Press Release 114/2012

New High-performance Computer for Research at KIT

System for Complex Applications and Data Management in Top Research Is Financed from Federal and State Funds
Standort des neuen Forschungshochleistungsrechners wird das Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) am KIT sein
The new high-performance computer for research will be located at the Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) at KIT. (Photo: David Bühn)

The Federation and the State of Baden-Württemberg will provide total funding in the amount of nearly EUR 26 million from 2013 to 2015 for the setup of a high-performance computer for research (ForHLR) at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). This decision was taken by the Joint Science Conference (GWK) in Berlin today. ForHLR shall allow for the processing of complex application problems of unprecedented orders of magnitude in the fields of the environment, energy, nanostructures, nanotechnologies, and materials sciences.

ForHLR will meet the increasing demand for supercomputing capacity in the research areas mentioned. “High-performance comput-ing resources have become an indispensible aid in top research. We are very glad about the approval of our proposal submitted in close coordination with the High-performance Computing Center Stuttgart and the other high-performance computing centers in Germany,” says Professor Wilfried Juling, Chief Science and Information Officer of KIT. “This system will enable researchers to more rapidly develop novel solutions.”

ForLHR is an energy-efficient petaflop system with an associated visualization component. One petaflop corresponds to a billion calculation operations per second. The high-performance computer is to contribute in particular to the in-depth understanding of science and engineering problems and to methodological progress in the simulation and visualization of complex systems. Methodological research at KIT will optimally support the efficient use of the system. Apart from pure computing power, data supply is of major importance. Integrated concepts are required for the management of scientific data over their complete lifecycle. This is the key element of the research and IT strategy of KIT.

With the help of the computing power of ForHLR and improved simulation methods, KIT scientists plan to address central issues of environmental research, including global warming, its feedback on regional climate fluctuations, complete integration of the local water cycle from the biosphere to the atmosphere, as well as propagation and detailed effects of air pollutants. Environmentally compatible energy generation, energy distribution, and energy storage are directly related to environmental research and represent another major area of KIT research. In connection with the energy turnaround, this area is of highest relevance to society. Studies will focus on low-pollutant and low-noise engines and turbines. Here, in-depth understanding of simulated and measured flow phenomena, chemical combustion processes, and material vibrations is required. The success and efficiency of this and other new technologies will depend decisively on the development and manufacture of novel materials. The new high-performance computer for research is also planned to be used for the investigation of functional materials and nanostructures.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

sl, le, 29.06.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseJjx7∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneJca0∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseWag2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 114/2012

Neuer Forschungshochleistungsrechner am KIT

Bund und Land fördern das System für komplexe Anwendungen und Datenmanagement in der Spitzenforschung
Standort des neuen Forschungshochleistungsrechners wird das Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) am KIT sein
Standort des neuen Forschungshochleistungsrechners wird das Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) am KIT sein (Foto: David Bühn)

Der Bund und das Land Baden-Württemberg fördern mit insgesamt knapp 26 Millionen Euro in den Jahren 2013 bis 2015 den Aufbau eines Forschungshochleistungsrechners (ForHLR) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Das hat die Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonferenz (GWK) heute in Berlin beschlossen. Der ForHLR soll es in den Bereichen Umwelt, Energie, Nanostrukturen und -technologien sowie Materialwissenschaften ermöglichen, komplexe Anwendungs-probleme in neuen Größenordnungen zu bearbeiten.

Der ForHLR trägt dem gestiegenen Bedarf an Hochleistungsrechnerkapazität in den genannten Forschungsbereichen Rechnung. „Hochleistungsrechnerressourcen sind zu einem unerlässlichen Hilfsmittel in der Spitzenforschung geworden. Wir freuen uns daher sehr über die Bewilligung unseres Antrags, der in enger Abstimmung mit dem Höchstleistungsrechenzentrum Stuttgart und den anderen High- Performance-Computing-Zentren in Deutschland erfolgte“, so Professor Wilfried Juling, Chief Science and Information Officer des KIT. „Durch den Einsatz dieses Systems wird es Forschern möglich sein, rascher zu neuen Lösungen zu kommen“.

Der ForLHR ist ein energieeffizientes Petaflop-System mit zugehöriger Visualisierungskomponente. Ein Petaflop entspricht einer Billiarde Rechenoperationen pro Sekunde. Der Hochleistungsrechner soll insbesondere zu einem vertieften Verständnis natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlicher Fragen sowie zu methodischen Fortschritten bei der Simulation und Visualisierung komplexer Systeme beitragen. Den effizienten Einsatz des Systems soll die am KIT etablierte Methodenforschung optimal unterstützen. Neben reiner Rechenleistung spielt heute die Datenversorgung eine entscheidende Rolle, wobei integrierte Konzepte für das Management wissenschaftlicher Daten über den kompletten Lebenszyklus notwendig sind. Diese besondere Herausforderung ist Kernelement der Forschungs- und IT-Strategie des KIT.

Zentrale Themen der Umweltforschung, denen sich die Karlsruher Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit Hilfe der Rechenleistung des ForHLR und verbesserten Simulationsmethoden widmen wollen, sind die globale Erwärmung, deren Rückkopplung auf regionale Klimaschwankungen, die vollständige Integration des lokalen Wasserkreislaufes von der Biosphäre bis in die Atmosphäre, aber auch die Ausbreitung und detaillierte Auswirkung von Luftschadstoffen. Die mit der Umweltforschung direkt verknüpfte umweltschonende Energiegewinnung, -verteilung und -speicherung bilden einen weiteren Kernbereich des KIT-Forschungsprofils und sind gerade vor dem Hintergrund der Energiewende von gesellschaftlich höchster Bedeutung. Untersucht werden beispielsweise schadstoff- und geräuscharme Motoren und Turbinen, die ein tiefes Verständnis der simulierten und messtechnisch erfassten Strömungsphänomene, chemischen Verbrennungsprozesse und Materialschwingungen erfordern. Erfolg und Effizienz dieser und weiterer neuer Technologien hängen ganz entscheidend von der Entwicklung und Herstellung neuer Materialien ab. Mit dem neuen Forschungshochleistungsrechner sollen daher auch funktionale Werkstoffe und Nanostrukturen erforscht werden.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

sl, le, 29.06.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneVqg2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseIbp0∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.