Press Release 150/2012

Start of the Winter Semester

Welcome Event for KIT Freshmen at Karlsruhe Gartenhalle –Total about 23,500 Students in the Winter Semester
Austausch mit Studierenden, Professorinnen und Professoren – auch dazu bietet  die Erstsemesterbegrüßung den Studienanfängerinnen und –anfängern Gelegenheit.  (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)
At the Freshmen Welcome Event, information can be exchanged with students and professors. (Photo: Sandra Göttisheim)

In the 2012/2013 winter semester, more than 4500 young people will take up their studies at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). During the orientation phase, many of them have already been provided with first insights. Now, KIT will welcome the freshmen at a celebration: The Freshmen Welcome Event will take place on Friday, October 12, 18 hrs, at the Gartenhalle of the Karlsruhe Congress Center. Representatives of the media are cordially invited and kindly requested to register using the form enclosed.

KIT President Professor Eberhard Umbach will inform the new students and their families about opportunities and perspectives of education at KIT. “Due to the increasing interlinkage of education on Campus South with big research on Campus North, KIT can offer a unique studies environment in Germany,” outlines Umbach. Pre-sumably, more than 23,500 students will enroll with KIT for the com-ing winter semester (the deadline for the students’ statistics expires at the end of November). As usual, the interest of applicants in engineering, scientific, and economics programs of KIT was particularly high.

Numerous cultural, social, scientific, or economic university groups or students associations illustrate that studying at KIT is more than the acquisition of expert knowledge. During the welcome event, Eberhard Umbach will honor 41 students for their extraordinary commitment. Seven students will be awarded prizes for their theses by the city of Karlsruhe.

This year, all freshmen will be provided with a backpack by KIT’s CareerService again. It contains information material of several KIT institutions, of the General Students’ Committee, university groups, the Studentenwerk, and of the sponsors of the backpack. The brochure “Erstsemester-Guide to KIT” summarizes important information on studies, central facilities, and services and counseling offered by KIT.

Parallel to the start of the semester, the online students magazine “clicKIT“ will be published. At www.kit.edu/clickit, latest news and background information will be provided together with links to films on YouTube (www.kit.edu/youtube) and discussions on Facebook (www.kit.edu/facebook). The editorial staff will present the magazine and its links to social networks at a stand in the Gartenhalle. Various KIT institutions, university groups, and partners will present themselves at other stands. In addition, the KIT collection will be presented. Clothes, office articles, and presents in KIT design are also available at www.kit-shop.de or at the bookstore on Kronenplatz. 

 
Program of the Freshmen Welcome Event
Beginning: 18 hrs; admittance from 17.15 hrs
 
Music by the KIT Big Band
Director: Dr. Günter Hellstern
 
Welcome by the Presidential Committee
“Excellent Research – Excellent Education: Studies at KIT”
Professor Eberhard Umbach, KIT President
 
Welcome Address on behalf of the City of Karlsruhe
City Counselor Dr. Albert Käuflein

Prizes of the City of Karlsruhe Ceremony

City Counselor Dr. Albert Käuflein

 
Welcome Address of the UStA President
“From Students for Students”
Philipp Rudo

Prizes for Extraordinary Student Commitment
Professor Eberhard Umbach, KIT President
 
Freshmen Quiz
 
Comedy Show with Abdelkarim
 
Presentation: Sebastian Theis

Get-together and Exchange of Experience at the Information Stands
With KIT Professors in the Entrance Hall of the Gartenhalle

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 08.10.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseYnh5∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneEvh5∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseGhd3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 150/2012

Start ins Wintersemester

KIT-Erstsemesterbegrüßung in der Karlsruher Gartenhalle – insgesamt rund 23.500 Studierende im Wintersemester
Austausch mit Studierenden, Professorinnen und Professoren – auch dazu bietet  die Erstsemesterbegrüßung den Studienanfängerinnen und –anfängern Gelegenheit.  (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)
Austausch mit Studierenden, Professorinnen und Professoren – auch dazu bietet die Erstsemesterbegrüßung den Studienanfängerinnen und –anfängern Gelegenheit. (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)

Im Wintersemester 2012/2013 beginnen mehr als 4500 junge Menschen ihr Studium am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Einen ersten Einblick haben viele von ihnen bereits während der Orientierungsphase erhalten. Nun heißt das KIT die Studienanfängerinnen und -anfänger bei einer Feier willkommen: Die Erstsemesterbegrüßung findet am Freitag, 12. Oktober, um 18 Uhr in der Gartenhalle des Kongresszentrums Karlsruhe statt.

Die Möglichkeiten und Perspektiven einer Ausbildung am KIT wird KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach den neuen Studierenden und ihren Familien bei der Veranstaltung vorstellen. „Mit der zunehmenden Verzahnung zwischen der Lehre am Campus Süd und der Großforschung am Campus Nord bietet das KIT seinen Studierenden eine in Deutschland einzigartige Studienumgebung“, so Umbach. Insgesamt werden im Wintersemester voraussichtlich mehr als 23.500 Studierende am KIT eingeschrieben sein (Stichtag für die Studierendenstatistik ist Ende November). Traditionell hoch war in der Bewerbungsphase das Interesse an den ingenieur- und naturwissenschaftlichen sowie wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Studiengängen des KIT.

Dass Studieren am KIT mehr als das Erwerben von Fachwissen ist, zeigen die zahlreichen kulturellen, sozialen, wissenschaftlich oder wirtschaftlich orientierten Hochschulgruppen oder Fachschaften der Fakultäten: 41 Studierende zeichnet Eberhard Umbach bei der Erstsemesterbegrüßung für ihr herausragendes Engagement aus. Sieben Studierende erhalten für ihre Abschlussarbeiten die Preise der Stadt Karlsruhe 2012.

Als „Startpaket“ erhalten alle Studienanfängerinnen und -anfänger auch in diesem Jahr vom CareerService des KIT einen Erstsemesterrucksack. Er enthält Informationsmaterial verschiedener KIT-Einrichtungen, des Allgemeinen Studierendenausschusses, von Hochschulgruppen, des Studentenwerks sowie Beilagen der Sponsoren des Rucksacks. Die Broschüre „Was Studierende wissen sollten“ fasst die wichtigsten Informationen zum Studium, zu zentralen Einrichtungen sowie Service- und Beratungsangeboten am KIT zusammen.

Zum Semesterstart erscheint das Online-Studierendenmagazin „clicKIT“: Unter www.kit.edu/clickit   liefert es aktuelle Informationen und Hintergründe – mit Links zu Filmen auf YouTube (www.kit.edu/youtube) und Diskussionen auf Facebook (www.kit.edu/facebook). Die Redaktion stellt das Magazin und seine Verbindungen zu sozialen Netzwerken bei der Erstsemesterbegrüßung am Stand in der Gartenhalle vor. An weiteren Ständen präsentieren sich verschiedene KIT-Einrichtungen, Hochschulgruppen und Partner. Präsentiert wird außerdem die KIT-Kollektion: Kleidung, Büroartikel und Geschenke im KIT-Design sind aber auch unter www.kit-shop.de oder in der Buchhandlung am Kronenplatz erhältlich.  

 
Programm der Erstsemesterbegrüßung
Beginn: 18 Uhr; Einlass ab 17.15 Uhr
 
Musikalische Einlage der KIT-Big-Band
Leitung: Dr. Günter Hellstern
 
Begrüßung durch das Präsidium
„Exzellente Forschung – exzellente Lehre: Studieren am KIT“
Professor Eberhard Umbach, KIT-Präsident
 
Grußwort der Stadt Karlsruhe
Stadtrat Dr. Albert Käuflein

Verleihung der Preise der Stadt Karlsruhe
Stadtrat Dr. Albert Käuflein
 
Grußwort des UStA-Vorsitzenden
„Von Studierenden für Studierende“
Philipp Rudo

Auszeichnungen für herausragendes studentisches Engagement
Professor Eberhard Umbach, KIT-Präsident
 
Ersti-Quiz
 
Kabarett mit Abdelkarim
 
Moderation: Sebastian Theis

Anschließend
Informationsstände und Get-Together

mit Professorinnen und Professoren des KIT im Foyer der Gartenhalle

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 08.10.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneMmr6∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseHnu8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.