Press Release 134/2012

EIX Forecasts Economic Development

KIT Study: Users of the Virtual Prediction Market Are Quicker Than Economists

A virtual prediction market can forecast economy data as reliably as an economic news agency. As a rule, users of the prediction market are even quicker. Short sales increase the accuracy of the forecasts. This is demonstrated by a study of the business engineer Florian Teschner of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The researcher analyzed the design and performance of prediction markets using the EIX Handelsblatt prediction market that is co-operated by KIT as an example.  

Prediction markets are virtual market platforms predicting the outcome of events: Participants trade with virtual shares on future events, e.g. the results of elections or sports events. The costs of the shares reflect the probability of occurrence of the events. This concept is based on the idea that the average of many estimates frequently is much more precise than individual forecasts. The KIT Institute of Information Systems and Management (IISM) headed by Professor Christof Weinhardt runs the Economic Indicator eXchange (EIX) market together with the Cologne Institute for Economic Research and the economic newspaper Handelsblatt. On this market, the participants have been trading with their estimates of six economic indicators for nearly three years now. These indicators are the gross domestic product, exports, inflation, unemployment, gross fixed capital formation, and the Ifo index. For trading, they use virtual money. Those making the best forecasts will receive non-cash prizes.  

In his Ph. D. thesis “Forecasting Economic Indices - Performance, Design, and Learning in Prediction Markets”, business engineer Florian Teschner from the IISM analyzed the quality of forecasts on EIX and studied the question how prediction markets have to be designed to compile the information more rapidly and efficiently. The results demonstrate that EIX with more than 1000 participants and more than 60,000 individual predictions can make very precise forecasts. The consensus forecasts of the Bloomberg news agency based on polls of bank economists were used as a benchmark. Comparison revealed that the quality of EIX forecasts is equal to that of Bloomberg forecasts.  

As a rule, EIX usually is even quicker: “The prediction market supplies an equivalent forecast ten days earlier”, says Florian Teschner. While Bloomberg supplies a punctual prognosis based on interviews one week prior to publication, EIX makes a continuous prognosis. ”This motivates the participants to disclose their estimates very early,” explains Teschner. The traders on EIX use the new information immediately to improve their forecasts.

The Ph. D. thesis supervised by Professor Christof Weinhardt also deals with effects of short sales on the accuracy of the prediction market. By short sales, traders speculate for falling values. Introduction of short sales turned out to have a positive effect: The forecast error, i.e. the difference between the predicted and the real value, was sometimes reduced by 60%. ”Short sales extend the scope of action of the participants. They can use incorrect prices much better, the forecast error is reduced,” reports Teschner. The KIT scientist also studied how other market parameters change due to short sales and found that liquidity increases.

The study also addressed the question how incentives and feedbacks influence learning and participation of the users of prediction markets. A long-term continuous interaction with the participants was found to be decisive for the success of the market. The most effective way of motivating users was a weekly economy newsletter. Experiments relating to the design of the user interface revealed that the bids of the participants are less profitable, if the trading screen contains a high number of information elements.

More information on the prediction market: www.eix-market.de

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 29.08.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseZhv2∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneEvl6∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 134/2012

EIX sagt wirtschaftliche Entwicklung voraus

Studie am KIT: Nutzer der virtuellen Prognosebörse arbeiten schneller als Ökonomen

Ein virtueller Prognosemarkt kann Konjunkturdaten ebenso zuverlässig voraussagen wie eine Wirtschafts-Nachrichtenagentur. Die Nutzer der Prognosebörse arbeiten in der Regel sogar schneller. Dabei steigern Leerverkäufe die Genauigkeit der Prognosen. Dies zeigt eine Studie des Wirtschaftsingenieurs Florian Teschner vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Der Forscher hat Gestaltung und Leistung von Prognosemärkten anhand der vom KIT mit betriebenen Handelsblatt-Prognosebörse EIX untersucht.


Prognosebörsen sind virtuelle Marktplattformen, die den Ausgang von Geschehnissen vorhersagen: Die Teilnehmer handeln mit virtuellen Aktien über zukünftige Ereignisse, beispielsweise Wahlausgänge oder Sportergebnisse. Dabei spiegeln die Preise der Aktien die Wahrscheinlichkeit des Eintretens der Ereignisse wider. Das Konzept beruht auf der Idee, dass der Durchschnitt vieler Einschätzungen häufig treffsicherer ist als Einzelprognosen. Das Institut für Informationswirtschaft und -management (IISM) des KIT unter Leitung von Professor Christof Weinhardt betreibt gemeinsam mit dem Institut der deutschen Wirtschaft Köln und der Wirtschaftszeitung Handelsblatt die Konjunktur-Prognosebörse Economic Indicator eXchange (EIX). Auf dieser handeln die Teilnehmer seit knapp drei Jahren mit ihren Einschätzungen von sechs Konjunkturindikatoren: Bruttoinlandsprodukt, Exporte, Inflation, Zahl der Arbeitslosen, Bruttoanlageinvestitionen und Ifo-Index. Sie verwenden dabei virtuelles Geld; für die besten Voraussagen gibt es Sachpreise.
 
In seiner Dissertation „Forecasting Economic Indices – Performance, Design and Learning in Prediction Markets” hat der Wirtschaftsingenieur Florian Teschner vom IISM die Qualität der Prognosen auf EIX erforscht und die Frage untersucht, wie Prognosebörsen zu gestalten sind, um Informationen schneller und effizienter zusammenzustellen. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass die EIX mit mehr als 1000 Teilnehmern und über 60.000 Einzelprognosen sehr genaue Vorhersagen treffen kann. Als Maßstab dienten die Konsensusschätzungen der Nachrichtenagentur Bloomberg, die auf der Befragung von Bankvolkswirten basieren. Der Vergleich ergab, dass die Qualität der EIX-Vorhersagen derjenigen der Bloomberg-Prognosen ebenbürtig ist.
 
Dabei ist EIX in der Regel sogar schneller: „Die Prognosebörse liefert zehn Tage früher eine gleichwertige Vorhersage“, erklärt Florian Teschner. Während Bloomberg eine punktuelle Prognose liefert, basierend auf Befragungen eine Woche vor der Veröffentlichung, leistet EIX eine kontinuierliche Prognose. „Dies motiviert die Teilnehmer, ihre Einschätzungen frühzeitig preiszugeben“, erläutert Teschner. Die Händler auf EIX nutzen neue Informationen sofort, um ihre Voraussagen zu verbessern.
 
Die von Professor Christof Weinhardt betreute Dissertation befasst sich auch mit den Auswirkungen von Leerverkäufen, mit denen Händler auf fallende Kurse spekulieren können, auf die Genauigkeit des Prognosemarkts. Dabei zeigte sich, dass sich die Einführung von Leerverkäufen positiv auswirkt: Zum Teil verringerte sich der Prognosefehler, das heißt die Differenz zwischen prognostiziertem und realem Wert, um 60 Prozent. „Leerverkäufe erweitern den Handelsspielraum der Teilnehmer. Dies ermöglicht es ihnen, falsche Preise besser auszunutzen – der Vorhersagefehler wird reduziert“, berichtet Teschner. Der KIT-Wissenschaftler untersuchte auch, wie sich andere Marktparameter mit der Einführung von Leerverkäufen ändern, und wies nach, dass die Liquidität zunimmt.
 
Die Studie widmete sich überdies der Frage, wie Anreiz und Feedback das Lernen und die Teilnahme der Prognosebörsen-Nutzer beeinflussen. Dabei erwies sich eine langfristige, fortlaufende Interaktion mit den Teilnehmern als wesentlich für den Erfolg der Prognosebörse. Wirkungsvollste Motivationsmaßnahme war ein wöchentlicher Konjunktur-Newsletter. Experimente zur Gestaltung der Marktbenutzeroberfläche ergaben, dass die Gebote der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer weniger profitabel sind, wenn der Handelsbildschirm eine hohe Anzahl von Informationselementen aufweist.
 
Nähere Informationen zur Prognosebörse: www.eix-market.de

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 29.08.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneDbs8∂kit edu