Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 151/2012

Affordable Battery Storage for the Energy Turnaround

New Alliance for Future Lithium-Ion Battery Facility
Unterzeichneten die Kooperationsvereinbarung: Professor Eberhard Umbach,  KIT, Jürgen Wild, M+W Group. (Foto: KIT)
Signatories of the cooperation agreement: Professor Eberhard Umbach, KIT, and Jürgen Wild, M+W Group. (Photo: KIT)

 

Experts agree that costs of efficient lithium-ion batteries are too high. This applies as much to electric cars as it does to storing solar and wind energy. One major cost factor is the costly production process of lithium-ion batteries. Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and the Stuttgart-based M+W Group have now agreed on a development partnership with the aim of massively reducing the use of energy and materials in battery production and, hence, the costs.  

 

Professor Eberhard Umbach, President of KIT, and Jürgen Wild, CEO of M+W Group, signed an agreement a few days ago, which specifies the key points of the future partnership. Cooperation essentially encompasses dry-room technology, resource-efficient plants, and process control systems.

 

Andreas Gutsch, coordinator of the Competence E project at KIT, sums up: “Cooperation with an internationally renowned factory designer and plant manufacturer will allow for the direct incorporation of our development results in innovative concepts for cell and battery manufacture and their global marketing. We want to further develop industrial processes while keeping a particular eye on costs.”

 

“The existing practical knowledge of M+W Group as regards the engineering and construction of lithium-ion facilities ideally complements KIT’s excellent expertise in research into battery manufacture,” says M+W Group CEO Jürgen Wild. “Together, we will find new ways of reducing costs in battery production of our customers more quickly.

 

”So far, energy-intensive processes, such as drying the coated electrodes, cell assembly in the dry room, or cell formation have dominated lithium-ion cell manufacture. The cooperation will contribute to making the entire energy system of cell and battery manufacture more efficient. KIT’s applied research will focus on the energy efficiency of both the facility and the installed processes. At the same time, the proportion of renewable energies in the supply of energy-optimized production will be increased. Gutsch says: “Installing a photovoltaic plant with coupled, stationary energy storage on KIT’s Campus North will allow for the implementation of power supply based on renewable energy and, hence, “green” cell production.”

 

“M+W Group links the objective of achieving considerable cost reductions in plants to manufacture lithium-ion batteries with the most stringent high-quality manufacture requirements. In doing so, we are able to use the experience from other high-tech industries, such as the semiconductor or photovoltaic sectors, and achieve innovative solutions together with KIT,” says Dr. Rudolf Simon, Technology Manager Automotive + Batteries of M+W Group.

 

The cooperation will enhance interdisciplinary, industry-driven research at KIT, thereby strengthening innovation at both KIT and M+W Group.This means that new concepts of cell production can be tested directly in practice and evaluated more quickly. M+W Group, together with KIT, will set up by February 2013 a highly efficient dry room at KIT for the assembly of lithium-ion cells.

 

The Competence E project pools all KIT activities relating to the storage of electricity for mobile and stationary applications. This so far unique focus on the complete system allows for the development of cost-effective solutions for next-generation battery systems and electric drives that can be used in industry. New manufacturing methods for the cost-efficient production of these batteries will be developed parallel to prototyping innovative cells and batteries. Further information can be found at: http://www.competence-e.kit.edu/

 

The M+W Group is a leading engineering and construction partner for complex projects in the segments of Advanced Technology Facilities, Life Sciences & Chemicals, Energy & Environment Technologies as well as high-tech infrastructures. From concept development to turnkey solutions, the Group executes offers of variable scope and guarantees rapid implementation, high quality standards, and good cost efficiency. The company links process and automation technologies with complex facilities to provide integrated solutions. www.exyte.net

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 08.10.2012
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseFmx0∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafKdj4∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseDjv1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 151/2012

Bezahlbare Batteriespeicher für die Energiewende

Neue Allianz für die Lithium-Ionen-Batteriefabrik der Zukunft
Unterzeichneten die Kooperationsvereinbarung: Professor Eberhard Umbach,  KIT, Jürgen Wild, M+W Group. (Foto: KIT)
Unterzeichneten die Kooperationsvereinbarung: Professor Eberhard Umbach, KIT, Jürgen Wild, M+W Group. (Foto: KIT)

In einem Punkt sind sich die Fachleute einig: die Kosten für leistungsfähige Batterien sind zu hoch. Das gilt sowohl für Elektrofahrzeuge als auch für die Speicherung von Strom aus Sonne und Wind. Ein enormer Kostenfaktor ist dabei das aufwändige Fertigungsverfahren für Lithium-Ionen-Batterien. Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und die Stuttgarter M+W Group haben jetzt eine Entwicklungszusammenarbeit vereinbart, mit dem Ziel, den Energie- und Materialeinsatz in der Batterieproduktion und damit auch den Preis massiv zu reduzieren.

Professor Eberhard Umbach, Präsident des KIT, und Jürgen Wild, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der M+W Group, unterzeichneten vor wenigen Tagen eine Vereinbarung, welche die Eckpunkte der zukünftigen Zusammenarbeit festlegt. Die Kooperation umfasst im Wesentlichen die Bereiche Trockenraumtechnik, ressourceneffiziente Fabrik und Fertigungsleitsysteme.


„Für uns eröffnet die Kooperation mit einem international anerkannten Fabrikplaner und Anlagenbauer die Möglichkeit, unsere Entwicklungsergebnisse direkt in innovative Fabrikkonzepte für die Zell- und Batterieherstellung einfließen zu lassen und damit weltweit zu vermarkten“, so Andreas Gutsch, Koordinator des Projekts Competence E am KIT. „Mit besonderem Augenmerk auf die Kosten wollen wir industrielle Prozesse weiterentwickeln.“

„Die bereits vorhandenen, praktischen Erfahrungen der M+W Group mit Planung und Bau von Lithium-Ionen Fabriken bilden eine ideale Ergänzung zu den hervorragenden Kompetenzen des KIT bei der Erforschung der Batteriefertigung“, so Jürgen Wild, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der M+W Group. „Gemeinsam werden wir schneller zu neuen Möglichkeiten der Kostensenkung in der Batterieproduktion unserer Kunden kommen.“  

Bislang ist die Li-Ionen-Zellfertigung geprägt durch energieintensive Prozesse wie beispielsweise die Trocknung der beschichteten Elektroden, die Zellmontage im Trockenraum oder die Zellformierung. Die Kooperation soll dazu beitragen, das Gesamtenergiesystem der Zell- und Batteriefabrik zu optimieren. Dabei steht sowohl die Energieeffizienz des Gebäudes als auch die der installierten Prozesse auf dem Prüfstand der angewandten Forschung des KIT. Gleichzeitig soll der Anteil erneuerbarer Energien zur Versorgung der energieoptimierten Produktion erhöht werden: „Durch die Installation einer Photovoltaikanlage mit gekoppeltem stationären Energiespeicher auf dem Campus Nord des KIT wird es möglich sein, in der Zellfabrik eine Energieversorgung auf Basis von erneuerbaren Energien – und somit eine „grüne“ Zellproduktion – umzusetzen“, so Gutsch.

„M+W Group verknüpft das Ziel beträchtlicher Kostensenkungen bei Fabriken zur Herstellung von Lithium-Ionen Akkus mit höchsten Anforderungen an die Fertigungsqualität. Dabei können wir zusätzlich auf Erfahrungen aus anderen Hightech-Industrien wie der Halbleiter- oder Photovoltaikbranche zurückgreifen und mit dem KIT innovative Lösungen erzielen“, sagt Dr. Rudolf Simon, Technology Manager Automotive + Batteries bei der M+W  Group.

Die Kooperation baut die Disziplinen übergreifende industrienahe Forschung am KIT weiter aus – und stärkt damit sowohl die Innovation am KIT als auch bei M+W Group. So lassen sich neue Konzepte der Zellfertigung gleich in der Praxis erproben und schneller evaluieren. Bis Februar 2013 wird die M+W Group gemeinsam mit dem KIT einen besonders effizienten Trockenraum für die Montage von Lithium-Ionen-Zellen bei der Fertigung von Batterien am KIT einrichten.

Im Projekt „Competence E“ werden alle Arbeiten des KIT zur Speicherung elektrischer Energie für mobile und stationäre Anwendungen gebündelt. Mit einer bisher einmaligen Fokussierung auf das Gesamtsystem werden industriell anwendbare kostengünstige Lösungen für Batteriesysteme und elektrische Antriebe der zukünftigen Generationen entwickelt. Parallel zur Entwicklung und zum prototypischen Aufbau von neuartigen Zellen und Batterien werden neue Fertigungsverfahren für die kostengünstige Herstellung dieser Batterien entwickelt und prototypisch dargestellt.
Weitere Informationen unter: http://www.competence-e.kit.edu/


Die M+W Group zählt in den Bereichen Advanced Technology Facilities, Life Science & Chemicals, Energy & Environment Technologies sowie Hightech-Infrastruktur zu den global führenden Unternehmen für Planung, Engineering und Bau von komplexen Projekten. Von der Konzeptentwicklung bis zur schlüsselfertigen Komplettlösung realisiert die Gruppe Aufträge unterschiedlicher Größe, die schnelle Umsetzung, hohe Qualitätsstandards und Kosteneffizienz gewährleisten. Dabei verbindet das Unternehmen Prozesstechnologie, Automatisierungstechnik und komplexe Gebäudeinfrastrukturen zu integrierten Gesamtlösungen. www.mwgroup.net

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

lg, 08.10.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafSjp3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseVok5∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.