Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 012/2012

World’s Longest Superconductor Cable

RWE Deutschland, Nexans and KIT launch “AmpaCity” project to highlight advantages of super-conductors: the world’s longest superconductor system to replace inner-city high-voltage cable
Komplexe Supraleiterkabel leiten große Ströme mit sehr geringen Verlusten. Ihren  Aufbau optimieren Nexans und KIT für die jeweiligen Anforderungen. (Bild: Nexans)
In order to reach its ideal conducting temperature, the superconducting cable is cooled with liquid nitrogen. (Photo: Nexans)

The “AmpaCity” project has been kicked off: The RWE Group and its partners are just about to replace a 1-kilometre-long high-voltage cable connecting two transformer stations in the Ruhr city of Essen with a state-of-the-art superconductor solution. This will mark the longest superconductor cable installation in the world. As part of this project, the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology will analyse suitable superconducting and insulating materials.

The three-phase, concentric 10 kV cable will be produced by Nexans and is designed for a transmission capacity of 40 megawatts. This installation will also be the first to combine a superconducting cable with a resistive superconducting fault current limiter for overload protection. The limiter will be manufactured by Nexans unit specialized in superconductors, located in Hürth, Germany.

The project could herald a whole new dimension in the restructuring of inner-city networks. Following the successful completion of a two-year field test, it would be possible to install 10 kV superconducting links in large sections of the backbone of the Essen distribution network as part of efforts to release from high-voltage installations. In the medium term, this would lead to greater efficiency as well as lower operating and maintenance costs while simultaneously reducing land use. The dismantling of numerous 110/10 kV transformer stations would help to free up valuable space in inner-city areas. Thanks to the distinctive nature and ambitions of AmpaCity, the project is being supported by the energy research department of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi).

The project was preceded by a detailed study in which a number of research institutes, under the leadership of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, worked alongside with the project partners Nexans and RWE to analyse the technical feasibility and economic efficiency of a superconductor solution at medium-voltage level. The study revealed that superconducting cables are the only reasonable alternative to high-voltage cables in city networks and that their use would mean that resource- and land-intensive transformer stations could be demolished. Although copper medium-voltage cables could also be used in inner-city areas to transmit high power, the cost efficiency of this solution would be cancelled out by the much higher ohmic drop. Furthermore, conventional medium-voltage cables for the Essen project are also out of question, as they require much more routing space: instead of a single 10 kV superconductor cable, five copper cables would need to be laid in parallel – often a largely impossible task given the limited space under the city streets.

State-of-the-art high-temperature superconductors (cooled with liquid nitrogen) such as those used in AmpaCity have been ready for deployment in energy-related applications for some years now, although they have yet to be used on a large scale. Thanks to improved production processes, superconducting wires are only now available in sufficient lengths and quantities. Superconductivity is an efficiency technology because it helps to protect material and energy resources. Experts anticipate that these innovative cables will soon be in a position to compete with copper solutions in energy-intensive applications. The BMWi understands superconducting equipment as an important component of future energy supply concepts.

The technical predominance of superconducting cables can be attributed to the material properties of the conductor. At temperatures of around -200°C, the material is transformed into an almost perfect electrical conductor being able to transport at least 100 times more electricity than copper. Despite the cooling jacket, the compact design of the superconductor means that it can transport five times the electricity as a similarly sized copper cable – and with much fewer electrical losses.

Nexans Deutschland
Nexans in Germany is one of the leading suppliers of cables in Europe. The company offers a large scope of high-voltage cables, systems, and components for telecommunication and the energy sector. The company’s program is complemented by superconducting materials, components, and systems as well as by Cryoflex transfer systems and special machines for cabling industry. Production takes place in Germany and abroad. Further information may be obtained at www.nexans.de .

RWE Deutschland AG
RWE Deutschland AG, which is headquartered in Essen, is responsible for sales and distribution network activities in Germany as well as for the gas storage facilities in the RWE Group for electricity, gas and water. It manages the regional RWE companies in Germany and also develops innovations in the field of energy efficiency, including electromobility and intelligent networks. RWE Deutschland has interests in some 70 regional and municipal utilities and employs around 21,000 people. More information on  www.rwe.com .

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. The KIT Energy Center pools fundamental research with applied research into all relevant energy sources for industry, households, services, and mobility. Holistic assessment of the energy cycle also covers conversion processes and energy efficiency. The KIT Energy Center links competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

kes, 19.01.2012

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseVxx6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 012/2012

Weltweit längstes Supraleiterkabel

RWE Deutschland, Nexans und KIT starten Projekt „AmpaCity“, um technische und wirtschaftliche Überlegenheit von Supraleitern bei der Spannungsversorgung in Innenstädten aufzuzeigen
Komplexe Supraleiterkabel leiten große Ströme mit sehr geringen Verlusten. Ihren  Aufbau optimieren Nexans und KIT für die jeweiligen Anforderungen. (Bild: Nexans)
Komplexe Supraleiterkabel leiten große Ströme mit sehr geringen Verlusten. Ihren Aufbau optimieren Nexans und KIT für die jeweiligen Anforderungen. (Bild: Nexans)

Der Startschuss für das Projekt „AmpaCity“ ist gefallen: Der RWE-Konzern, Nexans und KIT werden nun ein etwa 1 km langes Hochspannungskabel zwischen zwei Umspannstationen der Ruhrgebietsstadt Essen durch eine moderne Supraleiterlösung ersetzen. Das markiert die längste Installation eines Supraleiterkabels weltweit. Dazu wird das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) im Rahmen des Projektes geeignete Supraleitermaterialien und Isolierstoffe untersuchen.

Das dreiphasige, konzentrisch aufgebaute 10-kV-Kabel ist für 40 Megawatt Übertragungsleistung ausgelegt. Erstmalig vorgesehen ist außerdem die Kombination eines Supraleiterkabels mit einem resistiven supraleitenden Strombegrenzer als Überlastschutz; das Gerät wird bei Nexans SuperConductors in Hürth gefertigt.

Das Projekt könnte der Auftakt zur Umstrukturierung eines innerstädtischen Netzes in ganz neuen Dimensionen sein: Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss eines zweijährigen Feldtests wäre es denkbar, das Rückgrat des Essener Verteilnetzes weitgehend auf 10-kV-Supraleiter umzustellen und von Hochspannungsanlagen zu befreien. Dies würde mittelfristig zu mehr Effizienz sowie niedrigeren Betriebs- und Instandhaltungskosten bei gleichzeitig geringerem Flächenverbrauch führen. In der Innenstadt würden wertvolle Grundstücke frei, denn etliche 110/10-kV-Umspannstationen könnten rückgebaut werden. Aufgrund der Besonderheit und der Perspektiven von AmpaCity wird das Projekt vom Energieforschungsreferat des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi) gefördert. Die Gesamtkosten des Forschungsprojekts belaufen sich auf rund 13,5 Mio. Euro, einschließlich der Förderung durch den Bund in Höhe von rund 6,3 Mio. Euro.

Dem Projekt ging eine ausführliche Studie voraus. In ihr haben Forschungseinrichtungen unter Federführung des Karlsruher Institut für Technologie zusammen mit den Projektpartnern Nexans und RWE die technische Machbarkeit und die Wirtschaftlichkeit einer Supraleiterlösung auf Mittelspannungsebene analysiert. Supraleiterkabel sind laut der Studie die einzig sinnvolle Möglichkeit, den Ausbau städtischer Netze mit Hochspannungskabeln zu vermeiden und die ressourcen- sowie flächenintensiven Umspannstationen zurückzubauen. Zwar wäre die Übertragung hoher Leistungen in Innenstädten auch mit Kupfer-Mittelspannungskabeln möglich, der Kosteneffizienz dieser Lösung stehen jedoch sehr viel höhere ohmsche Verluste gegenüber. Im Essener Beispiel verbieten sich die konventionellen Mittelspannungskabel auch wegen des größeren Trassenbedarfes: Statt eines einzigen 10-kV-Supraleiterkabels müssten fünf Kupferkabel parallel verlegt werden – bei dem ohnehin knappen Platz unter städtischen Straßen oft undenkbar.

Die modernen Hochtemperatur-Supraleiter (Kühlung mit flüssigem Stickstoff), wie sie hier bei AmpaCity zur Anwendung kommen, besitzen seit einigen Jahren die Reife für energietechnische Anwendungen, sie wurden aber bisher noch nicht im großen Stil eingesetzt. Aufgrund verbesserter Produktionsverfahren stehen die Supraleiterdrähte erst jetzt in genügenden Längen und Mengen zur Verfügung. Supraleitung ist eine Effizienztechnologie, da Material- und Energieressourcen geschont werden. Experten rechnen damit, dass die innovativen Kabel bei energieintensiven Anwendungen in wenigen Jahren mit Kupfer konkurrieren können. Vom BMWi werden supraleitende Betriebsmittel als wesentlicher Baustein des zukünftigen Energieversorgungskonzeptes gesehen.

Die technische Überlegenheit der Supraleiterkabel resultiert aus der Materialeigenschaft des Leiters. Sein Material wird bei einer Temperatur von etwa minus 180 Grad Celsius zu einem quasi idealen elektrischen Leiter, der mindestens 100mal mehr Strom transpor-tieren kann als Kupfer. Trotz des Kühlmantels gelingt es mit dem Supraleiterkabel, dank seines kompakten Aufbaus, die fünffache Strommenge wie bei einem gleich großen Kupferkabel zu transportieren – und das bei geringeren elektrischen Verlusten.

RWE Deutschland AG
Die RWE Deutschland AG mit Sitz in Essen verantwortet die deutschen Vertriebs- und Verteilnetzaktivitäten sowie Erdgasspeicher im RWE-Konzern in den Geschäftsbereichen Strom, Gas und Wasser. Sie führt die RWE-Regionalgesellschaften in Deutschland und entwickelt darüber hinaus Innovationen im Bereich Energieeffizienz einschließlich Elektromobilität und intelligenter Netze. RWE Deutschland ist an rund 70 regionalen und kommunalen Energieversorgern beteiligt und beschäftigt ca. 21.000 Mitarbeiter. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter www.rwe.com .

Nexans Deutschland
Nexans Deutschland gehört zu den führenden Kabelherstellern in Europa. Das Unternehmen bietet ein umfassendes Programm an Hochleistungskabeln, Systemen und Komponenten für die Telekommunikation und den Energiesektor. Abgerundet wird das Programm durch supraleitende Materialien, Komponenten und Systeme sowie Cryoflex-Transfersysteme und Spezialmaschinen für die Kabelindustrie. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter www.nexans.de .


In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen: Das KIT-Zentrum Energie vereint grundlegende und angewandte Forschung zu allen relevanten Energieformen für Industrie, Haushalt, Dienstleistungen und Mobilität. In die ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Energiekreislaufs sind Umwandlungsprozesse und Energieeffizienz mit einbezogen. Das KIT-Zentrum Energie verbindet exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse.


Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 19.01.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseCap9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.