Press Release 106/2012

Incentives to Control Power Consumption

wEnergy Project Studies Which Consumption Data Make People Minimize Their Power Consumption/Instrument in Fuse Box Supplies Own Power Consumption Data
Dank des minutengenauen Ablesens des Stromverbrauchs lassen sich die großen  Verbraucher im Haushalt leicht identifizieren. (Grafik: wEnergy, KIT)
As power consumption is recorded to the minute, big consumers in the household can be identified easily. (Graphics: wEnergy, KIT) ((Verbrauch = Consumption; Zeit = Time))

The energy turnaround does not only focus on new energy sources and technologies. Every individual person has to change the pattern of using electricity in order to reduce consumption and to make fluctuating energies marketable. Smart electricity meters are to enable consumers to adapt their consumption to the power supply. PhD students of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) now plan to test various feedback systems in order to find out how consumers can be encouraged to minimize their electricity consumption.

“How much electricity do I consume at the moment? What are the effects of fridges and appliances in the stand-by mode? Where are reduction potentials? These were the questions we asked ourselves when starting this project,” say Timm Teubner and Anders Dalén from KIT. “This directly led to the main problem we have to solve: What are the relevant data for the consumer and how can they be communicated in order to contribute to a sustainable change of consumption?”

To answer these questions, the scientists initiated the wEnergy project, in which 40 households in Karlsruhe will participate this summer. “Our sensor is installed on the mains and measures current electricity consumption at one-minute intervals. The inhabitants can see the results on the web portal,” explains energy systems engineer Dalén, who co-developed the measurement electronics. “The sensor is robust, inexpensive, and maintenance-free. And it can be installed without any technical knowledge.”

“We will now test whether concepts like competition, real-time feedback, or financial and non-financial incentives influence consumption in a measurable manner,” adds business engineer Teubner, who is particularly interested in personal and social motives of the consumers in reducing their electricity consumption. For instance, weekly or monthly electricity saving competitions might influence consumption. “Our test will also cover students who share apartments, because here the dynamics of both power consumption and interaction of the participants is expected to be highest.” Some places are still free. People interested in participating in the project will find more information on the homepage of the project.

For their project idea, Teubner und Dalén have been granted a Karl Steinbuch Scholarship by the Foundation of the Baden-Württemberg Media and Film Society. Hence, they now have the funds necessary to implement their project. From August, data will be collected and by the end of the year, these data will have been evaluated. “It is one of the most exciting aspects of the energy turnaround that everybody can contribute,” say the PhD students. “Within the framework of wEnergy, we can study the mechanism of integrating the daily electricity consumer.”

For more information, click the project homepage:
http://www.wEnergy-project.de/

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 21.06.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseVvp2∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisJry4∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseLub8∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 106/2012

Stromkonsum mit Anreizen steuern

Forschungsprojekt wEnergy untersucht, welche Verbrauchsinformationen zum bewussten Stromkonsum anhalten / Messgerät im Sicherungskasten liefert Daten über eigenen Stromverbrauch
Dank des minutengenauen Ablesens des Stromverbrauchs lassen sich die großen  Verbraucher im Haushalt leicht identifizieren. (Grafik: wEnergy, KIT)
Dank des minutengenauen Ablesens des Stromverbrauchs lassen sich die großen Verbraucher im Haushalt leicht identifizieren. (Grafik: wEnergy, KIT)

Bei der Energiewende geht es nicht nur um neue Energiequellen und -techniken. Auch der Umgang des Einzelnen mit Energie muss sich wandeln, um alle Einsparpotenziale zu nutzen und regenerative, fluktuierende Energien marktgängig zu machen. Intelligente Stromzähler sollen es ermöglichen, den eigenen Verbrauch an das Stromangebot anzupassen. Promotionsstudenten am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) testen nun in einem Feldversuch verschiedene Feedbacksysteme und wollen herausfinden, wie man Verbraucher zu einem bewussten Stromkonsum animiert.

 

„Wieviel Strom verbrauche ich gerade? Welchen Effekt haben Kühlschrank und Standby-Geräte? Wo ist Einsparpotential? Das waren die Fragen, die wir uns selbst am Anfang des Projektes gestellt haben“, erklären Timm Teubner und Anders Dalén vom KIT. „Daran schloß sich direkt die zentrale Herausforderung an: Welches sind die relevanten Informationen für den Verbraucher und wie vermittelt man diese, um zu einer nachhaltigen Konsumänderung beizutragen?“

 

Um diese Fragen zu klären, konzipierten die Wissenschaftler das Projekt wEnergy, an dem 40 Haushalte in Karlsruhe im Sommer teilnehmen werden. „Mit unserem Sensor an der Hauptstromleitung messen wir den aktuellen Stromverbrauch im Minutentakt und machen ihn über ein Web-Portal für die Bewohner sichtbar“, erläutert der Energiesystem-Ingenieur Dalén, der die Messelektronik mitentwickelt hat. „Der Sensor ist robust, günstig und wartungsfrei. Vor allem lässt er sich ohne technische Kenntisse einfach installieren.“

 

„Wir werden nun beispielsweise testen, ob Konzepte wie Wettbewerb, Echtzeit-Feedback sowie finanzielle und nicht-finanzielle Anreizsysteme den Verbrauch messbar beeinflussen“, ergänzt Wirtschaftsingenieur Teubner, der sich besonders für die persönlichen und die sozialen Motive der Verbraucher beim Stromsparen interessiert. So könnte schon die Auslobung von Wochen- oder Monatsbesten das Konsumbewusstsein beeinflussen. „Wir haben gezielt studentische Wohngemeinschaften in den Versuch aufgenommen, weil wir uns davon die größte Dynamik im Stromverbrauch, aber auch in der Interaktion der Teilnehmer versprechen.“ Derzeit sind noch einige der Teilnehmerplätze zu vergeben. Mehr Informationen dazu auf der Homepage des Projekts.

 

Für Ihre Projektidee haben Teubner und Dalén bereits ein Karl-Steinbuch-Stipendium der Stiftung der Medien- und Filmgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg erhalten und damit die Fördermittel, um ihr Projekt umzusetzen. Ab August geht es in die Datensammelphase und bis Ende des Jahres soll eine Auswertung vorliegen. „Für uns ist es einer der spannendsten Aspekte der Energiewende, dass hierzu jeder beitragen kann“, erklären die beiden Promotionsstudenten die Faszination des Projektes. „Mit wEnergy können wir den Mechanismus erforschen, wie der alltägliche Stromkunde eingebunden werden kann.“

 

Mehr Informationen auf der Projekt-Homepage: http://www.wEnergy-project.de/

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 21.06.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseVtt6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.