Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 043/2012

Nature: Video Reveals Wave Character of Particles

Wave Properties of Individual Heavy Molecules Can Also Be Observed Experimentally/Video Shows Development of Interference Pattern in (Nearly) Real Time
Jedes einzelne Molekül fluorisziert und wird zum Teil des Interferenzmusters.  Die Bilder a)-e) zeigen den Zustand jeweils nach 0, 2, 20, 40 und 90 Minuten.  (Bild: T. Juffmann et al, DOI: 10.1038/NNANO.2012.34)
Every individual molecule fluoresces and becomes part of the interference pattern. Figures a) - e) show the states after 0, 2, 20, 40, and 90 minutes, respectively. Image: T. Juffmann et al., DOI: 10.1038/NNANO.2012.34

Quantum theory describes the world of atoms very precisely. Still, it defies our macroscopic conception of everyday’s world due to its many anti-intuitive predictions. The wave-particle dualism probably is the best known example and means that matter may spread and interfere like waves. Now, an international team of researchers has recorded the interference process of individual molecules. The recordings were published by the journal “nature nanotechnology” online.

“Seeing how the interference pattern develops with every light spot, molecule after molecule, and how a basic principle of quantum mechanics is visualized enhances our understanding of the atomic world,” explains Professor Marcel Mayor, who conducts research and teaches at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and the University of Basel.

For the experiment performed in cooperation with colleagues from the universities of Vienna and Tel Aviv, Mayor synthesized fluorescent phtalocyanin molecules having an atomic mass of up to 1298 AMU and consisting of up to 114 atoms. Then, the molecules were accelerated, sent as a slow beam through an optical grating, and deposited on the entrance vacuum window, where they were excited to fluoresce by a laser. For a period of 90 minutes, a fluorescence microscope observed the build-up of the interference pattern. Its setup has a sufficient sensitivity to exactly locate every individual molecule on the window with a precision of about 10 nanometers.

In the future, the setup might be used to study the so-called van-der-Waals interaction between molecules in the beam and those in the grating, which is reflected rather sensitively by the interference pattern. Researchers are also interested in finding out from which size and under which conditions particles behave quantum mechanically or classically, i.e. in the so-called decoherence. These findings may be the basis for novel applications, such as quantum computers. “But the many insights given by this experiment into the quantum world and its boundaries already are of high value,” Mayor agrees with many experts, among others Bum Suk Zhao and Wieland Schöllkopf from the Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin, who evaluate the experiment in the accompanying comment article in the same journal.

“Real-time single-molecule imaging of quantum interference”, T. Juffmann et al., nature nanotechnology, DOI 10.1038/ NNANO.2012.34

The paper in the web portal of the nature nanotechnology journal
http://www.nature.com/nnano/journal/vaop/ncurrent/full/nnano.2012.34.html

Accompanying comment article
http://www.nature.com/nnano/journal/vaop/ncurrent/full/nnano.2012.44.html

 

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 26.03.2012

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseYub6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 043/2012

Nature: Video zeigt Wellen-Charakter von Teilchen

Auch mit einzelnen, schweren Moleküle lassen sich Welleneigenschaften im Experiment beobachten / Video zeigt das Entstehen des Interferenzmusters (fast) in Echtzeit
Jedes einzelne Molekül fluorisziert und wird zum Teil des Interferenzmusters.  Die Bilder a)-e) zeigen den Zustand jeweils nach 0, 2, 20, 40 und 90 Minuten.  (Bild: T. Juffmann et al, DOI: 10.1038/NNANO.2012.34)
Jedes einzelne Molekül fluoresziert und wird zum Teil des Interferenzmusters. Die Bilder a)-e) zeigen den Zustand jeweils nach 0, 2, 20, 40 und 90 Minuten. (Bild: T. Juffmann et al, DOI: 10.1038/NNANO.2012.34)

Die Quantentheorie beschreibt die Welt der Atome sehr präzise. Dennoch entzieht sie sich unserer makroskopischen Alltagsweltanschauung aufgrund ihrer vielen antiintuitiven Vorhersagen. Der Welle-Teilchen-Dualismus ist wohl das bekannteste Beispiel und besagt, dass Materie sich wie Wellen ausbreitet und interferieren kann. Nun hat ein internationales Forscherteam den Interferenzprozess einzelner Moleküle gefilmt. Die Aufnahmen wurden von der Fachzeitschrift nature nanotechnology online veröffentlicht.

„Zu sehen, wie sich das Interferenzmuster mit jedem Lichtfleck, Molekül für Molekül, aufbaut und sich ein Grundprinzip der Quantenmechanik darstellt, vertieft unser Verständis der atomaren Welt“, erklärt Prof. Marcel Mayor, der am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie und an der Universität Basel forscht und lehrt.

Für das Experiment, das zusammen mit Kollegen der Universitäten Wien und Tel Aviv durchgeführt wurde, hat er fluoriszierende Moleküle namens Phtalocyanin synthetisiert, die eine Atommasse bis zu 1298 AMU besaßen und aus bis zu 114 Atomen bestanden. Die Moleküle wurden dann beschleunigt, als langsamer Strahl durch ein optisches Gitter geschickt und setzten sich auf einen Sichtschirm, wo sie durch einen Laser zum Leuchten angeregt wurden. Wie das Interferenzmuster sich aus den einzelnen Lichtpunkten zusammensetzt, hat ein Fluoreszenzmikroskop über 90 Minuten verfolgt. Der Aufbau ist so empfindlich, dass wirklich jedes einzelne Molekül auf dem Schirm auf etwa 10 Nanometer genau lokalisiert wird.

In Zukunft könnte der Versuchsaufbau genutzt werden, um etwa die sogenannte van-der-Waals-Wechselwirkung zwischen den Molekülen im Strahl und denen im Gitter zu untersuchen, die sich im Interferenzmuster recht empfindlich niederschlägt. Auch die Frage, ab welcher Größe und unter welchen Bedingungen sich Teilchen quantenmechanisch oder klassisch verhalten, die sogenannte Dekohärenz, interessiert die Forscher und könnte die Grundlage für neuartige Anwendungen wie etwa Quantencomputer legen. „Doch schon die vielen Einsichten, die uns dieses Experiment über die Quantenwelt und ihre Grenzen erlaubt, sind ein Wert an sich“, stimmt Mayor mit vielen Experten überein, unter anderem Bum Suk Zhao und Wieland Schöllkopf vom Berliner Fritz-Haber-Institut, die das Experiment im begleitenden Kommentarartikel in der gleichen Zeitschrift bewerten.

“Real-time single-molecule imaging of quantum interference”, T. Juffmann et al, nature nanotechnology, DOI 10.1038/ NNANO.2012.34

Der Beitrag im Webportal der Zeitschrift nature nanotechnology:
http://www.nature.com/nnano/journal/vaop/ncurrent/full/nnano.2012.34.html

Begleitender Kommentarartikel:
http://www.nature.com/nnano/journal/vaop/ncurrent/full/nnano.2012.44.html

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 26.03.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseCsg3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.