Press Release 141/2012

The Challenge of Big Data in Science

Leading Supercomputing Experts Meet at International Symposium in Karlsruhe

The amount of data increases rapidly in all scientific disciplines. Experiments, observations, and simulations produce gigantic data volumes. For scientists, these data represent new opportunities and big challenges at the same time. Leading experts worldwide will meet on September 25, 2012 at the symposium “The Challenge of Big Data in Science” at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Representatives of the media are cordially invited and kindly asked to register using the form enclosed.


“The enormous data volumes are simply referred to as big data,” says Professor Achim Streit, Director of the Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) of KIT. “Excellent research, such as the discovery of the Higgs particle this year, is no longer feasible without big data competence.” KIT among others participated with GridKa, the German computing and data center for the LHC accelerator ring of CERN. Here, about 25 petabytes, a data volume that can be stored on five million DVDs, were stored and analyzed.

Experience in handling big data is concentrated in the KIT project “Large Scale Data Management and Analysis” (LSDMA) and further developed for other scientific disciplines, such as battery research, systemic biology, and brain research. “The symposium is aimed at enhancing international exchange of information on big data. The program reflects the entire scope of this topic,” says Dr. Christopher Jung, Head of the LSDMA project.



Symposium “The Challenge of Big Data in Science“
Tuesday, September 25, 2012, 9.00 hrs,
Assembly hall of FTU on KIT Campus North,
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1, 76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen, Germany



The following persons will be among the scientists speaking at the symposium: 

Professor Alexander Szalay, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, is one of the founders of big data research and was chief data analyst of the Sloan Digital Sky Survey project for mapping the universe.


Dr. Robert Sinkovits
, San Diego Super Computing Center, will present the Gordon supercomputer that was specially developed for processing dataintensive research problems.

Professor Peter Sanders
, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Leibniz laureate and developer of novel algorithms for handling big data-bases.  

The complete program can be found at:  https://indico.desy.de/conferenceTimeTable.py?confId=6264#20120925  

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 19.09.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseDiw7∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisCin9∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 141/2012

Datenberge als Herausforderung für die Forschung

Internationales Symposium bringt führende Experten für Supercomputer nach Karlsruhe

In allen Wissenschaftsdisziplinen steigt die Menge der Daten rasant an. Durch Experimente, Beobachtungen und Simulationen werden gewaltige Datenmengen produziert. Für die Wissenschaftler stellen diese gleichzeitig neue Möglichkeiten und große Herausforderungen dar. Die weltweit führenden Experten treffen sich am 25. September 2012 zum Symposium „The Challenge of Big Data in Science“ am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT).

„Das Thema der großen Datenmengen wird international prägnant als Big Data bezeichnet”, sagt Prof. Achim Streit, Direktor am Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) des KIT. „Spitzenforschung, wie etwa die Entdeckung des Higgs-Teilchens in diesem Jahr ist ohne Big-Data-Kompetenz nicht mehr vorstellbar.“ Das KIT war hier unter anderem mit GridKa beteiligt, dem deutschen Rechen- und Datenzentrum für den Beschleunigerring LHC am CERN. Rund 25 Petabyte, die Datenmenge, die auf 5 Millionen DVDs passt, wurden hier gespeichert und analysiert.

Diese Erfahrung im Umgang mit Big Data wird am KIT im Projekt “Large Scale Data Management and Analysis” (LSDMA) konzentriert und für weitere Wissenschaftsbereiche wie Batterieforschung, Systembiologie und Gehirnforschung weiterentwickelt. „Durch das Symposium wird der internationale Austausch zum Thema Big Data befördert. Das Programm spiegelt die verschiedenen Facetten des Themas wider“ führt Dr. Christopher Jung, LSDMA-Projektleiter, aus.

Symposium „The Challenge of Big Data in Science“
Dienstag, 25. September 2012, um 9:00 Uhr,
Aula des FTU am KIT-Campus Nord,
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1, 76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen


Zu den Vortragenden der eintägigen Veranstaltung gehören:

Prof. Alexander Szalay, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, ist einer der Begründer des Forschungsfeldes Big Data und war Chef-Datenanalyst des Projekts Sloan Digital Sky Survey, mit dem das Universum kartiert wurde.

Dr. Robert Sinkovits, San Diego Super Computing Center, stellt den Supercomputer Gordon vor, der eigens für die Bearbeitung von datenintensiven Forschungsfragen entwickelt wurde.

Prof. Peter Sanders, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Leibniz-Preisträger und Entwickler von neuartigen Algorithmen für den Umgang mit großen Datenbanken.


Das vollständige Programm  finden Sie unter: https://indico.desy.de/conferenceTimeTable.py?confId=6264#20120925

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 19.09.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu