Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 105/2012

Triple Success for the “kluster“ KIT Team

With the Development of an Energy-efficient Supercomputer, KIT Students Twice Reached the First Place and Once the Second Place in the Final of the Student Cluster Competition
Erfolgreiches Team (v.l.): Pascal Kraft, Florian Wilhelm (Betreuer), Markus Grotz, Christian Winckler, Eva Ketelaer (Betreuerin), Robin Lutz, Jos Ewert, Claudia Pfreundt (Foto: kluster-Team)
Successful team (from left to right): Pascal Kraft, Florian Wilhelm (supervisor), Markus Grotz, Christian Winckler, Eva Ketelaer (supervisor), Robin Lutz, Jos Ewert, Claudia Pfreundt. (Photo: kluster team)

The “kluster” team of students of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) reached a triple success in the Student Cluster Competition. It ranked in first place for the Linpack Benchmark in the category of pure CPU clusters, i.e. for main processors, won another first place in the category of “Best Presentation of the Team”, and ranked second in the Linpack Benchmark for general clusters. In the IT sector, benchmarks are systems to evaluate the efficiency of computer systems for various applications. The KIT team was the only European team competing against two teams from the USA and two teams from China. The task was to construct an energy-efficient supercomputer of highest performance.

Developing energy-efficient supercomputers for various applications – this was the task to be fulfilled by the teams of students taking part in the Student Cluster Competition. The KIT group was the only European team that qualified for this competition. In Hamburg, it competed against two teams from the USA and two teams from China. Due to their repeated participation in earlier competitions, the latter competitors were considered highly experienced. “And the greater was the success for our team,” says the kluster supervisor Eva Ketelaer.

The KIT team won two first places for the Linpack Benchmark in the category of pure CPU clusters, i.e. main processors, and in the category of “Best Presentation of the Team”. The “kluster” group reached rank two for the Linpack Benchmark for general clusters. In the IT sector, benchmarks are evaluation systems to assess the runtime of applications in various computer systems.

Work of the students of mathematics, informatics, and physics to develop a supercomputer of maximum performance and high energy efficiency started last autumn. The supercomputer was not to exceed an electricity consumption of 3000 Watts. In addition, various applications were given, including simulations in flow mechanics for oceanography and the prognosis of ice drifts. Professor Vincent Heuveline, Head of the Engineering Mathematics and Computing Lab (EMCL) of KIT, and other partners from industry supported the students. “I am very proud of the motivation and enthusiasm of our students in mastering this complex task,” emphasizes Vincent Heuveline. “This competition enriches the education of our students. It enhances the interest of our young scientists in supercomputing and computational science and engineering.”

The Student Cluster Competition in high-performance computing took place at the “International Supercomputing Conference” (ISC) in Hamburg. The German ISC and the American Supercomputing that take place annually are the most important conferences for high-performance computing worldwide. At these conferences, the 500 most rapid supercomputers (top 500), a list that is updated every six months, are announced. For several years now, the Student Cluster Competition has taken place regularly at the Supercomputing in the USA. Here, teams of students compete with supercomputers designed on their own. The international competition is orga-nized by the HPC Advisory Council, an organization for research, counseling, and education in supercomputing.

More information: http://kluster-team.de/


Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

sk, 21.06.2012
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseVih7∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtAeo2∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseSer4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 105/2012

KIT-Team "kluster" dreifach erfolgreich

Mit der Entwicklung eines energieeffizienten Höchstleistungsrechners belegten Karlsruher Studierende im Finale der Student Cluster Competition zweimal den ersten und einmal den zweiten Platz
Erfolgreiches Team (v.l.): Pascal Kraft, Florian Wilhelm (Betreuer), Markus Grotz, Christian Winckler, Eva Ketelaer (Betreuerin), Robin Lutz, Jos Ewert, Claudia Pfreundt (Foto: kluster-Team)
Erfolgreiches Team (v.l.): Pascal Kraft, Florian Wilhelm (Betreuer), Markus Grotz, Christian Winckler, Eva Ketelaer (Betreuerin), Robin Lutz, Jos Ewert, Claudia Pfreundt (Foto: kluster-Team)

Das Studierendenteam „kluster“ vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) überzeugte bei der „Student Cluster Competition“ gleich dreimal: Es belegte den ersten Platz für den Linpack-Benchmark in der Kategorie reine CPU-Cluster, also für Hauptprozessoren, einen weiteren ersten Platz für die Kategorie „Beste Darstellung des Teams“ und den zweiten Platz für den Linpack-Benchmark für allgemeine Cluster. Benchmarks in der IT-Branche sind Bewertungssysteme, um die Effizienz von Computersystemen für verschiedene Anwendungen einzuschätzen. Das KIT-Team trat als einziges aus Europa gegen je zwei Teams aus den USA und aus China an. Ziel des Wettbewerbs war es, einen energieeffizienten Höchstleistungsrechner zu konstruieren.

 

Höchstleistungsrechner für verschiedene Anwendungen zu entwickeln, die gleichzeitig energieeffizient sind – dies war die Aufgabe, der sich die Studierendenteams bei der Student Cluster Competition stellen mussten. Als einziges Team aus Europa hatte sich die KIT-Gruppe für diesen Wettbewerb qualifiziert. Sie trat in Hamburg gegen je zwei Teams aus den USA und China an – die Kontrahenten galten durch mehrfache Teilnahmen an früheren Wettbewerben als bereits sehr erfahren. „Umso mehr war das Ergebnis für unser Team ein großartiger Erfolg“, sagt kluster-Betreuerin Eva Ketelaer.

 

Das Karlsruher Team errang zwei erste Plätze: für den Linpack-Benchmark in der Kategorie reine CPU-Cluster, also für Hauptprozessoren, sowie in der Kategorie „Beste Darstellung des Teams“. Platz zwei erlangte die „kluster“-Gruppe für den Linpack-Benchmark für allgemeine Cluster. Benchmarks im IT-Bereich gelten als Bewertungssysteme, um die Laufzeit von Anwendungen in verschiedenen Computersystemen zu bewerten.

 

Seit vergangenem Herbst hatten die Mathematik-, Informatik- und Physikstudierenden an der Entwicklung eines Supercomputers gearbeitet, der diese Voraussetzungen erfüllt, also leistungsstark und gleichzeitig effizient im Energieverbrauch ist. Denn einen Stromverbrauch von 3.000 Watt durfte der Superrechner nicht übersteigen. Zudem waren verschiedene Anwendungen vorgegeben: Dazu zählen unter anderem Simulationen in der Strömungsmechanik für die Ozeanographie oder die Vorhersage von Eisbewegungen. Professor Vincent Heuveline, Leiter des Engineering Mathematics and Computing Lab (EMCL) am KIT, sowie weitere Partner aus der Industrie unterstützten die Studierenden. „Ich bin sehr stolz auf die Motivation und die Begeisterung, mit der unsere Studierenden diese komplexe Aufgabe bewältigt haben", lobt Vincent Heuveline sein Team. „Dieser Wettbewerb ist eine enorme Bereicherung für die Ausbildung der Studierenden. Er fördert das Interesse des Nachwuchses am High Performance Computing und dem Computational Science and Engineering."

 

Die Student Cluster Competition als Wettbewerb im High Performance Computing fand bei der „International Supercomputing Conference“ (ISC) in Hamburg statt. Die deutsche ISC und die amerikanische Supercomputing, die jährlich stattfinden, sind die weltweit bedeutendsten Konferenzen für das High Performance Computing. Bei diesen Tagungen wird die halbjährlich aktualisierte Liste der weltweit 500 schnellsten Supercomputer (Top 500) bekannt gegeben. Seit mehreren Jahren findet auf der Supercomputing in den USA regelmässig ein Student Cluster Competition statt, bei dem Studierenden-Teams mit selbst entworfenen Supercomputern gegeneinander antreten. Veranstalter des internationalen Wettbewerbs ist das HPC Advisory Council, eine Organisation für Forschung, Beratung und Ausbildung im Höchstleistungsrechnen.

 

Weitere Informationen: http://kluster-team.de/

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

sk, 21.06.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtIfm7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseKuk4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.