Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseFiu8∂kit edu

Press Release 041/2012

Marking Light Wins in the Land of Ideas

Open Day of the Institute of Measurement and Control of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) on the Occasion of the Bestowal of the Prize on March 31
Bringt Licht ins Dunkle: Das Fahrerassistenzsystem markiert Personen und Wild und  hilft so, Unfälle zu vermeiden. (Foto: Marko H. Hörter, KIT)
Shedding light into darkness: Driver assistance system light marks persons and deer and, thus, helps prevent accidents. (Photo: Marko H. Hörter, KIT)

The “Marking Light” project is winner of the competition “365 Places in the Land of Ideas”: The driver assistance system developed by the Institute of Measurement and Control (MRT) of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) light-marks persons and animals at the roadside, thus, making them visible much earlier. On the occasion of the prize ceremony on March 31, the MRT will present itself to the interested public on an Open Day from 14 to 17 hrs. Representatives of the media are cordially invited. Kindly register using the form enclosed.

Deer crossing the roads or bikers and pedestrians at the roadside – driving a car is associated with many dangers in particular at night. “To prevent accidents, a quick response time of the driver and early detection of persons or deer at the roadside are of decisive importance in particular on dark roads,” says Marko H. Hörter from the Institute of Measurement and Control (MRT). For this purpose, the scientist developed a technology going one step further than conventional infrared cameras: A complex mechatronic system analyzes the images in a fully automatic manner and, if necessary, light-marks potential dangers by a very precise spot from extra-bright LED lamps. The driver’s attention is caught without the driver having to withdraw his eyes from the road.

The infrared camera integrated in the engine hood of the test car supplies images that are then analyzed individually by the computer within less than 40 ms. The system is capable of distinguishing persons and animals from other objects. In addition, the computer can determine their real 3D position, speed, and direction from 2D images and calculate the risk of collision in this way. A signal is transmitted to the light system in case of imminent danger only. There, a movable device positions the spot precisely and in a glare-free manner, such that the potential danger is marked by a blinking, blue-white spot.

The system successfully passed a test of two weeks’ duration with 33 test persons on a country road in Bad Bergzabern: Light-marking was found to increase the perceptibility of danger by 35 to 40 meters on the average and to give drivers 2 to 3 seconds more to react.

On the occasion of the bestowal of the prize “Selected Place 2012” on Saturday, March 31, the KIT scientists will present the “Marking Light” project to the interested public. The prize ceremony will take place at 14.00 hrs at the Institute of Measurement and Control (MRT), building 40.32 (Engler-Bunte-Ring 21), on KIT Campus South. Professor Jürgen Fleischer, Dean of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, will welcome the guests. Welcome addresses will be given by Professor Christoph Stiller, Head of MRT, and Christine Montigel from the “Germany – Land of Ideas” initiative. Marko H. Hörter will then present the “Marking Light” project briefly. The laudation will be made by Andreas Rohde from Deutsche Bank, the cooperation partner of the “Germany – Land of Ideas” initiative. Subsequently, visitors will be given the opportunity to join vehicle demonstrations and listen to explanations of the vehicle pool in the machine hall. 

The Germany-wide competition “365 Places in the Land of Ideas” visualizes the potentials of Germany as a location of innovation. Together with Deutsche Bank, the “Germany – Land of Ideas” initiative annually selects 365 projects that sustainably contribute to the viability of Germany.

Invitation to the prize ceremony with a description of how to reach the institute:
http://www.mrt.kit.edu/markierendeslicht/downloads/Flyer_Tag_der_offenen_Tuer_KIT_MRT_2012-03-31_AS003_final_release.pdf

Film on the “Marking Light” project:
http://www.mrt.kit.edu/markierendeslicht/video_gallery.html


The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 40 KIT institutes with about 800 employees are working on methodological and technical fundamentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to develop concepts, technologies, methods, and processes for future mobility considering the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, infrastructure, and society.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

sk, 22.03.2012

Press contact:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtJwu8∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseDzd4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 041/2012

Markierendes Licht ist Preisträger im Land der Ideen

Zur Verleihung der Auszeichnung am 31. März lädt das Institut für Mess- und Regelungstechnik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) zu einem Tag der offenen Tür ein
Bringt Licht ins Dunkle: Das Fahrerassistenzsystem markiert Personen und Wild und  hilft so, Unfälle zu vermeiden. (Foto: Marko H. Hörter, KIT)
Bringt Licht ins Dunkle: Das Fahrerassistenzsystem markiert Personen und Wild und hilft so, Unfälle zu vermeiden. (Foto: Marko H. Hörter, KIT)

Das Projekt „Markierendes Licht“ ist Preisträger im Wettbewerb „365 Orte im Land der Ideen“: Das am Institut für Mess- und Regelungstechnik (MRT) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) entwickelte Fahrerassistenzsystem markiert Personen und Tiere am Straßenrand mit Licht und macht sie so deutlich früher erkennbar. Bei der Preisverleihung am 31. März stellt sich das MRT der interessierten Öffentlichkeit bei einem Tag der offenen Tür von 14 bis 17 Uhr vor.

Wildwechsel oder Radfahrer und Fußgänger am Straßenrand – vor allem in der Nacht birgt Autofahren viele Gefahren. „Um Unfälle zu vermeiden, sind vor allem im nächtlichen Straßenverkehr eine schnelle Reaktionszeit des Autofahrers und damit das frühzeitige Erkennen von Personen oder Wild am Straßenrand entscheidend“, sagt Marko H. Hörter vom Institut für Mess- und Regelungstechnik (MRT). Der Wissenschaftler entwickelte zu diesem Zweck eine Technologie, die einen Schritt weiter als herkömmliche Infrarot-Kameras geht: Ein komplexes mechatronisches System übernimmt vollautomatisch die Bildanalyse und leuchtet bei Bedarf potenzielle Gefahren mit einem sehr präzisen Lichtspot aus besonders hellen LED-Lampen kurz an. So wird der Fahrer aufmerksam, ohne die Augen von der Fahrbahn nehmen zu müssen.

Die in die Motorhaube des Versuchsautos eingebaute Wärmebildkamera liefert Bilder, die der Computer anschließend in weniger als 40 Millisekunden einzeln untersucht. Das System ist so in der Lage, Personen und Tiere von anderen Objekten zu unterscheiden. Zudem kann der Computer aus 2-D-Bildern ihre reale 3-D-Position, Geschwindigkeit und Richtung ermitteln und auf diese Weise die Kollisionsgefahr errechnen. Nur wenn diese tatsächlich besteht, gibt er ein Signal an das Lichtsystem. Dort ermöglicht eine bewegliche Apparatur eine präzise und blendfreie Ausrichtung des Spots, der mit blinkendem, blau-weißem Licht gezielt die potenzielle Gefahr markiert.

Einen zweiwöchigen Praxistest auf einer Landstraße in Bad Bergzabern mit 33 Probanden hat das System bereits erfolgreich bestanden: Mit markierendem Licht erkannten die Fahrer die Gefahren im Schnitt 35 bis 40 Meter früher, damit hatten sie zwei bis drei Sekunden mehr Zeit zu reagieren.

Anlässlich der Auszeichnung als „Ausgewählter Ort 2012“ am Samstag, 31. März, präsentieren die KIT-Wissenschaftler das Projekt „Markierendes Licht“ der interessierten Öffentlichkeit. Die Preisverleihung findet um 14.00 Uhr am Institut für Mess- und Regelungstechnik (MRT), Gebäude 40.32 (Engler-Bunte-Ring 21) auf dem KIT-Campus Süd statt. Professor Jürgen Fleischer, Dekan der Fakultät Maschinenbau, wird begrüßen. Grußworte sprechen außerdem Professor Christoph Stiller, Leiter des MRT sowie Christine Montigel von der Initiative „Deutschland – Land der Ideen“. Marko H. Hörter wird das Projekt „Markierendes Licht“ in einem kurzen Beitrag vorstellen. Die Laudatio wird Andreas Rohde von der Deutschen Bank, dem Kooperationspartner der Initiative „Deutschland – Land der Ideen“, halten. Anschließend können die Besucher Fahrzeugdemonstrationen mit Erläuterungen im Fahrzeugpark der Maschinenhalle besichtigen.

Der bundesweite Wettbewerb „365 Orte im Land der Ideen“ macht das Potenzial des Innovationsstandortes Deutschland sichtbar. Die Initiative „Deutschland – Land der Ideen“ zeichnet gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Bank jedes Jahr 365 Projekte aus, die einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur Zukunftsfähigkeit Deutschlands leisten.

Einladungsflyer zur Preisverleihung mit Anfahrtsbeschreibung:
http://www.mrt.kit.edu/markierendeslicht/downloads/Flyer_Tag_der_offenen_Tuer_KIT_MRT_2012-03-31_AS003_final_release.pdf

Film zum Projekt „Markierendes Licht“:
http://www.mrt.kit.edu/markierendeslicht/video_gallery.html


Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, Konzepte, Technologien, Methoden und Prozesse für die Mobilität der Zukunft zu erarbeiten. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr, Infrastruktur und Gesellschaft.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

sk, 22.03.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtLpw3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseNaq5∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.