Press Release 162/2012

How Students Become Entrepreneurs

New KIT Project Trains Entrepreneurial Thinking and Supports Entrepreneurs in Implementing Ideas / Funded by EU and State Ministry of Economics
Der CIE-Gründerpavillon „Cube“: Eine Anlaufstelle für Gründungsinteressierte  direkt auf dem Campus des KIT. (Foto:J.Parrisius, KIT)
The “Cube” CIE startup pavilion: Contact point for students interested in establishing startups on the KIT campus. (Photo: J. Parrisius, KIT)

Innovations are important to Karlsruhe as a location of industry. Well-educated young people have the most innovative ideas for opening up markets and creating value added. To facilitate their first steps from the idea to the startup, the Incubators 2 project is started. It sensitizes students, in particular females, for establishing startups and provides support. The State Ministry of Finance and Economics finances this project from the European social funds.


“We want to strengthen entrepreneurial culture at KIT, support entrepreneurial thinking among students, and extend our counseling and support offers for young entrepreneurs,” explains Professor Orestis Terzidis from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. The planned extension of the training offers addresses to students of the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences. This winter semester, a new series of seminars will be started in the field of entrepreneurship. Students are to learn how successful startups may develop from their ideas, capabilities, and the knowledge obtained during their studies.


As a central element of the project, KIT will extend its counseling offers to students. Female young entrepreneurs are rare, which is to be changed in the future. The project is aimed at enhancing first counseling capacities. Students interested in establishing startups and having new business ideas are offered subject-specific coaching, support in funding matters, and help in establishing contacts to qualified mentors or startup networks. 


The innovative power of a region is determined mainly by networks and living startup communities. At KIT, it is therefore planned to increase the scope of events. Furthermore, operation of contact points, such as the CIE startup pavilion, for students will be continued. It is here, where young entrepreneurs-to-be meet and discuss their ideas, establish new contacts, and promote entrepreneurial thinking.


As a fourth and last measure, an online community platform will be implemented. This platform is to facilitate support during the founding process and to enable the young entrepreneurs to exchange their knowledge in an interactive, web-based manner. Topics relating to the complete process of founding a startup can be developed in interdisciplinary cooperation and, if necessary, the information may be transmitted to a larger group of interested persons.


The partners of the Incubators 2 project are the KIT Institute for Entrepreneurship, Technology Management, and Innovation (EnTechnon), the CIE Startup Center at KIT, the KIT Innovation Management Service Unit, and the high-tech enterprise network CyberForum as well as the IT company nwebs established by Karlsruhe university graduates. On all levels of innovation development, competent partners will be ready to provide help for the students. The total budget available in the amount of EUR 584,000 is shared by the three consortium partners involved.


Further information on the promotion of startups:

http://www.gruenden.kit.edu/


Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 24.10.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseEca1∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisXei7∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be downloaded under www.kit.edu or requested by mail topresseAms3∂kit edu or phone +49 721 608-4 7414. The photo may be used in the context given above exclusively.



The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 162/2012

Wie Studierende zu Gründern werden

Mit einem neuen Projekt schult das KIT unternehmerisches Denken und unterstützt Gründerinnen und Gründer bei der Ideen-Umsetzung / Förderung durch EU und Landeswirtschaftsministerium
Der CIE-Gründerpavillon „Cube“: Eine Anlaufstelle für Gründungsinteressierte  direkt auf dem Campus des KIT. (Foto:J.Parrisius, KIT)
Der CIE-Gründerpavillon „Cube“: Eine Anlaufstelle für Gründungsinteressierte direkt auf dem Campus des KIT. (Foto:J.Parrisius, KIT)

Innovationen sind die Triebfeder des Karlsruher Wirtschaftsstandorts. Und gerade gut ausgebildete, junge Menschen haben die innovativsten Ideen, mit denen sich Märkte erschließen und Mehrwert schaffen lassen. Um die ersten Schritte von der Idee zur Existenzgründung zu erleichtern, startet nun das Projekt Inkubatoren 2. Es sensibilisiert Studierende, insbesondere Studentinnen, für das Thema Unternehmensgründung und steht beratend zur Seite. Das Landesministerium für Finanzen und Wirtschaft fördert es mit Mitteln aus dem Europäischen Sozialfonds.

„Wir wollen die Gründungskultur am KIT stärken, unternehmerisches Denken unter Studierenden fördern und unser Beratungs- und Unterstützungsangebot für Gründerinnen und Gründer intensivieren“, erklärt Prof. Orestis Terzidis vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Die geplante Erweiterung des Qualifikationsangebots ist auf Studierende der Fakultät für Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften ausgerichtet. Im laufenden Wintersemester startet eine neue Seminarreihe im Bereich Entrepreneurship. Studierende sollen lernen, wie sich aus ihren Ideen, Fähigkeiten und dem Fachwissen, welches sie im Studium erwerben, erfolgreiche Unternehmensgründungen entwickeln lassen.

Als zentralen Baustein des Projekts baut das KIT sein Beratungsangebot für Studierende aus. Besonders weibliche Gründerinnen sind rar, das soll sich in Zukunft ändern. Mit dem Projekt soll vor allem die Kapazität für die Erstberatung gestärkt werden. Das KIT bietet Gründungsinteressierten mit neuen Geschäftsideen themenspezifische Coachings, vermittelt Finanzierungsunterstützung und hilft beim Kontaktaufbau zu den passenden Mentoren und Gründernetzwerken.  
 
Vor allem Netzwerke und lebendige Gründungscommunities fördern die Innovationskraft einer Region. Am KIT wird deshalb als dritte Maßnahme das Angebot an Veranstaltungen ausgebaut. Auch bekannte Anlaufpunkte für Studierende wie der CIE-Gründerpavillon werden weitergeführt. Hier kommen junge Gründungswillige zusammen und feilen in gemeinsamen Diskussionen an Ideen, knüpfen neue Kontakte und pflegen die Gründerkultur.

Vierte und letzte Maßnahme wird die Implementierung einer Online-Community-Plattform sein. Diese Plattform soll die Begleitung während des Gründungsprozesses erleichtern und den Gründern einen interaktiven, webbasierten Austausch von Wissen ermöglichen. Themen rund um den gesamten Gründungsprozess können in übergreifender Zusammenarbeit entwickelt und bei Bedarf einem großen Interessentenkreis zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Partner innerhalb des Projektes Inkubatoren 2 sind das KIT-Institut für Entrepreneurship, Technologie-Management und Innovation (EnTechnon), das Gründerzentrum CIE am KIT, die KIT-Dienstleistungseinheit Innovationsmanagement sowie das Hightech-Unternehmensnetzwerk CyberForum und die von Karlsruher Absolventen gegründete IT-Firma nwebs. Dadurch stehen kompetente Berater auf allen Stufen der Innovationsentwicklung bereit. Das zur Verfügung stehende Gesamtbudget von 584.000 Euro teilt sich auf die drei beteiligte Konsortialpartner auf.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema Gründungsförderung:
http://www.gruenden.kit.edu/

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 24.10.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseCkg3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.