Press Release 125/2012

ELISE Promotes Electric Mobility

Leading-edge Cluster Electromobility South-West Starts Joint Project at KIT
Projekt ELISE: Datengateway für Elektrofahrzeuge (Abbildung: RA Consulting)
ELISE project: Data gateway for electric vehicles. (Figure: RA Consulting) (Inscriptions: Betreiber = Operator, Web-Services = Web services, Flotte = Fleet)

The ELISE joint project at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is aimed at making electric vehicles more reliable and economically efficient in order to establish electric mobility on the market. The project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Research under the leading-edge cluster Electromobility South-West. KIT researchers cooperate with the companies of RA Consulting and CarMediaLab. ELISE focuses on concepts for data processing in the vehicle, an independent charging unit as well as on studies of interactions of driver, vehicle, and the environment.  

The question of which range can be covered with one battery charge, together with the anxiety that the battery runs empty while driving on a road, make many users hesitate to buy an electric vehicle. Up to now, recharging the empty battery depends on the availability of a public energy grid or a public charging station in the vicinity. To increase energy transmission options, e.g. from vehicle to vehicle, systems would have to act more independently. ELISE – this German acronym stands for Autonomous Charging Unit and System-integrated Data Gateway for Electric Vehicles – is aimed at providing the necessary products and functions, at improving operation safety, and soothing anxieties of users. ELISE covers a hardware and software unit integrated in the car, which acquires and processes data on the vehicle, its state of operation, and the environment in real time in order to allow for the location-independent use of services. This telematics platform (data gateway) can be configured for various applications and connected via an interface with a conventional mobile device, e.g. a smart phone, to display application-specific information. Secondly, ELISE is aimed at designing an autonomous charging and discharging unit that will be integrated in the vehicle. This unit is to facilitate emergency charging between two vehicles, similar to a jumper cable.
 
Thirdly, researchers will develop new concepts based on vehicle remote diagnosis, position determination, and user behavior for a more efficient and accelerated development of electric vehicles and their components. From a holistic perspective, scientists study the interaction of driver, vehicle, and the environment. IPEK, the Institute of Product Engineering of KIT, concentrates on the partial project “Methods Research and Validation (MeValdi)”. It deals with market-oriented product ideas, specific requirements, product design, and client-oriented product validation. Research of IPEK under the ELISE project is part of the activities of the KIT Mobility Systems Center in the Leading-edge Cluster South-West.  

ELISE is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) for a period of three years. Partners of the interdisciplinary project are KIT and the companies RA Consulting GmbH and CarMediaLab GmbH, which are both located in the Karlsruhe Technology Region.

The project is part of the Leading-edge Cluster Electromobility South-West which is considered one of the most important regional clusters in the field of electromobility with about 80 actors. The Landesagentur für Elektromobilität und Brennstoffzellentechnologie (e-mobil BW GmbH, State Agency for Electric Mobility and Fuel Cell Technology) coordinates all activities of the cluster and ensures optimum networking of the partners active in the fields of vehicle technology, energy technology, information and communication technology, and production engineering.


The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 40 KIT institutes with about 800 employees are working on methodological and technical fundamentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to develop concepts, technologies, methods, and processes for future mobility considering the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, infrastructure, and society.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 26.07.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseEuj7∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneBfs3∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 125/2012

ELISE bringt Elektroautos voran

Spitzencluster Elektromobilität Süd-West startet mit Verbundprojekt am KIT
Projekt ELISE: Datengateway für Elektrofahrzeuge (Abbildung: RA Consulting)
Projekt ELISE: Datengateway für Elektrofahrzeuge (Abbildung: RA Consulting)

Elektrofahrzeuge zuverlässiger und wirtschaftlicher zu machen, um die Elektromobilität am Markt zu etablieren, ist Ziel des Verbundprojekts ELISE, das jetzt am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) gestartet ist. In dem vom Bundesforschungsministerium im Spitzencluster Elektromobilität Süd-West geförderten Projekt arbeiten Forscher des KIT mit den Unternehmen RA Consulting und CarMediaLab zusammen. ELISE umfasst Konzepte zur Datenverarbeitung im Fahrzeug, eine unabhängige Ladeeinheit sowie Untersuchungen zu Wechselwirkungen zwischen Fahrer, Fahrzeug und Umwelt.

Die Frage, wie weit eine Batterieladung reicht, verbunden mit der Befürchtung, wegen eines zu geringen Ladezustands liegen zu bleiben, lässt derzeit noch viele Nutzer zögern, auf ein Elektrofahrzeug umzusteigen. Bis jetzt hängt das Wiederbeladen davon ab, dass das Fahrzeug an ein Energieversorgernetz oder an eine öffentliche Ladesäule angeschlossen wird. Um die Möglichkeiten der Energieübertragung zu erweitern, beispielsweise von Fahrzeug zu Fahrzeug, müssten die Systeme unabhängiger agieren können. ELISE – die Abkürzung steht für „Autonome Ladeeinheit und systemintegrierter Daten-Gateway für Elektrofahrzeuge“ – zielt darauf, die dafür erforderlichen Produkte und Funktionen bereitzustellen, die Betriebssicherheit zu erhöhen und mögliche Nutzervorbehalte abzubauen. ELISE umfasst erstens eine in das Fahrzeug integrierte Hardware- und Software-Einheit, die Daten zum Fahrzeug, zum Betriebszustand und zur Umgebung in Echtzeit erfasst und verarbeitet, um die ortsunabhängige Nutzung von Dienstleistungen zu ermöglichen: Diese Telematik-Plattform (Daten-Gateway) lässt sich für unterschiedliche Anwendungen konfigurieren sowie über eine Schnittstelle mit einem marktüblichen mobilen Gerät – etwa einem Smartphone – verbinden, um anwendungsspezifische Informationen anzuzeigen. Zweitens entsteht im Rahmen von ELISE eine ebenfalls in das Fahrzeug integrierte autonom agierende Lade- und Entladeeinheit, die beispielsweise eine Notbeladung zwischen zwei Fahrzeugen ermöglicht – vergleichbar mit einer Starthilfe.
 
Drittens erarbeiten Forscher in ELISE neue Konzepte auf der Grundlage von Fahrzeugferndiagnose, Positionsermittlung und Nutzerverhalten, um die Entwicklung von Elektrofahrzeugen und deren Komponenten nachhaltig effizienter zu gestalten und zu beschleunigen. Aus ganzheitlicher Perspektive untersuchen sie die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Fahrer, Fahrzeug und Umwelt. Das IPEK – Institut für Produktentwicklung des KIT bearbeitet das Teilprojekt „Methodenerforschung und Validierung (MeValdi)“. Dieses befasst sich mit marktorientierten Produktideen, spezifischen Anforderungen, Produktdesign sowie kundenorientierter Produktvalidierung. Die Forschungsarbeiten des IPEK im Projekt ELISE sind Teil der Aktivitäten des KIT-Zentrums Mobilitätssysteme im Spitzencluster Süd-West.
 
Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) fördert ELISE für drei Jahre. Partner des interdisziplinären Projekts sind das KIT sowie die Unternehmen RA Consulting GmbH und CarMediaLab GmbH aus der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe.
 
Das Projekt ist Teil des Spitzenclusters Elektromobilität Süd-West, der mit rund 80 Akteuren aus Industrie und Wissenschaft als einer der bedeutendsten regionalen Verbünde auf dem Gebiet der Elektromobilität gilt. Für die optimale Vernetzung der verschiedenen Clusterpartner aus den Bereichen Fahrzeugtechnologie, Energietechnologie, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie (IKT) sowie dem Querschnittsfeld Produktionstechnologie sorgt die Landesagentur für Elektromobilität und Brennstoffzellentechnologie (e-mobil BW GmbH), die als Clustermanagement alle Aktivitäten koordiniert.




Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, Konzepte, Technologien, Methoden und Prozesse für die Mobilität der Zukunft zu erarbeiten. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr, Infrastruktur und Gesellschaft.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 26.07.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneBhe8∂kit edu