Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 128/2012

Nature: Electronic Read-out of Quantum Bits

Quantum State of a Single Atomic Nucleus Can Be Controlled and Determined by Simple Electrodes / Basis of Quantum Computers and Nano Spintronics
Mittels Goldelektroden kontaktiertes TbPc2-Molekül: Elektronen (rot) hüpfen auf das  Molekül und lesen Elektronenspin (orange) und Kernspin (grün) des Terbiums aus.  (Grafik: C. Grupe, KIT)
TbPc2 molecule quantum-bit device. Electrons (red) from the electrodes jump onto the molecule reading out the electronic spin (orange) and the nuclear spin (green) (Graphics: C. Grupe, KIT)

Quantum computers promise to reach computation speeds far beyond that of today’s computers. As they would use quantum effects, however, they would also be susceptible to external interferences. Information flow into and out of the system is a critical point. Researchers from KIT with partners from Grenoble and Strasbourg have now read out the quantum state of an atom directly by using electrodes. In the Nature journal, it is reported about the stable interface between classical and quantum world. (DOI: 10.1038/nature11341)

“Normally, every contact with the outer world changes information in a quantum mechanical system in a completely uncontrolled manner,” explains Professor Mario Ruben from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. “We therefore have to keep the quantum state stable and shielded. On the other hand, information has to be read out in a controlled manner for further use.”

Magnetic molecule complexes may be a solution of this dilemma. In their center, a metal atom with a pronounced magnetic moment, a spin, is located. It is surrounded by organic molecules that shield the atom. “When synthesizing this protective enclosure, we can exactly define how much the metal atom sees of the outer world,” explains Ruben the trick of his research project.

The study presented is based on the metal atom terbium that was provided with an enclosure of about 100 carbon, nitrogen, and water atoms and then placed in the center of nanometer-sized, electric gold contacts. Due to the properties of the molecule, the electrodes had an effect similar to the three channels of a transistor. Electric voltage of the middle gate electrode influenced the current through the other two electrodes. In this way, the working point was set. Then, the molecule was exposed to various changing magnetic fields and the jump of the spin was reflected by the amplitude of the current curve. “By measuring current flow, we found that the nuclear spin of the metal atom is stable for up to 20 seconds,” says Ruben. “For quantum mechanical processes, this is a very long time.”  

Ruben is sure that “the results will be of particular importance to spintronics and quantum computing.” Spintronics uses the magnetic spin of single particles for information processing. The word describes the symbiosis of spin and electronics. Quantum computers use quantum mechanical effects, such as the entanglement and super-position of spins, for the parallel execution of algorithms at high speed.

The Publication:
“Electronic read-out of a single nuclear spin using a molecular spin-transistor”, R. Vincent et. al., Nature, vol. 488, issue 7411, pp 357-360, doi: 10.1038/nature11341

For further information to the topic please also read:
„Real-space observation of spin-split molecular orbitals of adsorbed single-molecule magnets" J. Schwöbel et. al. Nature Comms. 2, 2012, DOI: 10.1038/ncomms1953.
http://www.nature.com/ncomms/journal/v3/n7/full/ncomms1953.html  

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 16.08.2012

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneDut7∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseEmm4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 128/2012

Nature: Quantenbits elektronisch auslesen

Mittels einfacher Elektroden lässt sich der quantenmechanische Zustand eines einzelnen Atomkerns steuern und bestimmen / Grundlage für Quantencomputer und Nano-Spintronik
Mittels Goldelektroden kontaktiertes TbPc2-Molekül: Elektronen (rot) hüpfen auf das  Molekül und lesen Elektronenspin (orange) und Kernspin (grün) des Terbiums aus.  (Grafik: C. Grupe, KIT)
Mittels Goldelektroden kontaktiertes TbPc2-Molekül: Elektronen (rot) hüpfen auf das Molekül und lesen Elektronenspin (orange) und Kernspin (grün) des Terbiums aus. (Grafik: C. Grupe, KIT)

Quantencomputer versprechen Rechengeschwindigkeiten, die weit jenseits der Geschwindigkeit heutiger Computer liegen. Da sie Quanteneffekte nutzen würden, sind sie aber auch anfällig für Störungen von außen und der Informationsfluss in und aus dem System ist ein kritischer Punkt. Nun haben Forscher vom KIT mit Partnern aus Grenoble und Straßburg den Quantenzustand eines Atoms mittels Elektroden direkt ausgelesen. Über die stabile Schnittstelle von klassischer und Quantenwelt berichten sie nun in der Zeitschrift Nature. (DOI: 10.1038/nature11341)

„Normalerweise verändert jeder Kontakt mit der Außenwelt die Informationen in einem quantenmechanischen System völlig unkontrolliert“, erläutert Professor Mario Ruben vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). „Wir müssen den quantenmechanischen Zustand also einerseits stabil und abgeschirmt halten, aber andererseits irgendwann die Information kontrolliert auslesen, um sie nutzen zu können.“

Ein Weg aus dem Dilemma scheinen magnetische Molekülkomplexe zu sein. In ihrer Mitte liegt ein Metallatom, das über ein ausgeprägtes magnetisches Moment, einen Spin, verfügt. Es ist umgeben von organischen Molekülen, die es abschirmen. „Bei der Synthese der Schutzhülle können wir recht exakt festlegen, wie viel das Metallatom von der Außenwelt sieht“, erklärt Ruben den Kniff seiner Forschung.

In der vorliegenden Studie wurde das Metallatom Terbium mit einem Mantel aus rund 100 Kohlenstoff-, Stickstoff- und Wasserstoffatomen umgeben und anschließend zwischen nanometergroße, elektrische Kontakte platziert. Aufgrund der Eigenschaften des Moleküls wirkten die Elektroden nach außen ähnlich wie die drei Kanäle eines Transistors. Die elektrische Spannung der mittleren Elektrode beeinflusste den Strom durch die anderen beiden. Dies wurde genutzt, um den Arbeitspunkt einzustellen. Dann wurde das Molekül verschiedenen sich ändernden Magnetfeldern ausgesetzt und das Umspringen des Spins anhand der Ausschläge in der Stromkurve beobachtet. „Mittels der Messung des Stromflusses konnten wir zeigen, dass der Kernspin des Metallatoms bis zu 20 Sekunden stabil ist, bis er umschlägt“, sagt Ruben. „Für quantenmechanische Vorgänge ist dies eine Ewigkeit.“

„Diese Ergebnisse werden der Spintronik und dem Quantencomputing neue Impulse geben“, ist sich Ruben sicher. Die Spintronik nutzt den magnetischen Spin einzelner Teilchen für die Informationsverarbeitung. Das Wort beschreibt die Symbiose von Spin und Elektronik. Quantencomputer nutzen quantenmechanische Effekte, wie etwa Verschränkung und Superposition von Spins, die es erlauben, Algorithmen parallel mit hoher Geschwindigkeit durchzuführen.

Die Veröffentlichung:
“Electronic read-out of a single nuclear spin using a molecular spin-transistor”, R. Vincent et. al., Nature, vol. 488, issue 7411, pp 357-360, doi: 10.1038/nature11341
www.nature.com/



Weitere aktuelle Veröffentlichung zu diesem Thema:
„Real-space observation of spin-split molecular orbitals of adsorbed single-molecule magnets", J. Schwöbel et. al. Nature Comms. 2, 2012, DOI: 10.1038/ncomms1953
http://www.nature.com/ncomms/journal/v3/n7/full/ncomms1953.html

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 16.08.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneKfm0∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseGcr7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.