Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 103/2012

Play of Colors with Graphene

Researchers Succeeded in Coupling a Layer of Carbon Atoms to an Optical Cavity and Making It Emit Light – KIT Scientists Participate in the Project
Eine optische Mikrokavität besteht aus zwei halbdurchlässigen Metallspiegeln, deren Abstand voneinander die Farbe des von Graphen erzeugten Lichts bestimmt. (Bild: KIT)
An optical microcavity consists of two semi-transparent metal mirrors, whose distance determines the color of the light generated by graphene. (Figure: KIT)

Graphene consists of a layer of carbon atoms arranged in a honeycomb structure. The extremely thin and stable material has a high potential for applications in optoelectronics. Researchers of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, TU Darmstadt, the University of Cambridge, and IBM have now developed optoelectronic components based on graphene. With them, information technology systems may become smaller and perform better in the long term. The results are presented in the Nature Communications journal.

Graphene is used in everyday life. For example, the material is found in billions of layers stacked on top of each other in conventional graphite pencils. As a single atomic layer, graphene is an extraordinarily stable material of high thermal and electric conductivity. It can absorb and emit light at the same time. Hence, the material has a high potential for applications in optoelectronics. Optoelectronics deals with the conversion of electric into optical signals (light) and vice versa. It is the long-term objective of research to reach smaller dimensions of optoelectronic components, such as light-emitting diodes acting as interfaces between electric and optical components. This will make information technology systems much smaller and enhance their performance in the long term.

The work performed by the team of Professor Ralph Krupke from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and TU Darmstadt, Professor Hilbert von Löhneysen (KIT), Professor Andrea Ferrari from the University of Cambridge, and Dr. Phaedon Avouris from the research lab of IBM shows that optoelectronic components selecting light of variable wavelengths can also be made of graphene.
    
The technical challenge was to couple the graphene to the electrodes and to integrate the material in an optical microcavity. An optical microcavity is a structure in the micrometer range, which consists of two mirrors that are arranged at a precisely defined distance and semi-transparent for light of various wavelengths. As a result of the precisely defined mirror distance, the microcavity is transparent for light of a certain color. Dr. Antonio Lombardo (UC) transferred graphene to the target substrate. Then, physicist Michael Engel (KIT) coupled the graphene to the electrodes by complex fabrication methods on the nano- and microscales and placed it between two silver mirrors arranged at a distance of a few nanometers.

Dr. Mathias Steiner (IBM) and Michael Engel (KIT) succeeded in heating up the graphene by applying electric voltage. Similar to a bulb, the material started to emit light at high temperatures. Contrary to the white light of a bulb, however, the color of the light emitted is determined by the surrounding microcavity.

Work was supported by the DFG Center for Functional Nanostructures.

Publication:
Michael Engel, Mathias Steiner, Antonio Lombardo, Andrea C. Ferrari, Hilbert v. Löhneysen, Phaedon Avouris, and Ralph Krupke: Light–matter interaction in a microcavity-controlled graphene transistor. Nature Communications, published online 19 Juni 2012 (DOI: 10.1038/ncomms1911).

For the online version of the article, click
http://www.nature.com/ncomms/journal/v3/n6/full/ncomms1911.html

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

sk, 20.06.2012
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseUwu1∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtYhn7∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseAof1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 103/2012

Farbspiele mit Graphen

Forschern ist es gelungen, eine Lage von Kohlenstoffatomen an einen Hohlraum für Licht zu koppeln und zum Leuchten anzuregen – KIT-Wissenschaftler sind an dem Projekt beteiligt
Eine optische Mikrokavität besteht aus zwei halbdurchlässigen Metallspiegeln, deren Abstand voneinander die Farbe des von Graphen erzeugten Lichts bestimmt. (Bild: KIT)
Eine optische Mikrokavität besteht aus zwei halbdurchlässigen Metallspiegeln, deren Abstand voneinander die Farbe des von Graphen erzeugten Lichts bestimmt. (Bild: KIT)

Graphen besteht aus einer Lage von Kohlenstoffatomen, die wabenartig angeordnet sind – das besonders dünne und stabile Material birgt für Anwendungen in der Optoelektronik großes Potenzial. Forscher vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, der TU Darmstadt, der University of Cambridge und IBM haben nun optoelektronische Bauteile auf Basis von Graphen entwickelt. Mit ihnen können informationstechnische Systeme langfristig kleiner und leistungsfähiger werden. In der Zeitschrift Nature Communications stellen die Forscher ihre Ergebnisse vor.

Graphen kommt im Alltag vor: Das Material steckt beispielsweise – in milliardenfach übereinanderstapelten Schichten – in den Minen herkömmlicher Bleistifte aus Graphit. Als einzelne, atomare Schicht ist Graphen ein außergewöhnlich stabiles Material, welches Hitze und Strom besonders gut leitet und zugleich Licht aufnehmen (absorbieren) und abgeben (emittieren) kann. Damit bietet das Material für Anwendungen in der Optoelektronik großes Potenzial. Die Optoelektronik befasst sich mit der Wandlung von elektrischen in optische Signale (Licht) und umgekehrt. Langfristiges Ziel der Forschung ist es, optoelektronische Komponenten wie Leuchtdioden, die als Schnittstelle zwischen elektrischen und optischen Komponenten wirken, auf immer kleinere Dimensionen zu schrumpfen. Dadurch können informationstechnische Systeme langfristig deutlich kleiner und leistungsfähiger werden.

Die aktuelle Arbeit des Forscherteams um Professor Ralph Krupke vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und der TU Darmstadt, Professor Hilbert von Löhneysen (KIT), Professor Andrea Ferrari von der University of Cambridge und Dr. Phaedon Avouris vom Forschungslabor der Firma IBM zeigt, dass optoelektronische Bauteile, die Licht unterschiedlicher Wellenlängen selektieren, auch mit Graphen realisierbar sind.

Die technische Herausforderung für die Forscher lag darin, zwischen Graphen und Elektroden einen Kontakt herzustellen und das Material zugleich in eine optische Mikrokavität zu integrieren. Eine optische Mikrokavität ist eine Struktur im Mikrometerbereich, die aus durch zwei für Licht unterschiedlicher Wellenlängen halbdurchlässige Spiegel mit einem genau definierten Abstand besteht. Mit dem genau festgelegten Spiegelabstand ist die Mikrokavität durchlässig für Licht einer bestimmten Farbe. Hierfür übertrug Dr. Antonio Lombardo (UC) Graphen auf das Zielsubstrat. Anschließend konnte der Physiker Michael Engel (KIT) durch komplexe Fabrikationsverfahren im Nano- und Mikrobereich Graphen mit Elektroden verbinden und zwischen zwei Silberspiegeln mit nur einigen Nanometer Abstand zueinander platzieren.

Durch das Anlegen einer elektrischen Spannung gelang es Dr. Mathias Steiner (IBM) und Michael Engel (KIT) Graphen zu erhitzen. Ähnlich wie eine Glühbirne beginnt das Material, bei hohen Temperaturen Licht zu emittieren. Die Farbe des emittierten Lichts ist jedoch, im Gegensatz zum Weißlicht einer Glühbirne, nun durch die umgebende Mikrokavität bestimmt.

Das DFG-Zentrum für funktionelle Nanostrukturen hat die Arbeit unterstützt.

Literatur:
Michael Engel, Mathias Steiner, Antonio Lombardo, Andrea C. Ferrari, Hilbert v. Löhneysen, Phaedon Avouris, and Ralph Krupke: Light–matter interaction in a microcavity-controlled graphene transistor. Nature Communications, published online 19 Juni 2012 (DOI: 10.1038/ncomms1911).

Die online-Version des Artikels ist abrufbar unter: http://www.nature.com/ncomms/journal/v3/n6/full/ncomms1911.html

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

sk, 20.06.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtPdg6∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseLmh1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.