Press Release 143/2012

Start of Construction of the Helmholtz Institute Ulm

2400 Square Meters for Battery Research in the Ulm Science City – Construction Planned to Be Completed by Late 2013
Neues Gebäude für die Batterieforschung: Der HIU-Bau soll bis Ende 2013 bezugsfertig sei.  (Bild: Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg)
New building for battery research: The HIU building is planned to be ready for occupation by the end of 2013. (Photo: Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg)

The energy turnaround needs high-performance batteries. Scientists of the Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU) are working full speed on developing the fundamentals of future highly efficient mobile and stationary storage systems. Research into this socially relevant topic will be accommodated in a new building in the Ulm Science City. The building constructed jointly by the state of Baden-Württemberg and Ulm University will cost EUR 12 million and have an area of 2400 square meters on three levels. By the end of 2013, the building is expected to be ready for occupation. Today, the responsible Ulm office of Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg celebrated the ground-breaking ceremony together with the HIU partners and representatives of politics.

“Investigation of modern storage technologies is of high relevance to managing the energy turnaround and to the further development of electric mobility in Baden-Württemberg. The new building of the Helmholtz Institute for Electrochemical Energy Storage in Ulm will provide best possible prerequisities,” said Wolfgang Leidig, Head of Department of the Ministry of Finance and Economics, and Dr. Simone Schwanitz, Head of Department of the Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts, during the ground-breaking ceremony today.

Founder and partner of the HIU is Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). As a member of the Helmholtz Association, it established HIU in cooperation with Ulm University. Associated partners are the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and the Center for Solar Energy and Hydrogen Research Baden-Württemberg (ZSW).

“Battery research is a major activity within the KIT strategy. We want to supply economically efficient and viable solutions for electric mobility and the integration of renewable energies, e.g. wind and solar power, in the energy system,” emphasized Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT Vice President for Research and Information. “Pooling of the competences of the partners creates perfect prerequisites for comprehensive and in-depth research into electrochemical energy storage.”

“The new building of the Helmholtz Institute Ulm is a major cornerstone that will enhance our competence in research and development of modern battery technologies. It is the signpost of fruitful cooperation of the HIU partners in the important field of electric energy storage,” said the President of Ulm University, Professor Karl Joachim Ebeling.

The new building will accommodate offices and labs for 80 employees. Among others, a vibration-cushioned basement will be constructed for the sensitive measurement devices. After its foundation in early 2011, the HIU rapidly started work. Since its foundation, 20 professors and experienced scientists of the four partners have been assuming executive functions at HIU and supervising research. Work is closely linked with the expertise of the founding partners. In addition, three new professorships for solid-state chemistry, electrochemistry focusing on safe battery systems, and multi-physical modeling are being established. By mid-2013, the HIU is planned to have 40 employees financed from basic funds. Of them, 30 will work in Ulm and 10 in Karlsruhe. Hence, the HIU will be the bridge between Karlsruhe and Ulm in the battery research sector. The DLR funds a professorship with a working group. Other scientists and a graduate school funded from third-party funds will follow.

It is the objective of HIU to combine excellent fundamental research with application. Like no other institute in Germany, the HIU covers nearly all fields of battery research. In addition, HIU will intensify education and the promotion of young scientists for the training of highly qualified young scientists and engineers in this strategically relevant field of research and industry.

As a Helmholtz institute, the HIU will have a basic budget of EUR 5.5 million per year. This budget will be funded via the KIT by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the state of Baden-Württemberg at a ratio of 90 to 10.

Further information on the research activities of HIU can be found at: http://www.hiu.kit.edu/index.php

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 26.09.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
pressePgn6∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafWot8∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseRmf8∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 143/2012

Baustart für das Helmholtz-Institut Ulm

2400 Quadratmeter für die Batterieforschung in der Science City Ulm – Fertigstellung des Baus voraussichtlich bis Ende 2013
Neues Gebäude für die Batterieforschung: Der HIU-Bau soll bis Ende 2013 bezugsfertig sei.  (Bild: Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg)
Neues Gebäude für die Batterieforschung: Der HIU-Bau soll bis Ende 2013 bezugsfertig sei. (Bild: Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg)

Die Energiewende braucht leistungsfähige Batterien. An der Entwicklung der Grundlagen für hocheffiziente mobile und stationäre Stromspeicher der Zukunft arbeiten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Helmholtz-Instituts Ulm (HIU) mit Hochdruck. Raum für die Forschung an diesem gesellschaftlich hochbedeutsamen Thema schafft nun ein neues Gebäude in der Science City Ulm. Der Bau, gemeinsam errichtet vom Land Baden-Württemberg und der Universität Ulm, wird zwölf Millionen Euro kosten und auf drei Stockwerken eine Fläche von 2400 Quadratmetern bieten. Bis Ende 2013 soll das Gebäude bezugsfertig sein. Heute feierte das zuständige Amt Ulm für Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg mit den HIU-Partnern und Vertretern aus Politik den Spatenstich.

"Die Erforschung moderner Speichertechnologien ist sowohl für die Bewältigung der Energiewende als auch die Weiterentwicklung der Elektromobilität am Standort Baden-Württemberg von großer Bedeutung. Der Neubau des Helmholtz-Instituts für Elektrochemische Energiespeicherung in Ulm schafft hierfür die bestmöglichen Voraussetzungen", sagten Wolfgang Leidig, Ministerialdirektor im Ministerium für Finanzen und Wirtschaft und Dr. Simone Schwanitz, Ministerialdirektorin im Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst heute anlässlich des Spatenstichs.

Gründer und Träger des HIU ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), das als Mitglied der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft das HIU in Kooperation mit der Universität Ulm gegründet hat. Assoziierte Partner sind das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) sowie das Zentrum für Sonnenenergie- und Wasserstoff-Forschung Baden-Württemberg (ZSW).

„Die Batterieforschung ist ein Kernelement der KIT-Strategie. Uns geht es darum, für die Elektromobilität und für die Integration erneuerbarer Energien wie Wind und Sonne in das Energiesystem wirtschaftliche und zukunftssichere Lösungen bereitzustellen“, sagte Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information. „Die Zusammenführung der Kompetenzen der Partner schafft vorzügliche Voraussetzungen, die Forschung zur elektrochemischen Energiespeicherung umfassend und mit großer Tiefe voranzutreiben.“

„Der Neubau des Helmholtz-Instituts Ulm ist ein wichtiger Eckpfeiler für die weitere Stärkung unserer Kompetenz zur Erforschung und Entwicklung moderner Batterietechnologien. Er ist ein markantes Zeichen für die fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit der HIU-Partner auf dem zukunftsweisenden Gebiet der elektrischen Energiespeicherung", betonte der Präsident der Universität Ulm, Professor Karl Joachim Ebeling.

Das neue Gebäude wird Büros und Forschungsräume für 80 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter bieten, darunter auch einen schwingungsgedämpfter Keller für die sensiblen Messgeräte. Gegründet Anfang 2011 startete das HIU schnell mit seiner Arbeit. Dies gelang unter anderem dadurch, dass 20 Professoren und erfahrene Wissenschaftler der vier Partner seit Gründung in Leitungsfunktionen am HIU mitwirken und die Forschung betreuen. Neben der engen Verzahnung mit der Expertise der Gründungspartner werden derzeit drei neue Professuren für Festkörper- und Elektrochemie mit dem Fokus auf sichere Batteriesysteme, sowie Multiphysikalische Modellierung besetzt. Bis Mitte 2013 wird das HIU voraussichtlich 40 grundfinanzierte Mitarbeiter haben, von denen 30 in Ulm und 10 in Karlsruhe arbeiten werden. Das HIU wird somit in der Batterieforschung eine Brücke zwischen den Standorten Karlsruhe und Ulm schlagen. Das DLR finanziert eine Professur mit einer Arbeitsgruppe. Weitere über Drittmittel finanzierte Wissenschaftler und ein Graduiertenkolleg sollen folgen.

Ziel des HIU ist die Vernetzung exzellenter Grundlagenforschung mit der Anwendungsebene. Das HIU deckt wie kein anderes Institut in Deutschland nahezu alle Felder in der Batterieforschung ab. Daneben wird das HIU auch die Lehre und Nachwuchsförderung ausbauen, um hoch qualifizierte junge Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure in diesem strategisch wichtigen Feld für die Forschung und Wirtschaft auszubilden.

Als Helmholtz-Einrichtung wird das Institut, das über einen Grundhaushalt von 5,5 Millionen Euro pro Jahr verfügt, über das KIT zu 90 Prozent vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und zu zehn Prozent vom Land Baden-Württemberg finanziert.

Weitere Informationen zu den Forschungsfeldern des HIU unter: http://www.hiu.kit.edu/index.php

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg, 26.09.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafOvw4∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseEuq0∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.