Press Release 020/2012

Emergency Shelters for Disaster Zones

“Next Emergency Camp – Extended Shelter“ Project of German and Spanish Students of Architecture Resulted in a Smart Modular Shelter
Die Studierenden experimentierten mit verschiedenen Zelt- und Dachkonstruktionen,  um die optimale Notbehausung zu entwickeln. (Foto: Institut für Tragkonstruktionen, KIT)
Students tested various roof and tent constructions to develop the optimum shelter. (Photo: Institute for Structural Design, KIT)

An emergency shelter must be rapidly available, inexpensive, easy to transport, and uncomplicated to set up. This is why the tent is the first choice in emergency relief. But often, the temporary solution becomes a permanent one that may last for years. The project of students of architecture at KIT was aimed at improving living conditions in such camps. With the hexagonal construction “x-tent.me”, they developed a transition solution between a temporary shelter and a permanent housing.

Students of the Divisions of “Building Lifecycle Management“ and “Structural Design” of the Department of Architecture at KIT analyzed the advantages and drawbacks as well as possibilities of replacing, adapting, and extending tent constructions in a workshop of one week duration. They assumed scenarios of extreme weather situations, such as sudden onsets of winter in Japan or extreme rainfall in Pakistan. In the course of their work, they also considered the framework conditions and standards of international humanitarian aid organizations. Aspects like logistics, costs, individualization, further use and reuse, recycling, and disposal were taken into account in concept development.

The result: A tent of hexagonal layout. Contrary to square or rectangular models, the hexagonal construction requires few planning interventions only to create a functioning assembly of interior and exterior rooms. Individually usable spaces are created, which counteract excessive efficiency and monotony and allow for an adaptation to cultural traditions in the area of use.

In addition, the students developed an innovative, multi-functional transport box, the size of which is adapted to standardized Euro-pallets. These boxes are modular units that contain the basic tent components as well as special devices adapted to various climate conditions. Every box can be turned into a bed. The cavity between the floor and the bed surface may be used as a lockable storage room or filled with leaves or straw for insulation and additional protection against wet and cold.  

In 2009, the institutes involved already were successful in the students competition “Guerilla Housing – spontaneous living in urban spaces” with their accommodation bin “Roll-it”.

A video documentation on “x-tent.me” is available on KIT’s Youtube channel: www.kit.edu/youtube.

Further information is also given in the current issue of the KIT students magazine ClicKIT at http://www.kit.edu/clickit and on the project website www.x-tent.me.

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

tp, 07.02.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseAmp9∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Tu-Mai Pham-Huu
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21170
tu-mai pham-huuWoh9∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseVxs1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 020/2012

Notunterkünfte für Katastrophengebiete

Im Projekt „Next Emergency Camp – Extended Shelter“ entstand aus der Zusammenarbeit deutscher und spanischer Architekturstudierender eine ausgeklügelte modulare Notbehausung.
Die Studierenden experimentierten mit verschiedenen Zelt- und Dachkonstruktionen,  um die optimale Notbehausung zu entwickeln. (Foto: Institut für Tragkonstruktionen, KIT)
Die Studierenden experimentierten mit verschiedenen Zelt- und Dachkonstruktionen, um die optimale Notbehausung zu entwickeln. (Foto: Institut für Tragkonstruktionen, KIT)

Eine Notunterkunft muss schnell verfügbar, kostengünstig, leicht zu transportieren und unkompliziert im Aufbau sein. In der Katastrophenhilfe ist daher das Zelt die erste Wahl. Doch oft wird aus dem Provisorium ein Dauerzustand, der sich über Jahre erstrecken kann. Ziel des Projektes Architekturstudierender am KIT: ein Ansatz, der die Lebensbedingungen in solchen Zeltlagern verbessert. Mit der sechseckigen Konstruktion „x-tent.me“ entwickelten sie eine Übergangsform zwischen temporärer Unterkunft und dauerhafter Behausung.

Die Studierenden der Fachgebiete „Building Lifecycle Management“ und „Tragkonstruktionen“ der Fakultät für Architektur am KIT analysierten in einem einwöchigen Workshop die Vor- und Nachteile, Ersatz-, Anpassungs- und Erweiterungsmöglichkeiten verschiedener Zeltkonstruktionen.  Beispielhafte Szenarien für Extremsituationen waren ein Winterbruch in Japan oder Starkregen in Pakistan. Dabei waren auch die Rahmenbedingungen und Standards der internationalen humanitären Hilfsorganisationen zu berücksichtigen: Aspekte wie Logistik, Kosten, Individualisierung, Weiter- und Umnutzung, Recycling und Entsorgung flossen mit in die Konzeptentwicklung ein.

Das Ergebnis: ein Zelt mit hexagonalem Grundriss. Im  Gegensatz zu quadratischen oder rechteckigen Modulen erfordert die sechseckige Konstruktion nur wenige planerische Eingriffe, um ein gut funktionierendes Gefüge von Innen- und Außenräumen zu schaffen. Dabei entstehen auch individuell nutzbare Spielräume, die übersteigerter Effizienz und Monotonie entgegenwirken und zudem eine Anpassung an kulturelle Besonderheiten im jeweiligen Einsatzgebiet zulassen.

Ergänzend entwickelten die Studierenden eine innovative, multifunktionale Transportkiste, deren Größe an genormte Transportpaletten (Europoolpaletten) angepasst ist. Die Kisten dienen als modulare Einheiten, die neben den Basis-Zeltbauteilen spezielle, an verschiedene Klimabedingungen angepasste Utensilien enthalten. Jede Kiste lässt sich außerdem zu einer Schlafstätte umfunktionieren. Der Hohlraum zwischen Boden und Liegefläche kann dann entweder als abschließbarer Stauraum dienen oder – mit Dämmmaterial wie Blättern oder Stroh gefüllt – als zusätzlicher Schutz vor Nässe und Kälte.

Die beteiligten Institute hatten 2009 bereits mit der Wohntonne „Roll-it“ einen erfolgreichen Beitrag zum studentischen Wettbewerb „Guerilla-Housing – das spontane Bewohnen von urbanen Räumen“ geleistet.


Eine Video-Hintergrunddokumentation zu „x-tent.me“ ist im KIT-Youtube-Kanal verfügbar: www.kit.edu/youtube

Weitere Informationen bietet auch die aktuelle Ausgabe des KIT-Studierendenmagazins ClicKIT unter http://www.kit.edu/clickit sowie die Projektwebseite www.x-tent.me.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

tp, 07.02.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Tu-Mai Pham-Huu
Internetredaktion
Tel.: +49 721 608-48751
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
tu-mai pham-huuUqe2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseOyl2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.