Press Release 139/2012

Research for an Urban Environment Worth Living in

First International Urban Environment Symposium at KIT
Straßenszene in Beijing. Mehr als die Hälfte der Menschen weltweit leben in Städten.  (Foto: KIT, Stefan Norra)
Streets in Beijing. More than half of global population is living in cities. (Photo: KIT, Stefan Norra)

The Urban Environment Symposium from September 16 to 19, 2012, in Karlsruhe is dedicated to various aspects of the urban environment. At the conference that will be held in English, researchers from all over the world will discuss a wide scope of topics extending from mobility management to air pollution to the role of cities in climate change. For the first time, KIT will host this international symposium that is organized by KIT together with the Chalmers University of Gothenburg/Sweden. Representatives of the media are cordially invited.

The symposium will be opened officially in building 10.50 on KIT Campus South on Monday, September 17, 9.00 hrs, by Dr. Gisela Splett, State Secretary of the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Transport and Infrastructure, and Dr. Peter Fritz, KIT Vice President for Research and Innovation. PD Dr. Stefan Norra, spokesperson of the topic “Urban Systems” of the KIT Climate and Environment Center and Head of the KIT Institute of Geography and Geoecology, and Professor Greg Morrison, Chalmers University of Technology, will also speak during the opening. The Lord Mayor of Karlsruhe, Heinz Fenrich, will welcome the participants in the symposium at the city hall on Monday evening.
 
The international Urban Environment Symposium that takes place for the 11th time in 2012 has been assuming a leading position as a forum covering research into the urban environment for nearly 30 years now. It was founded in 1983 in London as a symposium on “Highway Pollution”. Now, it covers all aspects of climate and environment in urban systems. Cities represent the living space of more than half of the global population. They dominate flows of materials and energy that significantly influence the development of climate and the environment. The 11th Urban Environment Symposium will focus on aspects of climate change – reduction and adaptation, environmental pollution, biodiversity, health in cities, urban infrastructures, modeling of urban systems, and systems analysis.
 
The program of the 11th Urban Environment Symposium is available at http://hues.se/programme/.

The KIT Climate and Environment Center develops strategies and technologies to secure the natural bases of life. For this purpose, 660 employees of 32 institutes produce fundamental and application-oriented knowledge relating to climate and environmental change. It is not only aimed at eliminating the causes of environmental problems, but increasingly at adapting to changed conditions.


Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 11.09.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseFpg6∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafBhu6∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseRcg7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 139/2012

Forschen für eine lebenswerte städtische Umwelt

Internationales „Urban Environment Symposium“ erstmals am KIT
Straßenszene in Beijing. Mehr als die Hälfte der Menschen weltweit leben in Städten.  (Foto: KIT, Stefan Norra)
Straßenszene in Beijing. Mehr als die Hälfte der Menschen weltweit leben in Städten. (Foto: KIT, Stefan Norra)

Den verschiedenen Aspekten der urbanen Umwelt widmet sich das „Urban Environment Symposium“ vom 16. bis 19. September 2012 in Karlsruhe. Auf der englischsprachigen Tagung erörtern Forscher aus aller Welt ein breites Themenspektrum von Mobilitätsmanagement über Luftverschmutzung bis hin zur Rolle der Städte im Klimawandel. Das KIT fungiert erstmals als Gastgeber dieses international führenden Symposiums und organisiert dieses gemeinsam mit der Chalmers University Göteborg/Schweden. Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Medien sind herzlich eingeladen.

Zur offiziellen Eröffnung des Symposiums im Gebäude 10.50 des KIT Campus Süd am Montag, 17. September, um 9 Uhr haben sich Dr. Gisela Splett, Staatssekretärin im Ministerium für Verkehr und Infrastruktur Baden-Württemberg, und Dr. Peter Fritz, KIT-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Innovation, angekündigt. Außerdem gestalten PD Dr. Stefan Norra, Sprecher des Topics „Urbane Systeme“ im KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt und Leiter des KIT-Instituts für Geographie und Geoökologie, sowie Professor Greg Morrison, Chalmers University of Technology, die Eröffnung. Der Karlsruher Oberbürgermeister Heinz Fenrich empfängt die Teilnehmer des Symposiums am Montagabend im Rathaus.
 
Das internationale Urban Environment Symposium, das 2012 zum elften Mal stattfindet, nimmt seit fast 30 Jahren eine führende Position als Forum für Forschungen rund um die städtische Umwelt ein. 1983 in London als Symposium zum Thema „Highway Pollution“ begründet, befasst es sich mittlerweile mit sämtlichen Aspekten von Klima und Umwelt in urbanen Systemen. Städte bilden den Lebensraum von mehr als der Hälfte der Menschen weltweit. Sie stellen einen dominierenden Faktor für Stoff- und Energieflüsse dar, die sich wesentlich auf die Entwicklung von Klima und Umwelt auswirken. Im Zentrum des 11. Urban Environment Symposium stehen Themen aus den Bereichen Klimawandel – Verminderung und Anpassung, Umweltbelastung, Biodiversität, Gesundheit in Städten, urbane Infrastrukturen, Modellierung urbaner Systeme und Systemanalyse.
 
Unter http://hues.se/programme/ ist das Programm des 11. Urban Environment Symposiums verfügbar.


Das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt entwickelt Strategien und Technologien zur Sicherung der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen: Dafür erarbeiten 660 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus 32 Instituten Grundlagen- und Anwendungswissen zum Klima- und Umweltwandel. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Beseitigung der Ursachen von Umweltproblemen, sondern zunehmend um die Anpassung an veränderte Verhältnisse.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 11.09.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafGca0∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseWxh4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.