Press Release 186/2012

Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn Admitted to Waldemar-Hellmich-Kreis

The Scientist and KIT Chief Science Officer Is New Member of the Honorary Senate of DIN
Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn (Foto: Martin Lober)
Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn. (Photo: Martin Lober)

The Presidial Board of the Deutsches Institut für Normung e.V. DIN has admitted Dr. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, Chief Science Officer of KIT, to the Waldemar-Hellmich-Kreis. This was announced during a DIN celebration yesterday. The Honorary Senate of DIN has a maximum of 50 members, including former presidents of large research organizations and former board members of companies. The Waldemar-Hellmich-Kreis was established in 1957 and named after the founder of DIN. The members admitted to this group are persons, who promoted standardization during their professional work.

 

“Admittance to the Waldemar-Hellmich-Kreis is a great honor for me,” said Ziegahn. “I consider this a recognition of my long work in bodies and committees for national and international standardization.” According to Ziegahn, standardization work always is very instructive and gainful. “I can highly recommend young scientists to be active in this area.”

Ziegahn has been active in the bodies of DIN since 1981. In 1993, he was appointed member of the council of the Packaging Standards Committee and represented the research area. From 1999 to 2007, he headed this standards committee. In addition, he is member of the Commission on Air Pollution Prevention of VDI and DIN, the Transport Chain Standards Committee, the Technical Fundamentals Standards Committee (NATG), and the Standardization Research Network.

“Dr. Ziegahn has always analyzed all problems holistically and linked research and education with the benefits and tasks of standardization,” said the President of DIN, Professor Klaus Homann, in his laudation. “He always advocates the idea of research having to participate in standardization work at an early point of time in order to make the results of research available to the broad interested public in the form of accepted rules of technology.”

The Honorary Senate of DIN recommends further developments of standardization. The registered non-profit association DIN was established in 1917. It is the most important standardization organization in Germany. To develop standards for industry, the state, and society, which meet market requirements, some 28,000 experts contribute their skills and experience. Nearly 90% of the standards work currently carried out by DIN are of European and international nature.

 

About the Person:

Dr.-Ing. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, born in 1952, is graduated physicist and Chief Science Officer (CSO) of KIT. He studied and was awarded his doctorate at the former Universität Karlsruhe (TH). From 1980, Ziegahn worked at the Fraunhofer Institute for Chemical Technology (ICT), first as a member of the scientific staff, then as Deputy Head of the Department of Environmental Engineering and Head of the Central Management. In 2006, Dr. Ziegahn was appointed Head of the Energy, Environment, and Atmosphere Research Programs of Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe GmbH, today’s Campus North of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Since 2011, Ziegahn has been Chief Science Officer of KIT. He is Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the European KIC InnoEnergy SE, a consortium of universities, research institutions, and industrial companies under the roof of the European Institute of Innovation and Technology EIT. He is spokesman of the Helmholtz Association for bioenergy as well as co-coordinator of the Helmholtz “Sustainable BioEconomy” alliance. Ziegahn is President of the Society for Environment Simulation (GUS), Chairman of the Karlsruhe Geothermal Energy Center (GTZ), and was President of the Confederation of European Environmental Engineering Societies (CEEES).

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 30.11.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseYea6∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseFfc3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 186/2012

Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn im Waldemar-Hellmich-Kreis

Der Wissenschaftler und Chief Science Officer des KIT ist neues Mitglied im DIN Ehrensenat
Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn (Foto: Martin Lober)
Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn (Foto: Martin Lober)

Das Präsidium des Deutschen Instituts für Normung e.V. DIN hat Dr. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, Chief Science Officer am KIT, in den Waldemar-Hellmich-Kreis berufen. Dies gab das DIN gestern bei einer Festveranstaltung bekannt. Dem Ehrensenat des DIN gehören maximal 50 Personen an, unter anderem ehemalige Präsidenten großer Forschungsorganisationen und Vorstände von Unternehmen. Der Waldemar-Hellmich-Kreis wurde 1957 ins Leben gerufen und erinnert an den Gründer des DIN. In den Kreis aufgenommen werden Persönlichkeiten, die sich in ihrer beruflichen Tätigkeit auf dem Gebiet der Normung verdient gemacht haben.

„Die Ernennung in den Waldemar-Hellmich-Kreis ist für mich eine große Ehre“, so Ziegahn. „Ich betrachte dies als Anerkennung meiner jahrzehntelangen Arbeit in Gremien und Ausschüssen für die nationale und internationale Normung.“ Das Engagement in Fragen der Normung sei immer sehr lehrreich und gewinnbringend gewesen. „Hier mitzuwirken kann ich dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sehr empfehlen.“

Seit 1981 ist Ziegahn in den Gremien des DIN aktiv. 1993 wurde er als Vertreter des Bereiches Forschung in den Beirat des Normenausschusses Verpackungswesen berufen, den er von 1999 bis 2007 leitete. Daneben ist er Mitglied der Kommission Reinhaltung der Luft im VDI und DIN, der Kommission Transportkette, des Normenausschusses Technische Grundlagen (NATG) sowie des Forschungsnetzes Normung.

„Die besonderen Verdienste von Dr. Ziegahn bestehen darin, dass er alle Problemstellungen stets in übergeordneter Ganzheit betrachtet und frühzeitig Forschung und Lehre mit dem Nutzen und den Aufgaben der Normung verknüpft“, sagte Präsident des DIN, Professor Klaus Homann, in seiner Laudatio. „Er ist stets ein Verfechter der Idee, dass die Forschung frühzeitig an der Normungsarbeit beteiligt werden muss, um rechtzeitig die Forschungsergebnisse über die Form der anerkannten Regeln der Technik einer breiten, interessierten Allgemeinheit zugänglich zu machen.“

Ziel des DIN-Ehrensenats ist es, durch Empfehlungen zur weiteren Entwicklung der Normung beizutragen. Das privatwirtschaftlich organisierte DIN wurde 1917 gegründet; es ist die bedeutendste Normungsorganisation in Deutschland. Um Normen und Standards für Wirtschaft, Staat und Gesellschaft gemäß den Bedürfnissen des Marktes zu erarbeiten, bringen rund 28.000 Expertinnen und Experten ihr Fachwissen ein. Heute ist die Normungsarbeit des DIN zu fast 90 Prozent europäisch und international ausgerichtet.

Zur Person:

Dr.-Ing. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, Jahrgang 1952, ist Diplom-Physiker und Chief Science Officer (CSO) des KIT. Er studierte und promovierte an der früheren Universität Karlsruhe (TH). Ab 1980 war Ziegahn im Fraunhofer-Institut für Chemische Technologie (ICT) tätig, zunächst als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, später als stellvertretender Leiter des Bereiches Umweltengineering und als Leiter des Zentralen Managements. Im Jahr 2006 wurde Dr. Ziegahn in das Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe GmbH, heute Campus Nord des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), als Leiter der Forschungsprogramme Energie, Umwelt und Atmosphäre berufen. Seit 2011 ist Ziegahn Chief Science Officer des KIT. Er ist Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender der europäischen KIC InnoEnergy SE, einem Zusammenschluß von Partnern aus Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen und Industrie unter dem Dach des Europäischen Instituts für Innovation und Technologie EIT, Sprecher für Bioenergie in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft sowie Mit-Koordinator des Helmholtz-Verbunds „Sustainable BioEconomy“. Er ist Präsident der Gesellschaft für Umweltsimulation (GUS), Vorsitzender des Geothermiezentrum Karlsruhe GTZ und war Präsident des Europäischen Dachverbandes der Gesellschaften für Umwelttechnik (CEEES).

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

lg, 30.11.2012
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseXrr6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.