Press Release 154/2012

Top Results in International Research Ranking

KIT Is Best German University in Engineering and Natural Sciences – Ranking of National Taiwan University (NTU) Is Based on Publication Data
Materialwissenschaften und Maschinenbau – nur zwei der fünf Einzelfächer,  in denen das KIT deutschlandweit den Spitzenplatz belegt (Foto: Irina Westermann)
Materials sciences and mechanical engineering – only two of five subjects, in which KIT is top in Germany. (Photo: Irina Westermann)

Of all German universities, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is top in engineering (place 57 worldwide) and natural sciences (place 55 worldwide). The “2012 Performance Ranking of Scientific Papers for World Universities” measures research performance of universities based on scientific publications.

 

KIT ranks in first place of all German universities in engineering ahead of TU Munich (place 83 worldwide) and RWTH Aachen (place 92 worldwide). In natural sciences, KIT is followed by LMU Munich (place 60 worldwide) and TU Munich (place 69 worldwide) in Germany.

 

KIT also assumes top positions in a number of individual subjects: First places are reached by KIT in materials sciences (place 39 worldwide), mechanical engineering and physics (place 48 each worldwide), chemical engineering (place 63 worldwide), and civil engineering (place 94 worldwide). In addition, KIT is in the top group of German universities in electrical engineering and chemistry (place 2 each), geosciences (place 3), and informatics (place 5).

 

In the overall ranking, KIT is in position 18 in Germany and 217 worldwide. The overall ranking results from the total of publications in all subjects. Due to its focus on natural sciences and engineering, not all subjects evaluated are represented at KIT.

 

Background

 

The “Performance Ranking of Scientific Papers for World Universities“ is the successor of the “Higher Education Evaluation and Accreditation Council of Taiwan“ (HEEACT) ranking that has been published annually since 2007. This new performance ranking has been issued by the National Taiwan University for departments and subjects since 2011. It considers universities and is based exclusively on the analysis of scientific publications. Evaluation of publications and citations does not only cover the past year, but considers a period of up to eleven years. The basis are publication data of the Web of Science (WoS) and Essential Science Indicators (ESI) (both Thomson Reuters).

 

More information: http://NTUranking.lis.ntu.edu.tw

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 11.10.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseZsy1∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneLiy7∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseHiu5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 154/2012

Top-Ergebnisse in internationalem Forschungsranking

KIT ist beste deutsche Universität in Ingenieurwissenschaften und Naturwissenschaften – Die von der National Taiwan University (NTU) veröffentlichte Rangliste basiert auf Publikationsdaten
Materialwissenschaften und Maschinenbau – nur zwei der fünf Einzelfächer,  in denen das KIT deutschlandweit den Spitzenplatz belegt (Foto: Irina Westermann)
Materialwissenschaften und Maschinenbau – nur zwei der fünf Einzelfächer, in denen das KIT deutschlandweit den Spitzenplatz belegt (Foto: Irina Westermann)

Unter den deutschen Universitäten liegt das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) in den Ingenieurwissenschaften (weltweit Rang 57) und in den Naturwissenschaften (weltweit Rang 55) ganz vorn. Das „2012 Performance Ranking of Scientific Papers for World Universities“ misst die Forschungsleistung von Universitäten anhand wissenschaftlicher Veröffentlichungen.

Den ersten Platz im deutschlandweiten Vergleich belegt das KIT in den Ingenieurwissenschaften vor der TU München (weltweit Rang 83) und der RWTH Aachen (weltweit Rang 92). In den Naturwissenschaften folgen auf das KIT die LMU München (weltweit Rang 60) und die TU München (weltweit Rang 69).

Auch in einer Reihe Einzelfächer schneidet das KIT hervorragend ab: Erste Plätze erreicht es in den Materialwissenschaften (weltweit Rang 39), im Maschinenbau und in Physik (jeweils weltweit Rang 48), im Chemieingenieurwesen (weltweit Rang 63) und im Bauingenieurwesen (weltweit Rang 94). Vordere Plätze in Deutschland belegt das KIT außerdem in Elektrotechnik und Chemie (jeweils Rang 2), in den Geowissenschaften (Rang 3) sowie in Informatik (Rang 5).

Im Gesamtranking liegt das KIT deutschlandweit auf Rang 18, weltweit auf Rang 217. Das Gesamtranking ergibt sich aus der Summe der Veröffentlichungen in allen Fächern. Wegen seiner naturwissenschaftlich-technischen Ausrichtung sind am KIT nicht alle ausgewerteten Fächer vertreten.

Hintergrund
Beim „Performance Ranking of Scientific Papers for World Universities“ handelt es sich um das Nachfolgeranking des seit 2007 jährlich veröffentlichten Rankings des „Higher Education Evaluation and Accreditation Council of Taiwan“ (HEEACT), das für die Fachbereiche und Fächer seit 2011 von der „National Taiwan University“ herausgegeben wird. Es betrachtet nur Universitäten und basiert ausschließlich auf der Analyse wissenschaftlicher Veröffentlichungen. Die Auswertung von Publikationen und Zitationen bezieht dabei nicht nur das vergangene Jahr ein, sondern berücksichtigt einen Zeitraum von bis zu elf Jahren. Datengrundlage sind Publikationsdaten von Web of Science (WoS) und Essential Science Indicators (ESI) (beide Thomson Reuters).


Nähere Informationen: http://NTUranking.lis.ntu.edu.tw

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 11.10.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneCbv7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseXbc7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.