Press Release 002/2012

Cars of Low Weight and Low Consumption

KIT Coordinates New Technology Cluster on Composites (TC2) for Lightweight Vehicle Construction / EUR 9.2 Million Granted by the State

Lightweight construction is a key technology for energy-efficient, low-emission, and inexpensive vehicles. In the new Technology Cluster on Composites (TC2), researchers are working on lightweight fiber-composite structures suited for the production of large series. The project is coordinated by Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science will fund TC2 with a total amount of about EUR 9.2 million in the next three years. Another approx. EUR 7.2 million will be contributed by industry.

“Energy consumption of a vehicle directly depends on its weight,” explains TC2 project coordinator Timo Müller from the KIT Institute of Vehicle System Technology (FAST). A low weight contributes to the economic efficiency and environmental compatibility of vehicles. Electric vehicles are particularly dependent on lightweight car bodies. Hence, lightweight construction plays a key role for the dissemination of electromobility. Components made of glass or carbon fiber laminates, which have already been applied successfully in aerospace technology and racing sports, can considerably reduce the weight. These materials may replace steel in highly loaded vehicle structures. 

Science and industry in Baden-Württemberg play a leading role in lightweight construction. The Technology Cluster on Composites that will take up work this week is aimed at pooling the competences of research institutions in the field of composite materials and at establishing an interface to industry. As KIT is a major partner in the research network in South Germany, which is reflected by the Competence Center for Lightweight Vehicle Construction (KFL) and the Innovation Cluster for Hybrid Lightweight Construction (KITe hyLITE), it was asked to coordinate the project. “The competences of the partners allow for a holistic approach to lightweight vehicle construction,” says project coordinator Timo Müller.
 
The researchers will develop, construct, and study vehicle-relevant demonstration components. Based on the results, it is planned to construct vehicles for urban and regional traffic in further projects with industry partners. The cluster is funded by the State of Baden-Württemberg with a total amount of about EUR 9.2 million. Among others, these funds come from the State Initiative for Electromobility and the European Fund for Regional Development (EFRE). Industry will contribute another about EUR 7.2 million.

The KIT Institutes of Vehicle System Technology, Production Science, Applied Materials - Materials Science and Engineering, Product Engineering, and of Engineering Mechanics participate in the new cluster. Research partners are Stuttgart University, the German Aerospace Center, Fraunhofer Society, the Institute of Textile Technology and Process Engineering Denkendorf, the Universities of Ravensburg-Weingarten, Esslingen, and Constance, and the Automotive Simulation Center Stuttgart. Among the industry partners are Daimler AG, Porsche AG, BASF, Sika, DSM Resins, Menzolit, and Dieffenbacher.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 04.01.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseMyz5∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneGtu2∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 002/2012

Autos mit geringem Gewicht und geringem Verbrauch

KIT koordiniert neuen Technologie-Cluster Composites (TC2) für den Fahrzeugleichtbau/ Land fördert Forschungsverbund mit 9,2 Millionen Euro

Leichtbau stellt eine Schlüsseltechnologie für energieeffiziente, emissionsarme und kostengünstige Fahrzeuge dar. Im neuen Technologie-Cluster Composites (TC2) arbeiten Forscher an großserienfähigen Leichtbaustrukturen aus neuen Faserverbundwerkstoffen. Die Koordination des Projekts liegt beim Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Das Wissenschaftsministerium des Landes Baden-Württemberg fördert TC2 in den kommenden drei Jahren mit insgesamt rund 9,2 Millionen Euro; weitere rund 7,2 Millionen Euro steuert die Wirtschaft bei.

„Der Energieverbrauch eines Fahrzeugs hängt unmittelbar von dessen Gewicht ab“, erklärt TC2-Projektkoordinator Timo Müller vom Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST) des KIT. Ein geringes Gewicht trägt bei allen Fahrzeugen zu Sparsamkeit und Umweltfreundlichkeit bei. Besonders aber sind Elektroautos auf leichte Karosserien angewiesen. Leichtbau spielt daher eine Schlüsselrolle für die Verbreitung der Elektromobilität. Bauteile aus Glas- und Carbonfaserlaminaten, die sich in der Luft- und Raumfahrt sowie im Rennsport bereits bewährt haben, können das Gewicht deutlich senken. Diese Werkstoffe können Stahl in den höchst belasteten Fahrzeugstrukturen ersetzen.
 
Baden-Württemberg hat auf dem Gebiet des Leichtbaus in Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft eine Vorreiterrolle inne. Im Technologie-Cluster Composites, das diese Woche startet, bündeln Forschungseinrichtungen im Bereich Verbundwerkstoffe ihre Kompetenzen und schaffen eine Schnittstelle zur Wirtschaft. Das KIT wurde aufgrund seiner Vernetzung in der Forschungslandschaft Süddeutschlands, wie sie im Kompetenzzentrum für Fahrzeugleichtbau (KFL) und dem Innovationscluster für hybriden Leichtbau (KITe hyLITE) etabliert ist, mit der Koordination des Gesamtprojekts beauftragt. „Die Kompetenzen der verschiedenen Partner erlauben eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Themas Fahrzeugleichtbau“, sagt Projektkoodinator Timo Müller.
 
Die Forscher entwickeln, bauen und untersuchen fahrzeugrelevante Demonstrationsbauteile. Auf der Grundlage dieser Ergebnisse sollen in weiteren Projekten gemeinsam mit Industriepartnern Fahrzeuge für den urbanen und regionalen Verkehr entstehen. Das Land fördert das Cluster mit insgesamt rund 9,2 Millionen Euro; die Mittel kommen unter anderem aus der Landesinitiative Elektromobilität und dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE). Die Wirtschaft trägt insgesamt rund 7,2 Millionen Euro zu dem Vorhaben bei.
 
Vom KIT sind die Institute für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik, Produktionstechnik, Angewandte Materialien – Werkstoffkunde Produktentwicklung und Technische Mechanik an dem neuen Cluster beteiligt. Forschungspartner sind die Universität Stuttgart, das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, das Institut für Textil- und Verfahrenstechnik Denkendorf, die Hochschulen Ravensburg-Weingarten, Esslingen und Konstanz sowie das Automotive Simulation Center Stuttgart. Zu den Industriepartnern gehören die Daimler AG, Porsche AG, BASF, Sika, DSM Resins, Menzolit und Dieffenbacher.

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 04.01.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneSpw2∂kit edu