Press Release 117/2012

Manfred Thumm Is Granted 2012 Heinrich Hertz Prize

EnBW and KIT Honor Physicist for His Research into Microwave Technology

Today, the EnBW Foundation, together with Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), will hand over the Heinrich Hertz Prize to Professor Manfred Thumm. The former Head of the Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology (IHM) of KIT receives the prize in the amount of EUR 10,000 for his scientific work related to the generation, transportation, and conversion of high and highest microwave powers for fusion research. Its objective is the development of a permanent, safe, and low-CO2 energy source capable of supplying base load power.

The prize will be handed over by Dr. Hans-Josef Zimmer, Chief Technical Officer of EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG, and KIT President Professor Eberhard Umbach on the Day of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology of KIT that will be organized today from 15 hrs at the Tulla-Hörsaal on KIT Campus South (Englerstraße 11, building 11.40). The EnBW Foundation and KIT, formerly Universität Karlsruhe (TH), have been granting the Heinrich Hertz Prize since 1975 for special scientific or technical achievements in the field of generation, distribution, and application of electric energy or for other application-oriented research activities.  

Manfred Thumm is an internationally acknowledged expert in the area of energy generation by nuclear fusion. His merits in research and education in particular comprise contributions in plasma physics and high-power microwave technology. “I am extremely proud of this prize, because my lecturing work at KIT was associated with Heinrich Hertz,” says Professor Manfred Thumm. “In the 1880s, Hertz for the first time succeeded in detecting electromagnetic waves using his high-frequency measurement technique at the Karlsruhe Polytechnical School. From 1991 to 2011, I lectured on “Microwave Measurement Technology” and published the corresponding handbook together with two colleagues.”

High-power microwave technology covers the generation, transport, diagnosis, and application of high and highest microwave powers and contributes decisively to fusion research. Research into nuclear fusion is aimed at developing a nearly inexhaustible, safe, and low-CO2 energy source capable of supplying base load power and having the potential of reaching a major share in the energy mix of the future. Fusion of atomic nuclei produces large amounts of energy. Present nuclear power plants apply nuclear fission for energy production. In special fusion power plants, plasmas, i.e. gases with free charge carriers, are heated up to more than 110 million degrees Celsius. The high heating powers required are reached by electron cyclotron resonance heating. The confined plasma absorbs the energy required from irradiated microwave power at very high frequencies of 140 to 170 gigahertz. With his scientific work over more than 35 years, Manfred Thumm decisively contributed to establishing cyclotron resonance heating as an integral constituent of future fusion power plants. In close cooperation with the Institute of Plasma Research of the University of Stuttgart and the company of Thales Electron Devices (TED), Manfred Thumm was the first to develop gyrotron tubes to maturity. These gyrotron tubes are generators of short-wave microwaves of highest performance. Thumm also contributed decisively to the experimental facilities of Wendelstein 7-X at Greifswald and ITER at Cadarache, France. Both facilities promote the development of future fusion reactors.

A photo of the price ceremony may be requested by mail topresseGzu0∂kit edu or by phone +49 721 608-47414.


About the Person

Manfred Thumm, born in 1943, studied physics at the University of Tübingen from 1966 to 1972 and received his doctorate with distinction in experimental nuclear physics in 1976. Then, he was member of the scientific staff and from 1982, head of a working group at the Institute of Plasma Research of the University of Stuttgart. In 1990, he moved to Karlsruhe and was appointed Professor of Microwave Technology at the Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik und Elektronik (IHE, Institute of Highest-frequency Technology and Electronics) of the then Universität Karlsruhe (TH). At the then Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, he headed the Division of Gyrotron Development and Microwave Technology of the Institute of Technical Physics (ITEP). From 1999 to 2011, he headed the Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology (IHM) of Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe and the later KIT. Manfred Thumm is specially committed to national and international cooperation in fusion research. Among others, he is member of the Technical Commission “Vacuum Electronics and Displays” of the Information Technology Society (ITG) of the Association for Electrical, Electronic and Information Technologies (VDE). He chaired this commission from 1996 to 1999. He is member of the Coordinating Committee for the Development Programme of Electron Cyclotron Wave Systems for ITER of the Commission of the European Communities, EURATOM, in Brussels and of the International Advisory Committee of the worldwide Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Among his numerous distinctions are the Honorary Doctorate of the Technical University of St. Petersburg (2002), the Kenneth John Button Prize and Medal of the London Institute of Physics (2000) as well as the IEEE Fellowship (2002). Last year, Manfred Thumm was awarded the Plasma Physics Innovation Prize of the European Physical Society (EPS). Thumm is presently heading the project “Laboratory of Advanced Research on Millimeter Wave and Terahertz Radiation“ at Novosibirsk State University, which is funded with EUR 3.2 million by the Russian
government. Manfred Thumm has published four books, 270 articles in journals, and 1200 contributions to proceedings. In addition, he holds twelve patents relating to active and passive microwave components.

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. The KIT Energy Center pools fundamental research with applied research into all relevant energy sources for industry, households, services, and mobility. Holistic assessment of the energy cycle also covers conversion processes and energy efficiency. The KIT Energy Center links excellent competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis.
Research, education, and innovation at KIT foster the energy turnaround and reorganization of the energy system in Germany. Clear priorities lie in the areas of energy efficiency and renewable energies, energy stores and grids, electromobility, and enhanced international cooperation in research.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 06.07.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseRvi7∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneDhv7∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 117/2012

Manfred Thumm erhält Heinrich-Hertz-Preis 2012

EnBW und KIT ehren den Physiker für seine Forschung zur Mikrowellentechnik

Die EnBW-Stiftung verleiht heute gemeinsam mit dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) den Heinrich-Hertz-Preis an Professor Manfred Thumm. Der frühere Leiter des Instituts für Hochleistungsimpuls- und Mikrowellentechnik (IHM) am KIT erhält die mit 10.000 Euro dotierte Auszeichnung für seine wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zu Erzeugung, Transport und Umwandlung hoher und höchster Mikrowellenleistungen für die Fusionsforschung. Deren Ziel ist es, eine dauerhafte, sichere, grundlastfähige und CO2-arme Energiequelle zu entwickeln.

 

Den Preis übergeben Dr. Hans-Josef Zimmer, Technikvorstand der EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG, und KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach gemeinsam beim Tag der Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik des KIT, der heute ab 15 Uhr im Tulla-Hörsaal auf dem KIT-Campus Süd stattfindet (Englerstraße 11, Gebäude 11.40). Die EnBW-Stiftung und das KIT, davor die Universität Karlsruhe (TH), vergeben den Heinrich-Hertz-Preis seit 1975 für besondere wissenschaftliche oder technische Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der Erzeugung, Verteilung und Anwendung elektrischer Energie oder für andere anwendungsorientierte Forschungstätigkeiten.

 

Manfred Thumm ist international anerkannter Experte auf dem Gebiet der Energiegewinnung durch Kernfusion. Zu seinen Verdiensten in Forschung und Lehre zählen insbesondere die Beiträge auf dem Gebiet der Plasmaphysik und der Hochleistungsmikrowellentechnik. „Auf diesen Preis bin ich besonders stolz, weil mit Heinrich Hertz auch meine eigene Vorlesungstätigkeit am KIT verbunden war“, sagt Professor Manfred Thumm. „Hertz hat in den 1880er-Jahren am damaligen Polytechnikum Karlsruhe mit seiner Hochfrequenzmesstechnik erstmals die elektromagnetischen Wellen nachgewiesen. Ich habe hier zwischen 1991 und 2011 die Vorlesung ‚Mikrowellenmesstechnik‘ gehalten und mit zwei Kollegen das zugehörige Lehrbuch geschrieben.“

 

Die Hochleistungsmikrowellentechnik beschäftigt sich mit der Erzeugung, dem Transport, der Diagnostik und der Anwendung hoher und höchster Mikrowellenleistungen und liefert einen entscheidenden Beitrag für die Fusionsforschung. Ziel der Fusionsforschung ist es, eine nahezu unerschöpfliche, sichere, grundlastfähige und CO2-arme Energiequelle zu entwickeln, die das Potenzial hat, in Zukunft entscheidend zum Energiemix beizutragen. Bei der Fusion wird aus der Verschmelzung von Atomkernen – nicht durch deren Spaltung wie in Kernkraftwerken – Energie gewonnen. Dabei werden in speziellen Fusionskraftwerken Plasmen, das sind Gase mit freien Ladungsträgern, auf über 110 Millionen Grad Celsius erhitzt. Für das Erreichen der erforderlichen hohen Heizleistungen spielt die Elektronen-Zyklotron-Resonanzheizung eine entscheidende Rolle: Bei dieser Heizmethode nimmt das eingeschlossene Plasma die benötigte Energie über eingestrahlte Mikrowellenleistung auf – bei sehr hohen Frequenzen von 140 bis 170 Gigahertz. Während seiner über 35-jährigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit hat Manfred Thumm entscheidend dazu beigetragen, die Elektronen-Zyklotron-Resonanzheizung als festen Bestandteil zukünftiger Fusionskraftwerke zu etablieren. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Plasmaforschung der Universität Stuttgart und der Firma Thales Electron Devices (TED) hat Manfred Thumm als erster Gyrotronröhren – höchst leistungsfähige Generatoren für kurzwellige Mikrowellen – zur Serienreife gebracht. Maßgeblichen Anteil hat seine Arbeit auch an den Versuchsanlagen Wendelstein 7-X in Greifswald und ITER im französischen Cadarache, welche die Entwicklung künftiger Fusionsreaktoren vorantreiben.

 

Ein Foto der Preisverleihung kann nach der Veranstaltung angefordert werden unter: presseFdo3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

 

Zur Person Manfred Thumm, Jahrgang 1943, studierte von 1966 bis 1972 an der Universität Tübingen Physik und promovierte 1976 im Bereich experimentelle Kernphysik mit Auszeichnung. Anschließend war er zunächst als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, ab 1982 dann als Gruppenleiter am Institut für Plasmaforschung der Universität Stuttgart. Nach Karlsruhe kam er 1990: als Professor für Mikrowellentechnik am Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik und Elektronik (IHE) der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe (TH) und als Leiter der Abteilung für Gyrotronentwicklung und Mikrowellentechnik am Institut für Technische Physik (ITEP) am früheren Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe. Von 1999 bis 2011 leitete er dort das Institut für Hochleistungsimpuls- und Mikrowellentechnik (IHM). Manfred Thumm engagiert sich besonders für die nationale und internationale Zusammenarbeit in der Fusionsforschung. So ist er unter anderem Mitglied im Fachausschuss „Vakuumelektronik und Displays" der Informationstechnischen Gesellschaft (ITG) im Verband der Elektrotechnik (VDE), dem er von 1996 bis 1999 vorsaß. Er ist Mitglied im „Coordinating Committee for the Development Programme for Electron Cyclotron Wave Systems for ITER" der Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, EURATOM, in Brüssel, sowie im „Internationanal Advisory Committees“ des weltweiten Verbands Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Zu seinen zahlreichen Auszeichnungen zählen die Ehrendoktorwürde der Technischen Universität St. Petersburg (2002), Kenneth-John-Button-Preis und -Medaille des Londoner Institute of Physics (2000) sowie die Ernennung zum IEEE-Fellow (2002). Im vergangenen Jahr erhielt Manfred Thumm den Preis für Innovation in der Plasmaphysik (Plasma Physics Innovation Prize) der European Physical Society (EPS). Zurzeit leitet er das von der russischen Regierung mit 3,2 Millionen Euro geförderte Projekt „Laboratory of Advanced Research on Millimeter Wave and Terahertz Radiation“ an der Novosibirsk State University. Zu Manfred Thumms wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen zählen neben vier Büchern, 270 Artikeln in Zeitschriften und 1200 Beiträgen zu Tagungsbänden auch zwölf Patente zu aktiven und passiven Mikrowellenkomponenten.

 

In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen: Das KIT-Zentrum Energie vereint grundlegende und angewandte Forschung zu allen relevanten Energieformen für Industrie, Haushalt, Dienstleistungen und Mobilität. In die ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Energiekreislaufs sind Umwandlungsprozesse und Energieeffizienz mit einbezogen. Das KIT-Zentrum Energie verbindet exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse. Forschung, Lehre und Innovation am KIT unterstützen die Energiewende und den Umbau des Energiesystems in Deutschland. Klare Prioritäten liegen in den Bereichen Energieeffizienz und Erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicher und Netze, Elektromobilität sowie dem Ausbau der internationalen Forschungszusammenarbeit.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 06.07.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneJwx3∂kit edu