Press Release 181/2012

Triple Success of KIT in CyberChampions Competition

KIT Startups Honestly GmbH, Videmo GmbH & Co. KG, and cynora GmbH Win in Three Categories
 CyberChampions 2012 (Foto: Björn Pados)
CyberChampions 2012 (Photo: Björn Pados)

Yesterday evening, three startups of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) won the CyberChampions Award of the CyberForum e.V. enterprise network. Honestly GmbH was winner in the category of “NewComer”, Videmo GmbH & Co. KG won the category of “HighPotentials”, and cynora GmbH was granted the Innovation Award by init AG. The CyberChampions Awards are granted annually to young and expanding enterprises in the Karlsruhe Technology Region.

 

Honestly GmbH is a startup established by four KIT graduates. It is supported by KIT and the Research Center for Information Technology (FZI). The startup commercializes a software-as-a-service solution, by means of which companies receive a direct feedback of their customers via a mobile application. Via an Android app, an iPhone app, or the mobile website of Honestly, customers can evaluate a service just rendered to them. Then, companies evaluate these feedbacks via a web platform or contact their customers directly. Contrary to online communities, such as Qype or Yelp, the feedbacks are not public and are directly sent to the responsible manager. Customers can contribute directly to improving the quality of the company. The companies can use the platform to enhance customer satisfaction.

More information: www.honestly.com 

 

Videmo GmbH & Co. KG was established in 2008 and offers software solutions and systems in the area of automatic image processing. The team won the award with a software for intelligent video analysis. The technology analyzes faces according to various criteria. In this way, detailed statistics may be obtained with respect to age distribution of customers in the retail sales sector. The system can also be used in the security sector to enhance the efficiency and safety of access control systems. The technology is based on a process that supplies optimum results even under difficult operation conditions and at low image resolution.

More information: http://videmo.de

 

cynora GmbH studies novel organic semiconductors that emit colored or white light due to their physical properties and are applied in organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs). The company covers the complete spectrum of materials and component research, from the design of new functional molecules for OLEDs and solar cells to their manufacture in the laboratory to physical suitability testing by appropriate methods. The organic electronics might be applied in foils for recharging laptops or smart phones when the sun shines. cynora GmbH has its offices at the KIT high-tech incubator, a complex of buildings, in which KIT makes available inexpensive infrastructure and offers vicinity to its research installations.

More information: www.cynora.com

 

The CyberChampions Awards for the three companies show that KIT startups are highly successful. The measurement technology company Unisensor GmbH, which was founded in 1990 already, was awarded the NEO2012 innovation award of the Karlsruhe Technology Region yesterday evening. Unisensor GmbH is a joint startup of the then Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe and Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences. A few days ago, IONYS AG, also a spinoff of KIT and the University of Applied Sciences, was ranked among the top ten of a total of 460 participants in the competition for the Baden-Württemberg State Award for Young Startups.

Information on founding at KIT: www.gruenden.kit.edu

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

as-le, 22.11.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseLun4∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneOlj6∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseFna3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 181/2012

Dreifacher KIT-Erfolg beim CyberChampions Award

Die KIT-Ausgründungen Honestly GmbH, Videmo GmbH & Co. KG und cynora GmbH setzten sich in drei Kategorien durch.
 CyberChampions 2012 (Foto: Björn Pados)
CyberChampions 2012 (Foto: Björn Pados)

Drei Ausgründungen des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) haben gestern Abend beim CyberChampions Award des Unternehmernetzwerks CyberForum e.V. Preise abgeräumt: die Honestly GmbH in der Kategorie „NewComer“ ebenso wie die Videmo Gmbh & Co. KG in der Kategorie „HighPotentials“. Darüber hinaus erhielt die cynora GmbH den von der init AG vergebenen Innovationspreis. Die CyberChampions Awards zeichnen einmal im Jahr junge und expandierende Unternehmen aus der Technologieregion Karlsruhe aus.

Die Honestly GmbH ist eine Ausgründung von vier KIT-Absolventen, unterstützt wird sie vom KIT und dem Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI). Die Gründer vermarkten eine Software-as-a-Service-Lösung, mit der Unternehmen direktes Kundenfeedback über eine mobile Anwendung erhalten: Kunden können über eine Android-App, eine iPhone-App oder die mobile Webseite von Honestly über ein Formular eine gerade erhaltene Dienstleistung bewerten. Unternehmen können diese Feedbacks dann über eine Webplattform auswerten und direkt Kontakt mit ihren Kunden aufnehmen. Anders als in Online-Communities wie Qype oder Yelp sind die Rückmeldungen nicht öffentlich und gehen direkt an den verantwortlichen Geschäftsführer. Die Kunden können so direkt zur Qualitätssteigerung der teilnehmenden Unternehmen beitragen, Unternehmen wiederum können die Plattform nutzen, um die Zufriedenheit der Kunden zu verbessern.
Nähere Informationen: www.honestly.de

Die 2008 gegründete Videmo GmbH & Co. KG bietet Softwarelösungen und Systeme im Bereich der automatischen Bildverarbeitung. Das Team gewann mit einer Software zur intelligenten Video-Analyse: Durch diese Technik können Gesichter nach unterschiedlichen Kriterien analysiert werden, was es zum Beispiel erlaubt, detaillierte Statistiken über die Altersverteilung von Kunden im Einzelhandel zu gewinnen. Sie kann auch im Sicherheitsbereich angewendet werden, etwa um Zugangskontrollsysteme effizienter und sicherer zu gestalten. Grundlage ist ein Verfahren, das auch unter schwierigen Betriebsbedingungen und mit geringer Bildauflösung optimale Ergebnisse liefert.
Nähere Informationen: http://videmo.de

Die cynora GmbH forscht an neuartigen organischen Halbleitern, die durch ihre physikalischen Eigenschaften farbiges oder weißes Licht abgeben und in organischen Leuchtdioden (OLEDs) Verwendung finden. Das Unternehmen deckt das gesamte Spektrum der Material- und Bauteilentwicklung ab: vom Design neuer Funktionsmoleküle für OLEDs und Solarzellen bis zu deren Herstellung im Labor und den Tests auf ihre physikalische Eignung durch geeignete Messverfahren. So könnte die organische Elektronik Anwendungen wie besondere Folien ermöglichen, über die sich Laptops oder Smarphones aufladen, wenn die Sonne scheint. Die cynora GmbH ist Mieter im KIT-Hightech-Inkubator, einem Gebäudekomplex, in dem das KIT seinen jungen Ausgründungen und Gründungsprojekten günstige Infrastruktur mit Nähe zur Forschungseinrichtung zur Verfügung stellt.
Nähere Informationen: www.cynora.com

Die CyberChampions Awards für die drei Unternehmen unterstreichen die jüngsten Erfolge von KIT-Ausgründungen. Ebenfalls gestern Abend erhielt das bereits 1990 gegründete Karlsruher Messtechnikunternehmen Unisensor GmbH den Innovationspreis NEO2012 der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe. Die Unisensor GmbH ist eine gemeinsame Ausgründung des damaligen Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe und der Hochschule Karlsruhe – Technik und Wirtschaft. Vor wenigen Tagen erreichte die IONYS AG, ebenfalls ein Spin-off des KIT und der Hochschule Karlsruhe, beim baden-württembergischen Landespreis für junge Unternehmen die Top Ten der insgesamt 460 Teilnehmer.

Informationen zum Gründen am KIT: www.gruenden.kit.edu 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

as-le, 22.11.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneLbh7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseTsf2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.