Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 136/2012

Radar Measurements of Highest Precision

KIT and RUB Researchers Reach Record Precision
Das Radarsystem in der Messkammer: Die Hardware entstand an der RUB, die  Algorithmik am KIT. (Foto: Timo Jaeschke, RUB)
The radar system in the measurement chamber: The hardware was developed by RUB, algorithmics by KIT. (Photo: Timo Jaeschke, RUB)

Scientists of KIT and Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) have reached a record precision in radar distance measurements. With the help of a new radar system, an accuracy of one micrometer was achieved in joint measurements. The system is characterized by a high precision and low cost. Potential applications lie in production and plant technology.

Precise determination of distances is of increasing importance in fabrication technology, for instance, when actuating robots, producing micromechanical components, or controlling machine tools. Frequently, glass scales, inductive sensors, or laser measurement systems are used for distance measurements. Glass scales are very precise and reach micrometer precision. However, they are too inflexible and expensive for daily use. Inductive sensors measuring distances with a coil, magnetic field, and movement work in a contact-free manner and, hence, without wear, but are limited in the measurement repetition rate. Lasers also allow for a highly precise measurement, but are not suited for environments with dust, humidity, or strongly changing light conditions. Radar signals, by contrast, can penetrate dust and fog quite well. So far, radar systems have been used mainly for weather observation, air monitoring or distance measurement in vehicles.

Scientists of the Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Elektronik (IHE) of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) under Prof. Thomas Zwick and of the Chair for Integrated Systems of Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) under Prof. Nils Pohl have now developed and successfully applied a radar system for distance measurements. It is characterized by a so far unreached precision: In a joint test in July this year, the researchers from Karlsruhe and Bochum reached a new record precision for radar distance measurements of one mi-crometer. One micrometer is a millionth of a meter. For comparison: A human hair is about 40 to 60 micrometers thick.

For measurement, the scientists use a frequency-modulated continuous wave radar (FMCW radar), whose emitter is operated continuously during measurement. The RUB researchers developed the hardware, KIT scientists the algorithmics. The radar system with a special measurement setup measures distances of up to several meters in free space with micrometer accuracy. Compared to laser systems, this system is not only cheaper, but can also measure absolute positions. Due to this quasi unlimited range of uniqueness, the radar is far superior to the laser.

The radar system is now being optimized in several research projects. Its accuracy will be further improved. In the future, it will be used to make measurements in production and plant technology with high precision, in a flexible manner, and at low costs.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

or, 05.09.2012

For further information, please contact:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafBwn7∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseIcc7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 136/2012

Rekord-Radar misst haargenau

Forscher des KIT und der RUB erreichen neuen Spitzenwert
Das Radarsystem in der Messkammer: Die Hardware entstand an der RUB, die  Algorithmik am KIT. (Foto: Timo Jaeschke, RUB)
Das Radarsystem in der Messkammer: Die Hardware entstand an der RUB, die Algorithmik am KIT. (Foto: Timo Jaeschke, RUB)

Wissenschaftler des KIT und der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) haben gemeinsam einen Rekordwert für Radarabstandsmessungen erreicht. Mit einem neuen Radarsystem ließ sich in gemeinsamen Messungen eine Genauigkeit von einem Mikrometer nachweisen. Das System zeichnet sich durch eine hohe Präzision und einen günstigen Preis aus. Damit eröffnet es neue Möglichkeiten in der Produktions- und Anlagentechnik.
 
Abstände präzise zu bestimmen, wird in der Fertigungstechnik immer wichtiger – beispielsweise für die genaue Ansteuerung von Robotern, die Produktion von mikromechanischen Bauteilen oder die Steuerung von Werkzeugmaschinen. Dabei werden häufig Glasmaßstäbe, induktive Sensoren oder Lasermesssysteme zur Abstandsmessung eingesetzt. Maßstäbe aus Glas sind sehr präzise  und ermöglichen eine mikrometergenaue Messung, sind aber für den täglichen Einsatz zu unflexibel und zu kostenaufwendig. Induktive Sensoren, die Abstände mit Spule, Magnetfeld und Bewegung messen, arbeiten berührungslos und damit verschleißfrei, sind jedoch in ihrer Messwiederholrate beschränkt. Laser ermöglichen ebenfalls eine hochgenaue Messung, eignen sich aber nicht für Umgebungen mit Staub, Feuchtigkeit oder stark veränderlichen Lichtverhältnissen. Demgegenüber können Radarsignale sowohl Staub als auch Nebel gut durchdringen. Radarsysteme werden bis jetzt allerdings vornehmlich zur Wetterbeobachtung, Luftüberwachung oder Abstandsmessung in Automobilen eingesetzt.

Wissenschaftler am Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Elektronik (IHE) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) um Prof. Thomas Zwick und am Lehrstuhl für Integrierte Systeme der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) um Prof. Nils Pohl haben nun ein Radarsystem zur Abstandsmessung entwickelt und erfolgreich eingesetzt. Dieses Radarsystem zeichnet sich durch eine zuvor nicht erreichte Präzision aus: Bei einem gemeinsamen Versuch im Juli dieses Jahres erreichten die Karlsruher und Bochumer Forscher mit einer Genauigkeit von einem Mikrometer einen neuen Rekordwert für Radarabstandsmessungen. Ein Mikrometer entspricht einem millionstel Meter. Zum Vergleich: Ein menschliches Haar ist etwa 40 bis 60 Mikrometer dick.
 
Zur Messung setzen die Wissenschaftler ein Dauerstrichradar (FMCW-Radar – Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave Radar) ein, dessen Sender während der Dauer des Messvorgangs ununterbrochen arbeitet. Die RUB-Forscher entwickelten die Hardware, die Wissenschaftler des KIT die Algorithmik. Das Radarsystem mit speziellem Messaufbau erlaubt die mikrometergenaue Messung von Abständen bis zu mehreren Metern im Freiraum. Im Vergleich zu Lasersystemen sind diese nicht nur kostengünstiger, sondern bieten auch die Möglichkeit, selbst absolute Positionen eindeutig zu messen. Durch den quasi unbegrenzten Eindeutigkeitsbereich ist das Radar dem Laser weit überlegen.
 
Das Radarsystem wird nun in mehreren Forschungsprojekten optimiert; seine Genauigkeit wird weiter verbessert. Künftig wird es dazu dienen, verschiedenste Messaufgaben in der Produktions- und Anlagentechnik hochgenau, vielseitig und kostengünstig auszuführen.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 05.09.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafMww3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseVls8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.