Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseJxu0∂kit edu

Press Release 129/2012

Climate Research: High-tech at 15 Kilometers Height

GLORIA Measures Highly Resolved Distributions of Atmospheric Trace Gases on Board of the New HALO Research Aircraft
HALO hebt ab. Unter dem Rumpf ist der „bellypod“ zu erkennen, in dem das  Infrarotspektrometer GLORIA untergebracht ist. (Foto: KIT)
HALO is taking off. The “bellypod” that accommodates the GLORIA infrared spectrometer can be seen underneath the aircraft fuselage. (Photo: Mahesh Kumar Sha, KIT)

GLORIA, the innovative imaging infrared spectrometer of Karls-ruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), will take part in the first at-mospheric science mission of the new German HALO research aircraft from the Arctic to the Antarctic. On August 20, HALO will be handed over to the scienctific community by Germany’s Federal Minister Professor Annette Schavan. GLORIA, a novel and worldwide unique infrared imaging spectrometer developed jointly by research groups from KIT and Forschungszentrum Jülich, has been installed on board of HALO in a bellypod, a dedicated compartment mounted underneath the aircraft fuselage,. During TACTS, the first atmospheric science mission of HALO , GLORIA will measure climate-relevant atmospheric trace gases with unprecedented spatial coverage and resolution.

GLORIA is the acronym of “Gimballed Limb Observer for Radiance Imaging of the Atmosphere.“ This complicated name refers to a new class  of infrared spectrometers. IR spectrometers decompose thermal radiation emitted by atmospheric gases into its spectral colors. As a result, these gases can be determined very precisely. GLORIA combines an IR detector field with a spectrometer. The result is a type of IR camera, by means of which the spatial distribu-tion of the gases can be measured as well. GLORIA was developed jointly by KIT and Forschungszentrum Jülich under the framework of a large investment program of the Helmholtz Association. It is the first of a new generation of IR instruments worldwide, which are planned to be used on airborne carriers and on board of satellites to improve weather forecast and climate models.

“The GLORIA experiment is central constituent of the HALO-TACTS scientific measurement campaign that is aimed at studying the com-position of the upper troposphere and lowermost stratosphere along with exchange processes between such atmospheric compartments,” explains Hermann Oelhaf, who coordinates the project on the part of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research of KIT. “With GLORIA, we measure temperature, cloud parameters, and a number of climate-relevant trace gases at altitudes from 5 to 15 km with high spatial resolution. Among these gases are carbon dioxide, methane, ozone, and water vapor as well as many nitrogen and chlorine containing compounds.”


Das Infrarotspektrometer GLORIA nach der Montage unter dem Rumpf von HALO. (Foto: KIT)

The GLORIA infrared spectrometer after installation underneath the body of HALO.

(Photo: Mahesh K. Sha, KIT)

 

TACTS (Transport and Composition in the Upper Tropo-sphere/Lowermost Stratosphere) is a measurement campaign over several weeks coordinated by the University of Frankfurt. Measure-ments between Europe and Africa are planned. In addition, meas-urement flights will be made from 80°N to 70°S during the ESMVAL campaign (coordinated by DLR) forvalidating chemistry-climate models. Measurements of two-dimensional distributions by GLORIA will considerably extend the database of the rather locally measuring (in-situ) instruments forming a large part of the HALO payload.

The HALO research aircraft is a joint initiative of German environ-mental and climate research institutions. HALO is financed from funds of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the German Research Foundation (DFG), Helmholtz Association, Max Planck Society (MPG), Leibniz Association, the Free State of Bavaria, the German Research Center for Geosciences GFZ, For-schungszentrum Jülich, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), and the German Aerospace Center (DLR).

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

jh, 20.08.2012

Press contact:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Phone: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldQya0∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseWhg7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 129/2012

Klimaforschung: High-Tech in 15 Kilometern Höhe

GLORIA registriert hoch aufgelöste Verteilungen atmosphärischer Spurengase an Bord des neuen Forschungsflugzeugs HALO
HALO hebt ab. Unter dem Rumpf ist der „bellypod“ zu erkennen, in dem das  Infrarotspektrometer GLORIA untergebracht ist. (Foto: KIT)
HALO hebt ab. Unter dem Rumpf ist der „bellypod“ zu erkennen, in dem das Infrarotspektrometer GLORIA untergebracht ist. (Foto: Mahesh Kumar Sha, KIT)

Mit dem innovativen abbildenden  Infrarotspektrometer GLORIA  beteiligt sich das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) an der ersten wissenschaftlichen Atmosphärenmission des neuen Forschungsflugzeugs HALO von der Arktis bis zur Antarktis. HALO wird am 20. August durch Bundesministerin Professor Annette Schavan an die Wissenschaft übergeben. An Bord von HALO, integriert in den sogenannten „bellypod“, einen Behälter der unter dem Flugzeugrumpf  befestigt ist, fliegt das neuartige und weltweit einzigartige Infrarot-Spektrometer GLORIA, eine gemeinsame Entwicklung von Forschergruppen aus dem KIT und dem Forschungszentrum Jülich. Bei der ersten HALO-Messkampagne TACTS wird GLORIA klimarelevante atmosphärische Spurengase mit bisher unerreichter räumlicher Abdeckung und Auflösung messen.

GLORIA ist die Abkürzung für „Gimballed Limb Observer for Radiance Imaging of the Atmosphere“. Hinter dem komplizierten Namen verbirgt sich ein neuartiges Infrarot-Spektrometer. IR-Spektrometer zerlegen die von den atmosphärischen Gasen ausgesandte Wärmestrahlung in ihre Spektralfarben. Dadurch können diese Gase sehr genau bestimmt werden. Das Neuartige an GLORIA ist die Verknüpfung eines IR-Detektorfeldes mit einem Spektrometer. Das Resultat ist eine Art IR-Kamera, mit der mit einem Schlag auch die räumliche Verteilung der Gase gemessen werden kann. GLORIA wurde am KIT und am Forschungszentrum Jülich im Rahmen einer Ausbauinvestition der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft gemeinsam entwickelt. Es ist weltweit das erste einer neuen Generation von Messinstrumenten, die in Zukunft auch auf Satelliten, zum Beispiel zur Wetterbeobachtung, eingesetzt werden sollen.

„Das Experiment GLORIA  ist zentraler Bestandteil der wissenschaftlichen Messkampagne HALO-TACTS, in der wir die Zusammensetzung der oberen Troposphäre, der untersten Stratosphäre und insbesondere die Austauschprozesse zwischen diesen beiden Atmosphärenschichten untersuchen“, erläutert Hermann Oelhaf, der das Projekt seitens des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung des KIT koordiniert. „Mit GLORIA messen wir dabei Temperatur, Wolkenparameter und eine Vielzahl relevanter Spurengase in Höhen zwischen 5 und 15  Kilometern mit hoher räumlicher Auflösung. Dazu gehören beispielsweise Kohlendioxid, Methan, Ozon und Wasserdampf sowie viele Stickstoff- und Chlorverbindungen.“

Das Infrarotspektrometer GLORIA nach der Montage unter dem Rumpf von HALO. (Foto: KIT)

Das Infrarotspektrometer GLORIA nach der Montage unter dem Rumpf von HALO.

(Foto: Mahesh Kumar Sha, KIT)

 

TACTS (Transport and Composition in the Upper Troposphere/Lowermost Stratosphere) ist eine mehrwöchige Messkampagne unter Federführung der Universität Frankfurt. Dabei sind Messungen zwischen Europa und Afrika vorgesehen. Als Erweiterung werden im Rahmen der ESMVAL-Kampagne (von DLR koordiniert) Messflüge von 80°N bis 70°S durchgeführt, die der Validierung von Chemie-Klimamodellen dienen.  Durch die Messung von zweidimensionalen Verteilungen wird GLORIA die Datenbasis der sonst lokal messenden Instrumente erheblich erweitern.

Das Forschungsflugzeug HALO ist eine Gemeinschaftsinitiative deutscher Umwelt- und Klimaforschungseinrichtungen. Gefördert wird HALO durch Zuwendungen des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG), der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, des Freistaates Bayern, des Deutschen GeoForschungsZentrums GFZ, des Forschungszentrums Jülich, des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

jh, 20.08.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldJjl5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseYrg8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.