Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 042/2012

IT in Industry and Science

2012 KIT Annual Reception Focused on Information and Communication Technologies
Professor Manfred Popp (Mitte) erhielt die erste KIT-Ehrenbürgerwürde von den  Präsidenten Professor Horst Hippler (links) und Professor Eberhard Umbach (rechts)  (Foto: Markus Breig)
Professor Manfred Popp (center) was bestowed the first KIT honorary citizenship by Presidents Professor Horst Hippler (left) and Professor Eberhard Umbach (right). (Photo: Markus Breig)

IT infrastructures and the management of large data volumes, also called big data, for research and industry were in the focus of the annual reception of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) that took place yesterday evening for the third time at the University of Arts and Design (HfG). According to KIT Presidents Professor Eberhard Umbach and Professor Horst Hippler, future information technologies will not least play a central role in the energy turnaround.

IT and arts met in the opening of the event by the performance of “A.U.A.”, a group of resident artists of HfG’s Institute for Postdigital Narrativity. Via real-time analyses of the recordings of 3D cameras in the auditorium, the guests determined the path of a marble in a multi-level channel.

One year ago, KIT’s annual reception took place under the impression of the reactor accident at Fukushima. In his welcome address, KIT President Eberhard Umbach pointed out that it had been impossible at that time to predict the consequences of this disaster for future energy supply in Germany. Umbach emphasized that today’s energy systems have to be made fit for the future much faster: “The need for research and development is enormous. This applies to renewable energies, energy efficiency, energy storage, and networks as well as to the far-reaching societal and economic aspects of the energy turnaround.” Umbach said that KIT is positioned well in technical and socio-economic energy research and readily accepts this challenge.

This year’s annual reception focused on information and communication technologies, another main research area of KIT. While the Anthropomatics and Robotics Focus concentrates on the interaction of man and machine, the COMMputation Focus deals with the design and management of complex technical systems. It is aimed at ensuring the dependability, robustness, and efficiency of complex application systems. Other current activities are the KASTEL Competence Center for Applied Security Technologies funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the excellence cluster on “Dependable Software for Critical Infrastructures” applied for under Excellence Initiative II. “Applications of research in this field are also connected to energy research,” said Eberhard Umbach.

With GridKA, KIT runs the largest of the eleven tier1 centers worldwide, which process data for the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) particle accelerator at CERN. Management of large data volumes also is of increasing importance in other research areas. In his impulse presentation, Professor Hans-Joachim Bungartz from the Technical University of Munich highlighted various aspects of IT infrastructures for science. The computer scientist among others concentrates on high-performance computing (HPC) and scientific computing. “IT changes the way of scientific working,” emphasized Bungartz. “The change we experience in the sciences also changes the requirements on IT.” Bungartz pointed out that an increasing number of applications require highest computing capacities and that needs increase with technical possibilities. “We need IT strategies on all levels as well as viable flexible operation models for universities, research, teaching, administration, and management structures in both industry and administration.”

Management of large data volumes is a challenge faced equally by research and industry. In the podium discussion under the heading of “When Giants Compute”, the experts reported how efficient handling of data leads to a knowledge gain in their disciplines. The Director of the research center CERN, Professor Rolf-Dieter Heuer, emphasized the importance of the distribution of data flow from the LHC particle accelerator (corresponding to 1.7 million DVDs per year) and its organization and processing by large data centers, such as KIT. Christoph Gümbel from the Dr.-Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG considered detailed computer simulations a valuable means to visualize the complex system of a vehicle, to shorten development processes, and save development costs. Sophisticated information technologies are also used in biology and medicine: Professor Uwe Strähle from KIT studies genetic diseases that may also affect man in fish embryos using high-performance microscopes. This activity gives rise to about 200,000 images or 120 DVDs data per day, which can only be evaluated by consistently automated IT processes. “Data represent a valuable good for both research and industry,” Professor Wilfried Juling, Chief Science and Information Officer of KIT, summed up. “IT and informatics at KIT develop reliable methods and support users in the storage, supply, analysis, understanding, and visualization of their data.”



Talkrunde: Moderator Markus Brock, Professor Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Christoph Gümbel, Professor Uwe Strähle, Professor Wilfried Juling (von links; Foto: Markus Breig)
Podium discussion: Presenter Markus Brock, Professor Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Christoph Gümbel, Professor Uwe Strähle, Professor Wilfried Juling (from left to right; photo: Markus Breig)

 

Honors for Manfred Popp and Hilbert von Löhneysen


The program of this year’s annual reception also included the bestowal of two honors. For his extraordinary commitment, Umbach and Hippler conferred the first KIT honorary citizenship to Professor Manfred Popp. Popp was Chairman of the Executive Board of the former Karlsruhe Research Center from 1991 to 2006. Under his direction, the institution that initially concentrated on activities in the field of nuclear engineering and reprocessing opened up new fields of work in materials research, microsystems technology, atmosphere research or superconductivity research. With this realignment as a modern large-scale research center focusing on many topics, Manfred Popp laid the first stone for the later foundation of KIT, in the initiation of which he participated.

Professor Hilbert von Löhneysen accepted the Science Award of the Hector Foundation in the amount of EUR 150,000 and now belongs to the group of so-called “Hector Fellows”. With this award, the Hector Foundation honors outstanding scientists in research and education. Among others, von Löhneysen studies metallic nanostructures with special interactions between electrons. On this basis, novel nanoelectronic elements can be designed for higher-performance quantum computer systems.



Neuer Hector Fellow: Professor Hilbert von Löhneysen (Mitte; Foto: Markus Breig)
New Hector Fellow: Professor Hilbert von Löhneysen (center; photo: Markus Breig)

 In his conclusion, President Horst Hippler emphasized the importance of teaching at KIT. “There is no doubt that education of young scientists is the basis of our future success.” According to Hippler, this equally applies to scientific research and to industry. “We need competent young people, who have the know-how required to meet the tasks and requirements of a globalized economy. This is the only way to ensure that the Federal Republic of Germany will remain one of the large industry nations in the future.” Hippler pointed out that KIT sets new yardsticks in this area by intensive cooperation with industry.


Video: What Is Cloud Computing?

 

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, sk, , 23.03.2012
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseIxo9∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneSjn6∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseXpr6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 042/2012

Aktuelle Fragen der IT – in Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft

Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien im Mittelpunkt des KIT-Jahresempfangs 2012
Professor Manfred Popp (Mitte) erhielt die erste KIT-Ehrenbürgerwürde von den  Präsidenten Professor Horst Hippler (links) und Professor Eberhard Umbach (rechts)  (Foto: Markus Breig)
Professor Manfred Popp (Mitte) erhielt die erste KIT-Ehrenbürgerwürde von den Präsidenten Professor Horst Hippler (links) und Professor Eberhard Umbach (rechts) (Foto: Markus Breig)

IT-Infrastrukturen und das Management großer Datenmengen, auch Big Data, für Forschung und Industrie standen im Fokus des Jahresempfangs des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), der gestern Abend zum dritten Mal in den Räumen der Hochschule für Gestaltung (HfG) stattfand. Künftige Informationstechnologien, so die KIT-Präsidenten Professor Eberhard Umbach und Professor Horst Hippler, spielten nicht zuletzt bei der Energiewende eine zentrale Rolle.

IT und Kunst trafen sich bei der Eröffnung der Veranstaltung in der Performance des Künstlerkollektivs „A. U. A.“, Resident Artists im Institut für Postdigitale Narrativität der HfG: Über Echtzeitanalysen aus 3-D-Kameras im Zuschauerraum bestimmten die Gäste den Lauf einer Kugel über eine mehrstöckige Kugelbahn mit.

Vor einem Jahr stand der KIT-Jahresempfang unter dem Eindruck des Reaktorunfalls in Fukushima. Welche Folgen die Katastrophe letztendlich auch für die zukünftige Energieversorgung in Deutschland haben würde, sei damals noch nicht abzusehen gewesen, sagte KIT-Präsident Eberhard Umbach bei der Begrüßung. Es gelte jetzt, das Energiesystem noch schneller fit für die Zukunft zu machen: „Der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbedarf ist dabei immens, das gilt sowohl für die Themen Erneuerbare Energien, Energieeffizienz, -speicher und -netze als auch für die weitreichenden gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Aspekte der Energiewende.“ Das KIT sei in der technologischen wie in der sozio-ökonomischen Energieforschung bestens aufgestellt und nehme diese Herausforderung an.

Mit der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie stand ein weiteres aktuelles Forschungsthema des KIT im Fokus des Jahresempfangs. So beschäftigt sich der Schwerpunkt Anthropomatik & Robotik mit dem Zusammenwirken von Menschen und Maschinen. Um die Gestaltung und Beherrschung komplexer technischer Systeme geht es im Schwerpunkt COMMputation. Ziel ist, die Vertrauenswürdigkeit, Robustheit und Effizienz komplexer Anwendungssysteme gewährleisten zu können. Weitere aktuelle Aktivitäten sind das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderte Kompetenzzentrum für Angewandte Sicherheitstechnologie KASTEL sowie das in der Exzellenzinitiative II beantragte Exzellenzcluster „Dependable Software for Critical Infrastructures“. „Anwendungsfelder dieser Forschung sind wiederum Anknüpfungspunkte für die Energieforschung“, so Eberhard Umbach.

Mit GridKA betreibt das KIT das größte der weltweit elf Tier1-Zentren, welche die Datenverarbeitung für den Teilchenbeschleuniger Large Hadron Collider (LHC) am CERN übernehmen. Das Bewältigen großer Datenmengen rückt auch in anderen Forschungsbereichen immer stärker in den Fokus. Unterschiedliche Aspekte von IT-Infrastrukturen für die Wissenschaft beleuchtete Professor Hans-Joachim Bungartz von der TU München in seinem Impulsvortrag. Der Informatiker befasst sich unter anderem mit dem Höchstleistungsrechnen (High Performance Computing, HPC) und dem Wissenschaftlichen Rechnen. „IT verändert die Art des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens“, sagte Bungartz. „Den Wandel, den wir in den Wissenschaften erleben, verändert auch das Anforderungsprofil an IT.“ Denn immer mehr Anwendungen erforderten Höchstrechenleistungen, mit den technischen Möglichkeiten wüchsen die Bedürfnisse.  „Wir brauchen IT-Strategien auf allen Ebenen, also flexible Betriebsmodelle für Hochschulen, in Forschung, Lehre und Verwaltung sowie Leitungsstrukturen, die zukunftsfähig sind“, so Bungartz.

Der Umgang mit großen Datenmengen ist eine Herausforderung, der sich Forschung und Industrie gleichermaßen gegenübersehen. In der Talkrunde „Wenn Riesen rechnen“ stellten Experten vor, wie der effektive Umgang mit Daten zu mehr Erkenntnisgewinn in ihren Fachgebieten führt. Der Direktor des Forschungszentrums CERN, Profesor Rolf-Dieter Heuer, betonte die Rolle der Verteilung des Datenstroms aus dem Teilchenbeschleuniger LHC und seine Organisation und Bearbeitung durch große Datenzentren wie dem KIT. Für Christoph Gümbel von der Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG sind detaillierte Computersimulationen ein wertvolles Hilfsmittel, um das komplexe System Auto zu überschauen, Entwicklungsprozesse zu verkürzen und Entwicklungskosten einzusparen. Auch Biologie und Medizin nutzen ausgefeilte Informationstechnologie: Professor Uwe Strähle vom KIT erforscht mittels Hochleistungsmikroskopen an Fischembryonen genetische Krankheiten, die auch Menschen betreffen. Dabei fallen rund 200.000 Bilder bzw. 120 DVDs Daten pro Tag an, die nur noch mit durchgehend automatisierten IT-Prozessen auswertbar sind. „Daten stellen für Forschung und Industrie gleichermaßen ein wertvolles Gut dar“, resümiert Professor Wilfried Juling, Chief Science and Information Officer des KIT. „IT und Informatik am KIT entwickeln zuverlässige Methoden und unterstützen Nutzer bei Aufbewahrung, Bereitstellung, Analyse, Erkenntnisgewinnung und Visualisierung ihrer Daten.“

Talkrunde: Moderator Markus Brock, Professor Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Christoph Gümbel, Professor Uwe Strähle, Professor Wilfried Juling (von links; Foto: Markus Breig)
Talkrunde: Moderator Markus Brock, Professor Rolf-Dieter Heuer,
Christoph Gümbel, Professor Uwe Strähle, Professor Wilfried Juling
(von links; Foto: Markus Breig)

 

Ehrungen für Manfred Popp und Hilbert von Löhneysen
Auch zwei Auszeichnungen gehörten zum Programm des Jahresempfangs. Für sein außergewöhnliches Engagement zeichneten Umbach und Hippler Professor Manfred Popp mit der ersten KIT-Ehrenbürgerwürde aus. Popp stand dem früheren Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe von 1991 bis 2006 vor. Unter seiner Leitung erschloss die zunächst auf die Erforschung von Kernenergie und Wiederaufbereitung fokussierte Einrichtung neue wissenschaftliche Arbeitsfelder, beispielsweise in der Materialforschung, der Mikrosystemtechnik, der Atmosphärenforschung oder im Bereich der Supraleiter. Mit dieser Neuausrichtung hin zu einem multithematischen, modernen Großforschungszentrum legte Manfred Popp den ersten Grundstein für die spätere Gründung des KIT, die er mitinitiierte.

Professor Hilbert von Löhneysen nahm den mit 150.000 Euro dotierten Wissenschaftspreis der Hector Stiftung entgegen und gehört nun zum Kreis der „Hector Fellows“. Die Stiftung würdigt mit dieser Auszeichnung in Forschung und Lehre herausragende Wissenschaftler. Von Löhneysen erforscht unter anderem metallische Nanostrukturen mit besonderen Wechselwirkungen zwischen Elektronen. Auf dieser Grundlage können neuartige, nanoelektronische Bauelemente konzipiert werden, welche die Konstruktion von leistungsfähigeren, auf Quanteneffekten beruhenden Rechnersystemen ermöglichen.

Neuer Hector Fellow: Professor Hilbert von Löhneysen (Mitte; Foto: Markus Breig)
Neuer Hector Fellow: Professor Hilbert von Löhneysen (Mitte; Foto: Markus Breig)

 

Die Bedeutung der Lehre am KIT  stellte Präsident Horst Hippler zum Abschluss der Veranstaltung heraus. „Es steht außer Frage, dass die Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses die Basis ist, auf der unser zukünftiger Erfolg beruht.“ Das gelte für die wissenschaftliche Forschung genauso wie für die Wirtschaft. „Wir brauchen kompetente junge Menschen, die das notwendige Know-how haben, die Aufgaben und Anforderungen einer globalisierten Wirtschaft zu erfüllen. Nur so kann gewährleistet werden, dass die Bundesrepublik auch in Zukunft im Kreis der großen Wirtschaftsnationen vertreten ist.“ Auch in diesem Bereich setze das KIT – durch die intensive Kooperation mit der Wirtschaft – neue Maßstäbe.

Video: Was ist eigentlich Cloud-Computing?

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, sk, , 23.03.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneHha0∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: pressePom2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.