to use more than 40 electric vehicles for transports from and to the KIT premises as well as for regional traffic: 30 electric cars, ten electric bikes, three vans, and one passenger van will complement the car pool existing at KIT. KIT’s service staff will be responsible for the operation and maintenance of the vehicles. “Setup of a campus fleet at KIT reflects the high relevance of our research and development activities in this field. KIT wants to show what it means to be electromobile,” emphasizes KIT Vice President Dr. Peter Fritz. The fleet also includes the electric racing car that is built and successfully run in car races by the KA-RaceIng students group. Under the “KIT Campus Fleet” project, trainees will be given the opportunity to pass advanced training in the field of electric mobility.

KIT also assumes a leading role in the project “E-Traffic Space Stuttgart”. This project is aimed at embedding electric mobility in modern mobility and traffic concepts. It is planned to extend existing traffic models. So far, concepts in this field have been lacking in Germany. The project will focus on the densely populated region of Stuttgart, where the effect of electric vehicles in traffic, i.e. traffic volume, traffic flows, and traffic behavior, can be studied very well. In addition, it is planned to record the movement profiles of electric vehicles under the showcase project. Finally, the results of the project will be incorporated in the traffic plan of the region of Stuttgart in agreement with the traffic and urban planning departments and may even be transferred to other regions in Germany.

KIT also participates in the border-crossing project “RheinMobil” that will demonstrate economic efficiency of electric vehicles by studies based on commuters between the regions of Baden and Alsace. The “Electric Mobility at School” project with KIT as a partner is aimed at including the topic of electric mobility in the education program of schools in Baden-Württemberg.

Coordinated by the State Agency for Electric Mobility and Fuel Cell Technology, e-mobil BW GmbH, and the Stuttgart Region Economic Development Corporation (WRS), the showcase region of Baden-Württemberg focuses on the region of Stuttgart and the city of Karlsruhe. About 120 partners have joined 41 individual projects. The overall project volume amounts to EUR 153 million. By the end of 2015, more than 3100 electric vehicles are planned to be in use. Apart from the Baden-Württemberg concept, the Federal Republic will fund the projects in Berlin/Brandenburg, Lower Saxony, and Bavaria/Saxony.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, le, 03.04.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseVes0∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneOoi2∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseUkr0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 045/2012

E-Mobilität: Campusflotte und e-Verkehrsraum Stuttgart

KIT an zwei Projekten im erfolgreichen Schaufenster-Antrag „LivingLab BWe mobil“ federführend beteiligt
Erfolgreicher Schaufenster Antrag des Landes:Das KIT ist mit zwei Projekten beteiligt.  (Foto:KIT, Robert Fuge)
Erfolgreicher Schaufenster Antrag des Landes:Das KIT ist mit zwei Projekten beteiligt. (Foto:KIT, Robert Fuge)

Das baden-württembergische „LivingLab BWe mobil“ ist bundesweit eines von vier geförderten Konzepten im Schaufenster Elektromobilität. Für das Gesamtprogramm in vier Regionen Deutschlands stellt der Bund Fördermittel in Höhe von 180 Millionen Euro bereit. Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist am LivingLab BWe mobil mit Projekten für eine Elektro-Campusflotte sowie zum "e-Verkehrsraum Stuttgart“ federführend beteiligt, in zwei weiteren Anträgen ist das KIT Projektpartner.

Die heutige Entscheidung der Bundesregierung beruht auf den Empfehlungen einer 13-köpfigen Jury aus Wissenschaftlern und Vertretern von Fachverbänden. Nun schließt sich ein Verfahren an, in dem die jeweiligen Fördervolumina für die Einzelprojekte festgelegt werden.

Im Projekt „Campusflotte KIT“, das nun beantragt wird, ist geplant, dass über 40 Elektrofahrzeuge zwischen den KIT-Standorten, aber auch im überörtlichen Verkehr eingesetzt werden sollen: 30 Elektro-PKW, zehn Elektroroller, drei Transporter und ein Personentransporter ergänzen den vorhandenen Fuhrpark des Fahrdienst am KIT, der auch Betrieb und Wartung der Fahrzeuge übernimmt. „Der Aufbau einer Campusflotte am KIT unterstreicht die große Bedeutung unserer Forschung und Entwicklung auf diesem Gebiet. Wir wollen am KIT auch vorleben, was es heißt ‚elektromobil‘ zu sein“,  betont KIT-Vizepräsident Dr. Peter Fritz. Bestandteil der Flotte soll auch der Elektrorennwagen sein, den die studentische Hochschulgruppe KA-RaceIng gebaut hat und erfolgreich bei Rennen fährt. Im Projekt „Campusflotte KIT“ erhalten Auszubildende die Möglichkeit zur Weiterbildung im Bereich Elektromobilität.

Federführend ist das KIT auch beim Projekt „E-Verkehrsraum Stuttgart“. Ziel des Vorhabens ist die erstmalige Einbettung der Elektromobilität in moderne Mobilitäts- und Verkehrskonzepte. Vorgesehen ist eine Erweiterung der bestehenden Verkehrsmodelle. Bisher existieren in Deutschland noch keine Ansätze zu diesem Thema. Im Fokus steht die dicht besiedelte Region Stuttgart, in der sich die Wirkung von Elektrofahrzeugen im Verkehrsraum, also Verkehrsaufkommen, -ströme und -verhalten, sehr gut untersuchen lässt. Zudem sollen die Bewegungsprofile der Elektro-Flotte des Schaufensters aufgezeichnet werden. Die Ergebnisse des Projekts sollen schließlich – in Abstimmung mit der vorhandenen Verkehrs- und Stadtplanung – in den Regionalverkehrsplan der Region Stuttgart einfließen und können auf weitere Regionen in Deutschland übertragen werden.

Darüber hinaus ist das KIT am grenzüberschreitenden Projekt „RheinMobil“ beteiligt, das in Untersuchungen mit Berufstätigen, die zwischen Baden und dem Elsass pendeln, die Wirtschaftlichkeit von Elektrofahrzeugen nachweisen will. Ziel des Projekts „Elektromobilität in der Schule“, bei dem das KIT Partner ist, ist die Verankerung des Themas Elektromobiliät in den Bildungsplan der allgemeinbildenden Schulen in Baden-Württemberg.

Koordiniert von der Landesagentur für Elektromobilität und Brennstoffzellentechnologie e-mobil BW GmbH mit der Wirtschaftsförderung Region Stuttgart (WRS) konzentriert sich die Schaufenster-Region Baden-Württemberg auf die Region Stuttgart und die Stadt Karlsruhe. Rund 120 Partner haben sich in 41 Einzelprojekten zusammengeschlossen. Das gesamte Projektvolumen beträgt 153 Millionen Euro. Bis Ende 2015 sollen insgesamt mehr als 3100 Elektrofahrzeuge im Einsatz sein. Neben dem baden-württembergischen Konzept fördert der Bund noch die Vorhaben aus Berlin/Brandenburg, Niedersachsen sowie Bayern/Sachsen.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg, le, 03.04.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneWml5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseCij9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.