Press Release 031/2012

Klaus Tschira Foundation Founds National Institute for Science Communication at KIT

NaWik Is to Make Scientists and Students in Germany Fit for the Dialog with the Public

Citizens dialogs, science blogs, children universities, and many more efforts are undertaken by scientists to start a dialog with the public. As a rule, however, the committed researchers are self-taught in this respect. Students and young scientists hardly find any training offers in the field of science communication. In university education, lessons conveying communication competence apart from the subject proper are still lacking. For this reason, the Klaus Tschira Foundation will found the National Institute for Science Communication (NaWik) at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The institute is planned to start its education program in October 2012. Funding granted by the Foundation amounts to up to EUR 10 million for a duration of five years.

Founder Klaus Tschira is convinced: “Excellent research needs comprehensibility!” Scientists must be able to explain the subject of their current work, for what public funds are used, and which chances and risks are associated with their activities. The National Institute for Science Communication is to educate and train scientists and students in target group-oriented science communication. NaWik will concentrate first on the group of PhD and master students. The Institute will develop and test the corresponding training modules and integrate them in selected study courses. These offers will be applicable to all German universities and non-university research institutes and supplied all over Germany.

KIT President Horst Hippler welcomes the commitment of the Klaus Tschira Foundation and sees a big chance for both Karlsruhe and entire Germany: “It is our objective to establish science communication as a new field of research and teaching at KIT. The instruction units developed by NaWik can be applied in all study courses.” As a second program in the field of science communication, KIT will start the new bachelor and subsequent master program “Science – Media – Communication” at the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences in the next winter semester.

To ensure practical relevance of NaWik, NaWik will cooperate with the Spektrum der Wissenschaft publishing company (Heidelberg). Steven Inchcoombe, Director of the Nature Publishing Group, to which Spektrum belongs, explains: “Nature and also Scientific American have been standing for a direct dialog between research and the public for more than 100 years now. Via Spektrum der Wissenschaft, we contribute this expertise to the National Institute for Science Communication.”

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. KIT focuses on a knowledge triangle that links the tasks of research, teaching, and innovation.

The Klaus Tschira Foundation supports natural sciences, mathematics and informatics, and their appreciation in society. With its training offer “Sag’s klar” (Say It Clear), it has been supporting communication competence of scientists since 2001. Since 1997, young scientists, who explain their excellent research in an understandable way, have been awarded the Klaus Tschira Prize for Understandable Science. Further information is available at www.klaus-tschira-stiftung.de.

The Spektrum der Wissenschaft publishing company publishes “Spektrum der Wissenschaft” as well as the magazines “Gehirn&Geist“ (Brain and Spirit), “Sterne und Weltraum“ (Stars and Space), and “epoc”. In all four journals, researchers report about their work in a generally understandable manner. More than 70 scientists of various disciplines blog on the SciLogs.de blog platform operated by “Spektrum”. The portal Spektrum.de is a leading platform for up-to-date science reporting. www.spektrum.com 

 

lg, 01.03.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseEyx8∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Renate Ries (KTS) Klaus Tschira Stiftung gGmbH, Presse und Kommunikation Tel.: +49 6221-533 102 Mobil: +49 170-575 9894 Fax: +49 6221- 533 198 E-Mail:renate riesAds6∂klaus-tschira-stiftung de Web: www.klaus-tschira-stiftung.de


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 031/2012

Klaus Tschira Stiftung gründet Nationales Institut für Wissenschaftskommunikation am KIT

Das NaWik soll bundesweit Wissenschaftler und Studierende fit machen für den Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit

Bürgerdialog, Science-Blogs, Kinder-Uni und vieles mehr: Viele Wissenschaftler suchen den Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit. Doch die engagierten Forscher sind diesbezüglich in der Regel Autodidakten. Studierende und Nachwuchswissenschaftler finden bislang kaum Fortbildungsmöglichkeiten im Bereich der Wissenschaftskommunikation. In der universitären Ausbildung sind Unterrichtseinheiten Mangelware, in denen neben dem eigentlichen Fach auch Kommunikationskompetenz vermittelt wird. Deshalb gründet die Klaus Tschira Stiftung das Nationale Institut für Wissenschaftskommunikation (NaWik) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Das Institut soll im Oktober 2012 den Lehrbetrieb aufnehmen. Die Förderung durch die Stiftung umfasst bis zu zehn Millionen Euro und ist auf fünf Jahre vorgesehen.

Stifter Klaus Tschira ist überzeugt: „Exzellente Forschung braucht Verständlichkeit!“ Wissenschaftler müssten erklären können, woran sie arbeiten, wofür Gelder der öffentlichen Hand verwendet werden, welche Chancen und Risiken in ihren Arbeiten stecken. Das Nationale Institut für Wissenschaftskommunikation soll Wissenschaftler und Studierende in zielgruppenorientierter Wissenschaftskommunikation aus- und weiterbilden. Dabei konzentriert sich das NaWik zunächst auf die Gruppe der Doktoranden und Master-Studierenden. Das Institut wird entsprechende Module entwickeln, erproben und in den Lehrbetrieb ausgewählter Studiengänge integrieren. Diese Angebote sollen für alle deutschen Universitäten und außeruniversitären Forschungsinstitute einsetzbar sein und bundesweit angeboten werden.

KIT-Präsident Horst Hippler begrüßt das Engagement der Klaus Tschira Stiftung und sieht darin eine große Chance, sowohl für Karlsruhe als auch für ganz Deutschland: „Unser Ziel ist es, Wissenschaftskommunikation als neues Forschungs- und Lehrgebiet am KIT zu etablieren. Die Unterrichtseinheiten, die das NaWik hier entwickelt, können in allen Studiengängen eingesetzt werden.“  Als zweites Standbein im Bereich Wissenschaftskommunikation startet das KIT zum Wintersemester an der Fakultät für Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften den neuen Bachelor- sowie in Folge auch Master-Studiengang „Wissenschaft – Medien – Kommunikation“.

Um den notwendigen Praxisbezug des NaWik herzustellen, kooperiert das NaWik mit der Spektrum der Wissenschaft Verlagsgesellschaft (Heidelberg). Steven Inchcoombe, Geschäftsführer der Nature Publishing Group, zu der Spektrum gehört, erklärt: „Nature und auch Scientific American stehen seit mehr als 100 Jahren für den direkten Dialog zwischen Forschung und Öffentlichkeit. Diese Expertise bringen wir über Spektrum der Wissenschaft in das Nationale Institut für Wissenschaftskommunikation ein.“


Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

Die Klaus Tschira Stiftung fördert Naturwissenschaften, Mathematik und Informatik sowie deren Wertschätzung in der Gesellschaft. Mit ihrem Fortbildungsangebot „Sag´s klar“ fördert sie seit 2001 die Kommunikationskompetenz von Wissenschaftlern. Mit dem Klaus Tschira Preis für verständliche Wissenschaft zeichnet sie seit 1997 Nachwuchswissenschaftler aus, die ihre exzellente Forschung verständlich erklären. Weitere Informationen unter www.klaus-tschira-stiftung.de

Die Spektrum der Wissenschaft Verlagsgesellschaft publiziert neben "Spektrum der Wissenschaft" auch die Magazine "Gehirn&Geist", "Sterne und Weltraum" sowie "epoc". In allen vier Zeitschriften berichten Forscherinnen und Forscher allgemein verständlich über die eigene Arbeit. Auf der von "Spektrum" betriebenen Blogplattform SciLogs.de bloggen mehr als 70 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verschiedenster Fachgebiete. Das Portal Spektrum.de ist eine führende Plattform für tagesaktuelle wissenschaftsjournalistische Berichterstattung. www.spektrum.com  

 

lg, 01.03.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Renate Ries (KTS) Klaus Tschira Stiftung gGmbH, Presse und Kommunikation Tel.: +49 6221-533 102 Mobil: +49 170-575 9894 Fax: +49 6221- 533 198 E-Mail: renate riesXln3∂klaus-tschira-stiftung de Web: www.klaus-tschira-stiftung.de