Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 007/2012

Superconducting Current Limiter Guarantees Electricity Supply of the Boxberg Power Plant

New Superconducting Materials Improve the Efficiency and Reliability of Grids and Systems
Supraleitende Spulen werden mit flüssigem Stickstoff gekühlt und bieten Strom keinen  Widerstand. (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)
Superconducting coils are cooled with liquid nitrogen and have zero resistance to current flow. (Photo: Martin Lober, KIT)

 

For the first time, a superconducting current limiter based on YBCO strip conductors has now been installed at a power plant. At the Boxberg power plant of Vattenfall, the current limiter protects the grid for own consumption that is designed for 12 000 volts and 800 amperes against damage due to short circuits and voltage peaks. The new technology co-developed by Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and made by Nexans SuperConductors enhances the intrinsic safety of the grid and may help reduce the investment costs of plants.  

“For a long time, high-temperature superconductors were considered to be difficult to handle, too brittle, and too expensive for general industrial applications,” explains project manager Wilfried Goldacker from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. “The second generation of high-temperature superconductor wires based on YBCO ceramics is much more robust. Properties have been improved.” Superconducting current limiters work reversibly. In case of current peaks after short circuits in the grid, no components are destroyed. The limiter automatically returns to the normal state of operation after a few seconds only. Consequently, the power failure is much shorter than in case of conventional current limiters, such as household fuses, whose components are destroyed and have to be replaced with a high time and cost expenditure.

“Superconducting current limiters have a number of advantages for the stability of medium- and high-voltage grids,” explains Mathias Noe, Head of the Institute of Technical Physics of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. Reliable, compact current limiters enhance the operation stability of power grids and allow for a simplification of the grid structure. As they are protected against current peaks, decentralized energy generators, such as wind and solar systems, can be integrated much better in grids. Expensive components in the existing grid are protected efficiently, components in future grids can be designed for smaller peak currents, and transformers will no longer be necessary. Investment costs of power plants and grids will be reduced. Moreover, superconducting current limiters on the basis of YBCO can also be applied in high-voltage grids of more than 100 kilovolts for better protection against power failures in the future.

YBCO stands for the constituents of the superconductor: Yttrium, barium, copper, and oxygen. An YBCO crystal layer of about 1 micrometer in thickness is grown directly on a stainless steel strip of a few millimeters in width that gives the ceramics the necessary stability. Below a temperature of 90° Kelvin or minus 183° Celsius, the material becomes superconductive. However, superconductivity collapses abruptly when the current in the conductor exceeds the design limits. This effect is used by the current limiter. In case of current peaks in the grid, the superconductor loses its conductivity within fractions of a second and the current will flow through the stainless steel strip only, which has a much higher resistance and, thus, limits the current. The heat arising is removed by the cooling system of the superconductor. A few seconds after the short circuit, it is returned to normal operation in the superconducting state. YBCO superconducting layers on stainless steel strips are more stable and operation-friendly than first-generation superconductors based on BSCCO ceramics. Moreover, their production does not require any noble metals, such as silver, and will presumably be cheaper.

The superconducting current limiter was developed in the past two years under the ENSYSTROB project. The project partners are Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Nexans SuperConductors, TU Dortmund, and BTU Cottbus. The field test will be carried out at the user, the Vattenfall utility company. The project was funded with about EUR 1.3 million by the Federal Ministry of Economics. The results of the project are of high relevance, as the functionality of current limitation may be integrated in superconducting transformers and energy cables in the future.  
    
Nexans Deutschland
Nexans in Germany is one of the leading suppliers of cables in Europe. The company offers a large scope of high-voltage cables, systems, and components for telecommunication and the energy sector. The company’s program is complemented by superconducting materials, components, and systems as well as by Cryoflex transfer systems and special machines for cabling industry. Production takes place in Germany and abroad. Further information may be obtained at www.nexans.de .



Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. The KIT Energy Center pools fundamental research with applied research into all relevant energy sources for industry, households, services, and mobility. Holistic assessment of the energy cycle also covers conversion processes and energy efficiency. The KIT Energy Center links competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis.



Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 13.01.2012

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseLgv6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 007/2012

Supraleitender Strombegrenzer sichert Stromversorgung im Kraftwerk Boxberg

Neue supraleitende Materialien verbessern die Effizienz und Zuverlässigkeit von Stromnetzen und Anlagen
Supraleitende Spulen werden mit flüssigem Stickstoff gekühlt und bieten Strom keinen  Widerstand. (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)
Supraleitende Spulen werden mit flüssigem Stickstoff gekühlt und bieten Strom keinen Widerstand. (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)

Erstmals wurde ein supraleitender Strombegrenzer auf Basis von YBCO-Bandleitern in einem Kraftwerk installiert. Im Vattenfall-Kraftwerk Boxberg schützt er das Eigenbedarfs-Stromnetz, welches für 12 000 Volt und 800 Ampere ausgelegt ist, vor Schäden in Folge von Kurzschlüssen und Spannungsspitzen. Die am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie mitentwickelte und von Nexans SuperConductors gefertigte neue Technik steigert die Eigensicherheit des Netzes und kann helfen, Investitionskosten in Anlagen zu sparen.

„Hochtemperatur-Supraleiter galten lange Zeit als schwer handhabbar, zu spröde und insbesondere zu teuer für allgemeine industrielle Anwendungen“, erklärt Projektleiter Wilfried Goldacker vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie. „Mit der zweiten Generation von Hochtemperatur-Supraleiter-Drähten auf Basis der Keramik YBCO hat man ein wesentlich robusteres Material mit verbesserten Eigenschaften zur Verfügung.“ Supraleitende Strombegrenzer sind reversibel funktionierende Bauteile. Bei Stromspitzen etwa nach Kurzschlüssen im Netz werden keine Bauteile zerstört, sondern der Begrenzer kehrt schon nach wenigen Sekunden selbsttätig in den normalen Betriebszustand zurück. Der Netzausfall ist somit wesentlich kürzer als bei konventionellen Strombegrenzern, bei denen, wie bei einer Schmelzsicherung im Haushalt, konstruktionsbedingt Bauteile zerstört werden, die jeweils zeit- und kostenintensiv ausgetauscht werden müssen.

„Für die Stabilität von Mittel- und Hochspannungsnetzen bieten supraleitende Strombegrenzer eine Reihe von Vorteilen“, erklärt Mathias Noe, Leiter des Institutes für Technische Physik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie. Verlässliche, kompakte Strombegrenzer erlauben es Stromnetze stabiler zu betreiben und deren Struktur zu vereinfachen. Dank ihrem Schutz vor Stromspitzen lassen sich dezentrale Energieerzeuger wie Wind- und Solaranlagen einfacher in Netze integrieren. Teure Komponenten im bestehenden Stromnetz werden effektiv geschützt, Bauteile in zukünftigen Netzen können für geringere Spitzenströme ausgelegt werden und Transformatoren werden vielerorts überflüssig. Insgesamt können Investitionskosten bei Kraftwerken und Netzen eingespart werden. Zudem lässt sich das Prinzip des supraleitenden Strombegrenzers auf YBCO-Basis zukünftig auch auf Hochspannungsnetze über 100 Kilovolt ausdehnen und diese so besser vor Stromausfällen schützen.

YBCO steht für die Bestandteile des Supraleiters: Yttrium-Barium-Kupfer-Sauerstoff. Es wird als rund ein Mikrometer dicke Kristallschicht direkt auf ein einige Millimeter breites Edelstahlband wachsen gelassen, welches der Keramik die notwendige Stabilität verleiht. Unterhalb einer Temperatur von 90 Grad Kelvin oder minus 183 Grad Celsius wird das Material supraleitend. Allerdings bricht der supraleitende Zustand schlagartig zusammen, wenn die Stromstärke im Leiter die Auslegungsgrenzen übersteigt. Auf diesem Effekt beruht der supraleitende Strombegrenzer. Bei Stromspitzen im Netz verliert der Supraleiter seine Leitfähigkeit innerhalb von Sekundenbruchteilen und der Strom kann nur noch über das Edelstahlband fließen, das einen deutlich höheren Widerstand aufweist und den Strom damit begrenzt. Die anfallende Wärme wird über das Kühlsystem des Supraleiters abgeführt. Einige Sekunden nach dem Kurzschluss ist der Normalbetrieb im supraleitenden Zustand wieder hergestellt. YBCO-Supraleiterschichten auf Edelstahlbändern sind stabiler und betriebsfreundlicher als die Supraleiter der ersten Generation aus BSCCO-Keramiken. Zudem benötigt ihre Herstellung keine Edelmetalle wie Silber und wird vorraussichtlich günstiger sein.

Der supraleitende Strombegrenzer wurde innerhalb des Projektes ENSYSTROB in den letzten zwei Jahren entwickelt. Die Projektpartner sind neben dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie die Firma Nexans SuperConductors, die TU Dortmund und die BTU Cottbus. Der Anwender, bei dem auch der Feldtest durchgeführt wird, ist der Stromversorger Vattenfall. Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft förderte das Projekt mit rund 1,3 Million Euro. Die Ergebnisse des Projektes sind von weitreichender Bedeutung, da die Funktionalität der Strombegrenzung zukünftig auch in andere supraleitende Anwendungen wie Transformatoren und Energiekabel integriert werden kann.

Nexans Deutschland
Nexans Deutschland gehört zu den führenden Kabelherstellern in Europa. Das Unternehmen bietet ein umfassendes Programm an Hochleistungskabeln, Systemen und Komponenten für die Telekommunikation und den Energiesektor. Abgerundet wird das Programm durch supraleitende Materialien, Komponenten und Systeme sowie Cryoflex-Transfersysteme und Spezialmaschinen für die Kabelindustrie. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter www.nexans.de .


In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen: Das KIT-Zentrum Energie vereint grundlegende und angewandte Forschung zu allen relevanten Energieformen für Industrie, Haushalt, Dienstleistungen und Mobilität. In die ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Energiekreislaufs sind Umwandlungsprozesse und Energieeffizienz mit einbezogen. Das KIT-Zentrum Energie verbindet exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse.



Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

kes, 13.01.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseKgb6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.