Press Release 133/2012

Software Cluster Proceeds to Next Phase

Leading-edge Cluster Intensifies Technical and Methodological Research and Development of Software Solutions for Digital Companies – KIT Is Involved in Two Projects

The Software Cluster that won the leading-edge cluster competition launched by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) is aimed at establishing the basis for tomorrow’s business software. As was recommended by the international jury of the competition, the second funding package is now granted to the project partners from industry and science in the region of Darmstadt, Kaiserslautern, Karlsruhe, Saarbrucken, and Walldorf. Within the only German software cluster, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is involved in two joint projects.

“The recommendation by the independent jury reflects the success and progress achieved by the Software Cluster in the last two years,” says its spokesman, Professor Lutz Heuser, Chief Executive Officer of the AGT Group. “Due to the close cooperation of industry and science, we have already made a big step towards reaching our objective of establishing the basis for tomorrow’s business software. I am quite sure that the Software Cluster will live up to the confidence the jury has placed in us and that we will be able to complete our contribution to strengthening Germany as a location of industry in the second funding phase.” The recommendation of the jury was based on a review of the results and structures as well as on an interview. Now, the Jülich project management agency, on behalf of the BMBF, announced that the next funding package will be released. Of the total funding volume of 40 millions, the last third can now be disposed of.

Funding under the leading-edge cluster competition has already produced a number of good results in the first two years. Cooperation of large and small enterprises with science in the region gave rise to a number of new permanent cooperative ventures and projects. Major progress was achieved in the scientific fundamental research relating to business software, which is reflected by publications and patent applications of the Software Cluster. For the qualification of expert and executive staff, a certified program on “Emergent Software” was established for training parallel to profession. In addition, the partners cooperate in offering additional qualification certificates under existing master courses of universities and in enhancing top qualification e.g. in the field of IT security. The Cluster actors bundled their resources for international cluster marketing, the objective being to establish a brand standing for German quality in business software. The Software Cluster established permanent relations to partner clusters in South Africa, Brazil, Korea, or China. At the same time, it has an effect in the region itself: More than 150 companies have registered as “partners of the Software Cluster” since early 2012.

KIT is involved in the two joint projects “Fundamentals of Emergent Software (EMERGENT)” and “Innovative Services on the Future Internet (InDiNet)” as well as in two partner projects: “Peer Energy Cloud” deals with efficient energy management by cloud computing. Virtualization of product generation is in the focus of the project “Coupled Company-overlapping Simulation of Mobile Work Machines”.

KIT participates in the Software Cluster due to the excellent research and education in informatics offered under KIT’s COMMputation Focus, in particular by the Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) and the Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI). KIT’s cloud computing research contributes decisively to designing completely new types of IT service offers. These services will enhance cost efficiency and accelerate innovation processes at companies. Other partners in the Cluster are large German business software manufacturers, such as IDS Scheer AG, SAP AG, and Software AG as well as more than 350 small and medium-sized companies in the business software sector and research institutions.

More information:
www.software-cluster.com

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 28.08.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseSuz6∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneYid4∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 133/2012

Software-Cluster geht in die nächste Phase

Spitzencluster treibt technologische und methodische Erforschung und Entwicklung von Softwarelösungen für digitale Unternehmen weiter voran – KIT an zwei Verbundprojekten beteiligt.

Die Grundlagen für die Unternehmenssoftware der Zukunft zu schaffen, ist das Ziel des Software-Clusters, den das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) im Spitzencluster-Wettbewerb ausgezeichnet hat. Auf Empfehlung der internationalen Jury des Wettbewerbs wurde die zweite Förderphase für die Partner aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft der Region rund um Darmstadt, Kaiserslautern, Karlsruhe, Saarbrücken und Walldorf nun freigegeben. Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist im einzigen deutschen Software-Cluster an zwei Verbundprojekten beteiligt.

„Die Empfehlung der unabhängigen Jury ist eine Bestätigung der im Software-Cluster in den letzten zwei Jahren erzielten Erfolge und Fortschritte“, so Clustersprecher Professor Lutz Heuser, Chief Executive Officer der AGT Group. „Durch eine enge Zusammenarbeit von Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft sind wir unserem Ziel, die Grundlagen für die Unternehmenssoftware von morgen zu schaffen, bereits einen großen Schritt näher gekommen. Ich bin mir gewiss, dass der Software-Cluster dem Vertrauen gerecht werden kann, das die Jury in uns legt, und wir in der nun folgenden zweiten Förderphase unseren Beitrag zur Stärkung des Industrie-Standorts Deutschland vollenden können.“ Der Empfehlung waren eine Prüfung der Ergebnisse und Strukturen sowie eine Befragung durch die Jury vorangegangen. Jetzt teilte der Projektträger Jülich im Auftrag des BMBF mit, dass die nächste Förderphase des Software-Clusters freigegeben wird. Damit steht von den 40 Millionen Gesamtförderung im Spitzencluster-Wettbewerb nun auch das letzte Drittel zur Verfügung.

Die Förderung im Rahmen des Spitzencluster-Wettbewerbs hat in den ersten zwei Jahren bereits zu einer Reihe von sehr guten Resultaten geführt. Durch die Zusammenarbeit von großen und kleinen Unternehmen sowie der Wissenschaft in der Region sind zahlreiche neue dauerhafte Kooperationen und Projekte entstanden, zudem sind im Bereich der wissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung zur Unternehmenssoftware von morgen bedeutende Fortschritte erzielt worden, messbar in den Publikationen und Patentanmeldungen des Software-Clusters. Für die Qualifikation von Fach- und Führungskräften wurde ein berufsbegleitender Zertifikatslehrgang „Emergente Software“ eingerichtet, ebenso kooperieren die Partner bei Zusatzzertifikaten in bestehenden Masterstudiengängen der Universitäten und beim Ausbau von Spitzenqualifikationen, wie beispielsweise im Bereich IT-Sicherheit. Die Cluster-Akteure haben zudem ihre Ressourcen für das internationale Cluster-Marketing gebündelt, um eine gemeinsame Marke zu etablieren, die für deutsche Qualität im Bereich Unternehmenssoftware steht. Der Software-Cluster hat so etwa dauerhafte Beziehungen zu Partner-Clustern in Südafrika, Brasilien, Korea oder China etablieren können. Gleichzeitig wirkt der Software-Cluster in die Region hinein: Über 150 Firmen haben sich seit Anfang 2012 als „Partner im Software-Cluster“ registriert.

Das KIT ist an den beiden Verbundprojekten „Grundlagen emergenter Software (EMERGENT)“ und „Innovative Dienstleistungen im zukünftigen Internet (InDiNet)“ beteiligt, außerdem an zwei Partner-Projekten: In „Peer Energy Cloud“ geht es um effizientes Energiemanagement mittels Cloud-Computing. Die Virtualisierung der Produktentstehung ist Thema des Vorhabens „Gekoppelte Unternehmensübergreifende Simulation Mobiler Arbeitsmaschinen“.

Das KIT ist am Software-Cluster aufgrund seiner herausragenden Informatik-Forschung und -Ausbildung im KIT-Schwerpunkt COMMputation beteiligt, vor allem mit dem Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) und dem Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI). Insbesondere mit seiner Forschung zum Cloud Computing liefert das KIT entscheidende Impulse für ganz neue Formen von IT-Dienstangeboten: Sie werden eine bessere Kosteneffizienz und beschleunigte Innovationsprozesse in Unternehmen ermöglichen. Weitere Partner sind große deutsche Hersteller von Unternehmenssoftware wie IDS Scheer AG, SAP AG und Software AG sowie über 350 kleine und mittlere Unternehmen der Unternehmenssoftwarebranche sowie Forschungseinrichtungen.

Weitere Infomationen: www.software-cluster.com

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 28.08.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneKax7∂kit edu