Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 115/2012

Solar Power from Plastic Foils

Organic Photovoltaics: Group of KIT Researchers is Granted Funding in the Amount of EUR 4.25 Million
Flexibles organisches Solarmodul auf Kunststofffolie, hergestellt am KIT.(Foto: Andreas Pütz)
Flexible organic solar module on a plastic foil made by KIT. (Photo: Andreas Pütz)

KIT intensifies printable organic solar cell research. A group of researchers headed by Dr. Alexander Colsmann at the Light Technology Institute (LTI) will start work this month. The project is scheduled for a duration of four years and aims at enhancing the efficiency of organic solar cells to more than 10%. For this purpose, the researchers use tandem architectures combining solar cells of complementary absorption spectra. The Federal Ministry of Education and Research has granted funding of EUR 4.25 million.

The new generation of solar cells is light, flexible, semi-transparent, and allows for a low-cost production. Organic solar cells (plastic solar cells) can be applied to surfaces of nearly any shape by state-of-the-art printing and coating processes. Organic photovoltaics open up new perspectives in particular for the architectural design of buildings. The solar modules can be integrated in facades and even windows. In addition, they open up new OEM applications in the automotive or consumer sectors.

Organic solar cells are fabricated by low-cost printing and coating processes, such as gravure printing, screen printing, slot-die coating or spray coating in continuous roll-to-roll processes. Plastic carriers provide for the mechanical flexibility of the modules. At the same time, organic solar cells are characterized by an extremely low consumption of environmentally compatible resources, unprob-lematic disposal, and a very short energy payback time.

Still, organic solar cells exhibit moderate power conversion efficien-cies only. For them to be able to compete with established inorganic solar cells, extensive research is required. The early career scientists in the team of Dr. Alexander Colsmann, KIT, use so-called tandem architectures. Two solar cells with complementary absorption characteristics are stacked directly on top of each other to achieve better sunlight harvesting and more efficient energy conversion. The KIT scientists use novel materials, develop innovative device architectures, optimize their stability, and test the solar cells in a real-life environment. Moreover, they transfer man-ufacturing processes from the laboratory to an industry-compatible production environment in order promote future commercial use of their results. “The funding of EUR 4.25 million granted by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) reflects the quality of our work,” Colsmann says. He heads the Organic Photovoltaics Group at the Light Technology Institute of KIT.

In this project the KIT researchers are supported by the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Polymer Research (IAP), Potsdam, represented by Dr. Hartmut Krüger, and the University of Queensland/Australia, represented by Professor Paul Burn, who supply new materials for organic solar cells. Merck KGaA is the industry advisor of the pro-ject.

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. The KIT Energy Center pools fundamental research with applied research into all relevant energy sources for industry, households, services, and mobility. Holistic assessment of the energy cycle also covers conversion processes and energy efficiency. The KIT Energy Center links excellent competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis.

Research, education, and innovation at KIT foster the energy turnaround and reorganization of the energy system in Germany. Clear priorities lie in the areas of energy efficiency and re-newable energies, energy storage technologies and grids, elec-tromobility, and enhanced international cooperation in research.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

or, 03.07.2012
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseWhc3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 115/2012

Sonnenstrom aus Kunststofffolien

Organische Photovoltaik: Forschergruppe des KIT erhält Förderung von 4,25 Millionen Euro
Flexibles organisches Solarmodul auf Kunststofffolie, hergestellt am KIT.(Foto: Andreas Pütz)
Flexibles organisches Solarmodul auf Kunststofffolie, hergestellt am KIT.(Foto: Andreas Pütz)

Das KIT intensiviert die Forschung an druckbaren organischen Solarzellen: In diesem Monat nimmt eine Forschergruppe um Dr. Alexander Colsmann vom Lichttechnischen Institut (LTI) ihre Arbeit auf. Ziel des auf vier Jahre angelegten Projekts ist, den Wirkungsgrad organischer Solarzellen auf deutlich über zehn Prozent zu steigern. Dazu verwenden die Forscher Tandem-Architekturen, die Solarzellen unterschiedlicher Absorptionsspektren miteinander kombinieren. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung fördert die Forschergruppe mit 4,25 Millionen Euro.
 
Leicht, flexibel, wahlweise semi-transparent und kostengünstig herzustellen – das sind die Vorteile einer neuen Generation von Solarzellen: Organische Solarzellen (Plastik-Solarzellen) lassen sich durch einfache Druck- und Beschichtungsprozesse auf fast beliebig geformten Oberflächen aufbringen. So eröffnet die organische Photovoltaik neue Perspektiven vor allem für die architektonische Gestaltung von Gebäuden: Die Solarmodule lassen sich in Fassaden oder sogar Fenster integrieren. Auch für viele OEM-Applikationen im Automotive- oder Consumer-Bereich ergeben sich neue Möglichkeiten.
 
Bei der Herstellung organischer Solarzellen kommen kostengünstige Druck- und Beschichtungsprozesse wie Tiefdruck, Siebdruck, Schlitzguss oder Sprühbeschichtung in kontinuierlichen Rolle-zu-Rolle-Beschichtungen zum Einsatz. Kunststoffträger sorgen für die mechanische Flexibilität der Module. Zugleich zeichnet sich die organische Photovoltaik durch eine äußerst sparsame Verwendung von umweltfreundlichen Rohstoffen, eine unproblematische Entsorgung sowie eine konkurrenzlos niedrige Energierücklaufzeit von wenigen Monaten aus.
 
Allerdings erreichen organische Solarzellen bis jetzt nur einen relativ moderaten Wirkungsgrad. Damit sie mit den etablierten anorganischen Solarzellen konkurrieren können, bedarf es intensiver Forschung. Die Nachwuchswissenschaftler um Dr. Alexander Colsmann vom KIT setzen dabei auf sogenannte Tandem-Architekturen: Zwei Solarzellen mit unterschiedlicher Absorptionscharakteristik werden direkt aufeinander abgeschieden, um eine bessere Absorption des Sonnenlichts und damit eine effizientere Energiewandlung zu ermöglichen. Die Karlsruher Wissenschaftler setzen neuartige Materialien ein, entwickeln innovative Bauelementdesigns, optimieren die Stabilität und erproben den Einsatz der Solarzellen im Alltag. Überdies überführen sie die Herstellungsprozesse vom Labor in eine industriekompatible Produktionsumgebung, um eine zukünftige kommerzielle Nutzung ihrer Ergebnisse vorzubereiten. „Die Förderung von 4,25 Millionen Euro durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) betrachten wir als Bestätigung für die Qualität unserer Arbeit“, so Colsmann, der am Lichttechnischen Institut des KIT die Gruppe Organische Photovoltaik leitet.
 
Unterstützung erhalten die KIT-Forscher vom Fraunhofer-Institut für Angewandte Polymerforschung (IAP) in Potsdam, vertreten durch Dr. Hartmut Krüger, und der University of Queensland/Australien vertreten durch Professor Paul Burn, die neue Materialien zur Herstellung organischer Solarzellen bereitstellen. Die Industriepatenschaft für das Projekt hat die Firma Merck KGaA übernommen.
 
In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen: Das KIT-Zentrum Energie vereint grundlegende und angewandte Forschung zu allen relevanten Energieformen für Industrie, Haushalt, Dienstleistungen und Mobilität. In die ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Energiekreislaufs sind Umwandlungsprozesse und Energieeffizienz mit einbezogen. Das KIT-Zentrum Energie verbindet exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse. Forschung, Lehre und Innovation am KIT unterstützen die Energiewende und den Umbau des Energiesystems in Deutschland. Klare Prioritäten liegen in den Bereichen Energieeffizienz und Erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicher und Netze, Elektromobilität sowie dem Ausbau der internationalen Forschungszusammenarbeit.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 03.07.2012
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseKlr5∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.