Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 039/2012

For an Easier Start: Online Preparation for Studies

Students-to-be All Over Germany Can Take Part in Courses of the Distance Studies Center – New: “Energy” and “Basic Knowledge in Business Administration”
Flexibel: Die Kurse finden als Online-Seminare über eine Internetplattform statt.  (Foto: Harry Marx)
Flexible: The courses take place as online seminars on an internet platform. (Photo: Harry Marx)

Which basic knowledge is required for taking up the desired studies? The online preparation courses for studies offered by the Distance Studies Center of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) provide help in the choice of programs and facilitate the start. They are addressed to students-to-be, who have not yet enrolled at a university and want to refresh their secondary school knowledge or close knowledge gaps. The next courses, including the new course on “Energy”, will start in May. Registration is possible now.

Motivation, own initiative, and preliminary knowledge may increase the chances of getting a place at a university and help master the first semesters successfully. The preparation offers made by the Distance Studies Center (FSZ) cover courses conveying important basic knowledge in the subjects of mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, and engineering. The preparation course on “Energy” is new and provides orientation with respect to the many study programs and areas relating to energy. For many years, the FSZ has been offering the introductory seminar “Basic knowledge in political economics”. For the first time, a preparation course on “Basic knowledge in business administration” is offered now to give insight into the basic principles and tasks of successful enterprise management. Strengthening of various key qualifications also plays an important role in the program of the FSZ. These qualifications include self-management, learning organization during studies or work with the program LyX/LaTeX. 

As a rule, the courses are organized as online seminars on an internet platform. Participants can concentrate on the subjects from their desk at home and control their learning phases autonomously. At the same time, they are given individual scientific assistance and instruction. For 15 years now, the FSZ has been successful with its didactic concept for the preparation of studies. It is focused on the needs and framework conditions of students. Students-to-be all over Germany can prepare specifically irrespective of the location and time. Moreover, the preparation program can be adapted easily to professional and private obligations of the participants. Consequently, the courses are particularly suited for persons in a transition or waiting phase, such as vocational training, voluntary or similar services. The FSZ also supports voluntary social commitment. Against submission of the service contract, persons doing voluntary social services are granted a discount of up to EUR 50 per preparation course. Depending on the course, regular fees in the amount of EUR 150 or EUR 200 are charged.

The achievements reached by participants in the field of key qualifications will be accepted later on when studies are started at KIT. The next preparation courses will be offered in May/June and August/September 2012. Registration is possible anytime via the homepage of FSZ.

More information on courses and registration:
http://www.fsz.kit.edu/Studienvorbereitung.php http://www.facebook.com/Studienvorbereitung


The Distance Studies Center (FSZ) is a scientific institution of the House of Competence (HoC), the central office for conveying key competences at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

pe, 20.03.2012
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseOfy4∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Sigrid Heneka-Peters HoC | Fernstudienzentrum Karl-Friedrich-Straße 17 76133 Karlsruhe Tel.: +49 721 608-48200 Fax: +49 721 608-48210 E-Mail:sigrid heneka-petersJhi5∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseBjh1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 039/2012

Für einen leichteren Start: Online-Studienvorbereitung

Studieninteressierte können bundesweit an Kursen des Fernstudienzentrums teilnehmen – neu im Programm: „Energie“ und „Basiswissen Betriebswirtschaftslehre“
Flexibel: Die Kurse finden als Online-Seminare über eine Internetplattform statt.  (Foto: Harry Marx)
Flexibel: Die Kurse finden als Online-Seminare über eine Internetplattform statt. (Foto: Harry Marx)

Welche Vor- oder Grundkenntnisse brauche ich für mein Wunsch-Studium? Die Online-Studienvorbereitungskurse des Fernstudienzentrums am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) bieten Orientierung bei der Studienwahl und erleichtern den Einstieg. Sie richten sich an Studieninteressierte, die noch nicht an einer Hochschule eingeschrieben sind und Abiturwissen auffrischen oder Wissenslücken schließen möchten. Die nächsten Kurse – darunter das neue Angebot „Energie“ – beginnen im Mai, Anmeldungen sind ab sofort möglich.

Motivation, Eigeninitiative und fachliche Vorkenntnisse können die Chancen auf einen Studienplatz erhöhen – und helfen dabei, die ersten Semester erfolgreich zu meistern. Das Angebot der Studienvorbereitung am Fernstudienzentrum (FSZ) umfasst insbesondere Kurse, die wichtiges Basiswissen für die MINT-Fächer – Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik – vermitteln. Neu im Programm ist der Studienvorbereitungskurs „Energie“, der Orientierung hinsichtlich der vielfältigen Studienmöglichkeiten und Fachgebiete zum Thema Energie gibt. Im Bereich Wirtschaft bietet das FSZ seit Jahren das Einführungsseminar „Basiswissen Volkswirtschaft“ an. Erstmals findet nun auch der Studienvorbereitungskurs „Basiswissen Betriebswirtschaftslehre“ statt, der Einblick in die Grundprinzipien und Aufgaben erfolgreicher Unternehmensführung bietet. Eine große Rolle im Programm des FSZ spielt zudem die Stärkung verschiedener Schlüsselqualifkationen, dazu zählen beispielsweise Selbstmanagement und Lernorganisation im Studium oder das Arbeiten mit dem Programm LyX/LaTeX.  

In der Regel finden die Kurse als Online-Seminare über eine Internetplattform statt. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer können sich bequem von ihrem eigenen Schreibtisch aus den Inhalten der Fach- und Kompetenzkurse widmen und ihre Lernphasen selbst steuern. Gleichzeitig werden sie individuell wissenschaftlich betreut und angeleitet. Mit seinem didaktischen Konzept der Studienvorbereitungskurse ist das FSZ bereits seit 15 Jahren erfolgreich: Im Vordergrund stehen dabei die Bedürfnisse und Rahmenbedingungen der Lernenden. Die Online-Seminare ermöglichen allen Studieninteressierten bundesweit eine gezielte Vorbereitung unabhängig von Ort und Zeit und sind problemlos an berufliche und private Verpflichtungen der Teilnehmenden anpassbar. Damit sind diese Kurse unter anderem für Personen geeignet, die sich in einer Übergangs- oder Wartephase wie Berufsausbildung, Freiwilligendienst oder Ähnlichem befinden. Das FSZ unterstützt in diesem Zusammenhang freiwilliges soziales Engagement: Gegen Nachweis einer aktuellen Dienstverpflichtung erhalten freiwillig Sozialdienstleistende einen Nachlass von bis zu 50 Euro pro Kurs auf die Teilnahmegebühr der Studienvorbereitungskurse. Die regulären Gebühren betragen je nach Kurs 150 oder 200  Euro.

Für Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer, die ein Studium am KIT aufnehmen werden,  besteht die Möglichkeit, ihre Leistungen aus dem Bereich Schlüsselqualifikationen auf das spätere Studium anrechnen zu lassen.

Die nächsten Studienvorbereitungskurse finden im Mai/Juni und August/September 2012 statt. Eine Anmeldung zu den Kursen ist jederzeit über die Homepage des FSZ möglich.


Weitere Informationen zu Kursen und Anmeldemöglichkeiten unter:
http://www.fsz.kit.edu/Studienvorbereitung.php

http://www.facebook.com/Studienvorbereitung


Das Fernstudienzentrum (FSZ) ist eine wissenschaftliche Einrichtung des House of Competence (HoC), der zentralen Stelle zur Vermittlung von Schlüsselkompetenzen am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT).

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

pe, 20.03.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Sigrid Heneka-Peters HoC | Fernstudienzentrum Karl-Friedrich-Straße 17 76133 Karlsruhe Tel.: +49 721 608-48200 Fax: +49 721 608-48210 E-Mail: sigrid heneka-petersTqp7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseAvc4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.