Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Press Release 122/2012

Seismometer Tested for Use on the Moon and Mars

Geophysical Instrument Is Tested at the Joint Geoscientifc Observatory of KIT and Stuttgart University
VBB-Seismometer wie dieser Prototyp werden für ihren Mond- und Marseinsatz derzeit am Black Forest Observatorium getestet
VBB seismometers, such as this prototype, are tested at the Black Forest Observatory for use on the moon and mars. (Photo: Rudolf Widmer-Schnidrig)

The SELENE2 international mission is aimed at studying local moonquakes as well as gravitation accelerations of the earth and moon. For this purpose, several seismometers will be installed on the moon. These devices were developed by an international team of researchers. Their tests by scientists of the Black Forest Observatory Schiltach (BFO), a joint facility of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and Stuttgart University, will be completed on Friday, July 20. In addition to this moon mission, the devices will also be used during the NASA’s Insight mission on the Mars.

Time and again, local quakes occur on the moon. Knowledge of their origin and intensity is required for the safe construction of moon bases for astronauts or for drawing conclusions with respect to the inner structure of the moon. To study moonquakes and the effects of gravitation accelerations, a set of several seismometers is planned to be installed on the surface of the moon during the SELENE2 Japanese moon mission.

The key component of this geophysical mission is a new very broad-band (VBB) seismometer developed by scientists of the Institut de Physique du Globe (IPGP), Paris, in cooperation with ETH Zurich and the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research. The VBB seismometer is to cover the complete signal spectrum from highly frequent local moonquakes to gravitation accelerations of the earth and moon. In addition, three short-period seismometers of the Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) will be used to measure highly frequent quakes in all three spatial directions. The VBB seismometer will also be applied on the Mars during the Insight mission of the American Space Agency NASA. The astronauts will use the devices to observe marsquakes, response accelerations of the planet possibly caused by quakes or turbulences in the Mars atmosphere, and the gravity effect of the Mars satellite Phobos.

Until Friday, July 20, constructors of the SELENE2 mission (IPGP, JAXA, MPS) will test the moon seismometers at the Black Forest Joint Observatory (BFO), a facility of KIT and Stuttgart University. “Test conditions at BFO are unique worldwide,” says KIT scientist and BFO employee Dr. Thomas Forbriger. Due to its remote location in a closed mine, the observatory is one of the calmest stations of the global seismological network, which is hardly influenced by disturbances. “Moreover, the BFO, with its instruments that have been operated for a long time already, defines the sensitivity that can be achieved for seismic measurements on earth. The BFO instruments are considered the standard for all newly developed measurement instruments worldwide.” On Tuesday, July 17, and Wednesday, July 18, the seismometers will be installed in a vacuum chamber to simulate conditions on the moon and test the devices for their suitability.

The SELENE2 mission is planned to follow geophysical studies under the APOLLO program: Between 1969 and 1972, astronauts installed a seismometer network on the moon surface in order to detect quakes. According to the results, there are four different types of moonquakes: Quakes at around 700 km below the moon surface, effects of comet or asteroid impacts, eruptions caused by rapid heating of the surface, and moonquakes 20 to 30 kilometers below the moon surface.

As the VBB seismometer possesses a much higher sensitivity than the instruments used during the APOLLO mission, scientists hope to gain new insights into the inner structure of the moon and the Mars, which may help determine the size and composition of the moon or Mars core or the detailed mantle structure.

The Black Forest Joint Observatory is a facility of KIT and Stuttgart University. At the observatory, scientists study and optimize geophysical observation methods and the instruments used for this purpose and they investigate natural oscillations of the earth to determine material properties deep inside.

Further information: http://www.gpi.kit.edu/BFO.php

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

sk, 11.07.2012

For further information, please contact:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtJzv4∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseRit4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 122/2012

Seismometer für den Mond- und Marseinsatz im Test

Das geophysikalische Messgerät wird für seinen Einsatz derzeit am Geowissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaftsobservatorium des KIT und der Universität Stuttgart geprüft
VBB-Seismometer wie dieser Prototyp werden für ihren Mond- und Marseinsatz derzeit am Black Forest Observatorium getestet
VBB-Seismometer wie dieser Prototyp werden für ihren Mond- und Marseinsatz derzeit am Black Forest Observatorium getestet (Foto: Rudolf Widmer-Schnidrig)

Lokale Mondbeben sowie Gravitationsbeschleunigungen von Erde und Mond untersuchen – dies unter anderem ist Ziel der internationalen Mission SELENE2, bei der mehrere Seismometer auf dem Mond installiert werden. Ein internationales Forscherteam hat die Geräte entwickelt, die Wissenschaftler noch bis Freitag, 20. Juli, am Black Forest Observatorium Schiltach (BFO), einer gemeinsamen Einrichtung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und der Universität Stuttgart, für ihren Einsatz bei der Mondmission testen. Die Geräte werden zudem bei der Insight-Mission der NASA auf dem Mars eingesetzt.

 

Der Mond wird immer wieder durch lokale Beben erschüttert – Erkenntnisse über deren Ursprung und Stärke sind wichtig, um beispielsweise Mondbasen für Astronauten bebensicher aufbauen zu können oder Rückschlüsse über den inneren Aufbau des Monds zu erhalten. Um die Beben und auch die Auswirkungen der Gravitationsbeschleunigungen, also der Schwerkraft, zu untersuchen, soll bei der japanischen Mondmission SELENE2 ein Instrumentenpaket mit mehreren Seismometern auf der Mondoberfläche installiert werden.

Das Kernstück dieser geophysikalischen Mission ist ein neu entwickeltes, sehr breitbandiges (Very Broad Band, VBB) Seismometer, das Wissenschaftler am Institut de Physique du Globe in Paris (IPGP) in Kooperation mit der ETH Zürich und dem Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung entwickelt haben. Das VBB-Seismometer soll das ganze Signalspektrum von sehr häufigen lokalen Mondbeben bis hin zu den Gravitationsbeschleunigungen von Erde und Mond abdecken. Ergänzend kommen drei kurzperiodische Seismometer der japanischen Raumfahrtbehörde Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) hinzu, mit denen hochfrequente Erschütterungen in alle drei Raumrichtungen gemessen werden sollen. Zudem kommt das VBB-Seismometer bei der Insight-Mission der amerikanischen Weltraumbehörde NASA auf dem Mars zum Einsatz: Die Wissenschaftler beobachten mithilfe der Geräte Marsbeben, die Eigenschwingungen des Planeten, welche möglicherweise durch Beben oder durch Turbulenzen in der Marsatmosphäre angeregt werden sowie die Schwerewirkung des Marstrabanten Phobos.

Noch bis Freitag, 20. Juli, testen die Konstrukteure der SELENE2-Mission (IPGP, JAXA, MPS) die Mondseismometer am Black Forest Gemeinschaftsobservatorium (BFO), einer Einrichtung des KIT und der Universität Stuttgart, auf ihre Tauglichkeit. „Die Testbedingungen am BFO sind weltweit einmalig“, sagt der KIT-Wissenschaftler und BFO-Mitarbeiter Dr. Thomas Forbriger. Denn die Einrichtung gehöre mit ihrer abgeschiedenen Lage in einem stillgelegten Bergwerk einerseits zu den ruhigsten, von Störquellen kaum beeinflussten Stationen des globalen seismologischen Netzwerkes. „Zudem definiert das BFO mit seinem langjährig betriebenen Instrumentarium die erreichbare Empfindlichkeit für seismische Messungen auf der Erde, die Instrumente am BFO gelten somit weltweit als Standardgröße.“ Am Dienstag, 17. Juli und Mittwoch, 18. Juli, werden die Seismometer in eine Vakuumkammer eingebaut, mit der die Wissenschaftler die Bedingungen auf dem Mond bestmöglich simulieren und so die Geräte auf ihre Einsatzbereitschaft prüfen können.

Mit der SELENE2-Mission knüpfen die Wissenschaftler an die geophysikalischen Untersuchungen des APOLLO-Programms an: Zwischen 1969 und 1972 hatten Astronauten bereits ein Seismometer-Netzwerk auf der Mondoberfläche installiert, um Beben zu registrieren. Die Messergebnisse hatten damals ergeben, dass es vier verschiedene Arten von Mondbeben gibt: Beben um 700 Kilometer unter der Mondoberfläche, Nachwirkungen eines Kometen- oder Asteroideneinschlags, Ausbrüche, die durch eine rasche Erhitzung der Oberfläche ausgelöst werden sowie Mondbeben, die nur 20 bis 30 Kilometer unter der Mondoberfläche passieren.

Insbesondere vom VBB-Seismometer mit einer im Vergleich zu den bei der APOLLO-Mission eingesetzten Instrumenten erheblich vergrößerten Empfindlichkeit erhoffen sich die Wissenschaftler nun neue Einblicke ins Innere des Mondes und des Marsplaneten, die zur Lösung derzeit offener Fragen wie etwa zur Größe und Zusammensetzung des Mond- beziehungsweise Marskerns oder zur detaillierten Mantelstruktur beitragen können.

Das Black Forest Gemeinschaftsobservatorium ist eine Einrichtung des KIT und der Universität Stuttgart. Am Observatorium untersuchen und optimieren die Wissenschaftler unter anderem geophysikalische Beobachtungsverfahren und die dazu verwendeten Instrumente oder erforschen die freien Eigenschwingungen der Erde zur Bestimmung der Materialeigenschaften im tiefen Erdinneren.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.gpi.kit.edu/BFO.php

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

sk, 11.07.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtIri9∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseVtt6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.