Press Release 126/2012

KIT and Schaeffler: Solutions for a Mobile Future

Collaborative Research Project: Schaeffler Will Be “Company on Campus“ – Collaboration to Focus on Hybrid and All-electric Drive Systems
Unterzeichneten das MoU: Professor Peter Gutzmer von der Schaeffler AG, Dr. Peter Fritz und Dr. Ulrich Breuer vom KIT (v.l.n.r.).  (Foto: Gabi Zachmann, KIT)
Signatories of the MoU: Professor Peter Gutzmer, Schaeffler AG, Dr. Peter Fritz and Dr. Ulrich Breuer, KIT, (from left to right). (Photo: Gabi Zachmann, KIT)

Today, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and Schaeffler AG signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) for a collaborative research project. Schaeffler and KIT will investigate future-oriented issues relating to mobility and develop pertinent solutions. In this way, new standards will be set for collaboration in research, development, and early industrialization of hybrid and all-electric drive systems and their components in order to meet future mobility requirements.

 

Dr. Peter Fritz, KIT Vice President of Research and Innovation, and Dr. Ulrich Breuer, KIT Vice President of Finance and Business Affairs, as well as Professor Peter Gutzmer, CTO of Schaeffler AG, today signed the MoU on KIT Campus East. This mutual declaration specifies key elements of a future contract.

 

“This partnership with a leading institution like KIT will open a new chapter in Schaeffler’s collaboration with universities,” says Professor Peter Gutzmer. The globally active automotive and industry supplier will be present on KIT Campus East according to the “Company-on-Campus” concept and deploy employees in the “Schaeffler E-lab at KIT”. This will ensure direct, intensive, and result-oriented cooperation. Initially, a team comprising five employees from Schaeffler and KIT each will be formed. Research topics will be controlled by a joint steering group. As a special advantage, the expertise and infrastructure facilities of both partners, e.g. test stands, laboratories, and knowledge networks, can be used in synergy. “The ‘Schaeffler E-lab at KIT’ will provide an attractive working environment for development engineers, economists, humanists, social scientists, and system-oriented scientists,” says Dr. Peter Fritz, KIT Vice President of Research and Innovation.

 

Collaboration will further expand cross-disciplinary, application-relevant research of the KIT Mobility Systems Center and, thus, strengthen innovation at KIT. In particular, research aspects and requirements for sustainable electric mobility will be investigated, developed, and evaluated directly on the new systems of Schaeffler AG much quicker than it has been possible so far. “This will strengthen systems, methods, and process research of KIT in the areas of electric mobility and drive systems,” says Fritz.

 

KIT’s expertise in the field of electric mobility, the existing infastructure, and the vicinity to the Bühl location were the most important reasons for Schaeffler’s decision to collaborate with KIT. “Collaboration in Karlsruhe will also strengthen Schaeffler’s traditional location and LuK headquarters in Bühl, which were established in 1965,” says Professor Peter Gutzmer.“

 

I am very pleased that we have been able to win KIT, a leading institute of technology in Germany, as cooperation partner. This will enable Schaeffler to carry out long-term projects in a university environment. I am sure that together we will be able to set new trends for future mobility,” summarizes Professor Peter Gutzmer.

 

About Schaeffler

 

Schaeffler with its product brands INA, LuK, and FAG is a worldwide leading manufacturer of roller bearing and plain bearing solutions and of linear and direct drive technologies as well as a renowned supplier of high-precision products and systems for engines, transmissions, and chassis applications to automotive industry. The globally active group of companies generated sales of approx. 10.7 billion Euros in 2011. With about 74,000 employees worldwide, Schaeffler is one of the largest German and European industrial companies owned by a family. With 180 locations in over 50 countries, Schaeffler has a worldwide network of manufacturing locations, research and development facilities, sales companies, engineering offices, and training centers.

 

The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 40 KIT institutes with about 800 employees are working on methodological and technical fundamentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to develop concepts, technologies, methods, and processes for future mobility considering the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, infrastructure, and society.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 31.07.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseHul8∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneCnr1∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseAdt6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 126/2012

KIT und Schaeffler: Lösungen für eine mobile Zukunft

Forschungskooperation: Schaeffler wird „Company on campus“ – hybride und vollelektrische Antriebe im Fokus der Zusammenarbeit
Unterzeichneten das MoU: Professor Peter Gutzmer von der Schaeffler AG, Dr. Peter Fritz und Dr. Ulrich Breuer vom KIT (v.l.n.r.).  (Foto: Gabi Zachmann, KIT)
Unterzeichneten das MoU: Professor Peter Gutzmer von der Schaeffler AG, Dr. Peter Fritz und Dr. Ulrich Breuer vom KIT (v.l.n.r.). (Foto: Gabi Zachmann, KIT)

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und die Schaeffler AG haben heute ein „Memorandum of Understanding“ (MoU) zu einer Forschungskooperation unterzeichnet. Schaeffler und KIT werden zukunftsorientierte Fragen auf dem Gebiet der Mobilität bearbeiten sowie Lösungen entwickeln. So sollen neue Standards der Zusammenarbeit in Forschung, Entwicklung und einer frühen Industrialisierung hybrider und vollelektrischer Antriebssysteme und deren Komponenten gesetzt werden, um den Anforderungen zukünftiger Mobilität gerecht zu werden.

Dr. Peter Fritz, Vizepräsident für Forschung und Innovation des KIT, und Dr. Ulrich Breuer, Vizepräsident für Wirtschaft und Finanzen des KIT, sowie Professor Peter Gutzmer, Vorstand Forschung und Entwicklung der Schaeffler AG, haben das MoU heute am KIT-Campus Ost unterzeichnet. Diese gegenseitige Absichtserklärung legt die Eckpunkte eines zukünftigen Vertrages fest.

„Für Schaeffler eröffnet die Verbindung mit einer führenden Einrichtung wie dem KIT ein neues Kapitel in der Zusammenarbeit mit Hochschulen“, sagt Professor Peter Gutzmer. Der global agierende Automobil- und Industriezulieferer wird nach dem „Company-on-Campus“-Konzept auf dem KIT-Campus Ost präsent sein und Mitarbeiter im „Schaeffler E-Lab am KIT“ einsetzen. Das gewährleiste eine direkte, intensive und ergebnisorientierte Zusammenarbeit. Zunächst wird ein Team aus jeweils fünf Mitarbeitern von Schaeffler und KIT gebildet. Die inhaltliche Steuerung erfolgt über einen gemeinsamen Steuerkreis. Ein besonderer Vorteil ist, Kompetenzen und Infrastrukturen beider Partner wie Prüfstände, Labore und Wissensnetzwerke synergetisch nutzen zu können. „Mit dem ‚Schaeffler E-Lab am KIT’ entsteht ein attraktives Arbeitsumfeld für Entwicklungsingenieure, Ökonomen, Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftler sowie systemorientierte Wissenschaftler“, sagt Dr. Peter Fritz, KIT-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Innovation.

Die Kooperation baut die Disziplinen übergreifende, anwendungsrelevante Forschung des KIT-Zentrums Mobilitätssysteme weiter aus – und stärkt damit vor allem auch die Innovation am KIT. So lassen sich insbesondere die Forschungsaspekte und -bedarfe für die zukunftsfähige Elektromobilität direkt an den neuen Systemen der Schaeffler AG bearbeiten, entwickeln und noch schneller als bisher evaluieren. „Damit wird die System-, Methoden- und Prozessforschung des KIT in der E-Mobilität und in der Antriebstechnik insgesamt gestärkt“, so Fritz.

Die Expertise des KIT auf dem Gebiet der E-Mobilität, die vorhandene Infrastruktur, sowie die räumliche und inhaltliche Nähe zum Standort Bühl waren die wesentlichen Gründe von Schaeffler, sich für die Kooperation mit dem KIT zu entscheiden. „Mit der Kooperation in Karlsruhe erfährt auch der traditionsreiche, 1965 gegründete Schaeffler-Standort und LuK-Sitz in Bühl eine Stärkung“, so Professor Peter Gutzmer.

„Ich freue mich sehr, dass wir das KIT als ein führendes technologisches Institut in Deutschland als Kooperationspartner gewinnen konnten. Schaeffler kann so auch längerfristig angelegte Projekte im universitären Umfeld durchführen. Ich bin sicher, dass wir gemeinsam neue Akzente für die zukünftige Mobilität setzen werden“, fasst  Professor Peter Gutzmer zusammen.


Zu Schaeffler
Schaeffler ist mit seinen Marken INA, LuK und FAG ein weltweit führender Anbieter von Wälz- und Gleitlagerlösungen, Linear- und Direktantriebstechnologie sowie ein renommierter Zulieferer der Automobilindustrie für Präzisionskomponenten und Systeme in Motor, Getriebe und Fahrwerk. Die global agierende Unternehmensgruppe erwirtschaftete im Jahr 2011 einen Umsatz von rund 10,7 Mrd. Euro. Mit rund 74.000 Mitarbeitern weltweit ist Schaeffler eines der größten deutschen und europäischen Industrieunternehmen in Familienbesitz. Schaeffler verfügt mit 180 Standorten in über 50 Ländern über ein weltweites Netz aus Produktionsstandorten, Forschungs- und Entwicklungs-einrichtungen, Vertriebsgesellschaften, Ingenieurbüros sowie Schulungszentren.



Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, Konzepte, Technologien, Methoden und Prozesse für die Mobilität der Zukunft zu erarbeiten. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr, Infrastruktur und Gesellschaft.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 31.07.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneFut3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseDpq2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.