Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 096/2012

New Master Program in Energy Technology

New Interdisciplinary Program on Future Energy Supply Will Start in the 2012/2013 Winter Semester
Umfassende Ausbildung in Energietechnik: Ein neuer Masterstudiengang am KIT vermittelt Studierenden Wissen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. (Foto: Andrea Fabry)
Comprehensive training in energy technology: A new master program at KIT imparts interdisciplinary knowledge to students. (Photo: Andrea Fabry)

Future energy supply requires experts having interdisciplinary knowledge. It is imparted by the new “Energy Technology” master program that addresses German and foreign bachelor graduates. The program is coordinated by the KIT Energy Center and represents a major element of training at the KIT School of Energy, a school of life-long learning for master students, young scientists, and professionals. The master program will start in the 2012/13 winter semester. The application deadline will expire on September 30, 2012. International students requiring a visa for their stay in Germany are asked to apply until July 15.  

The consecutive master program in “Energy Technology” is based on the bachelor programs in mechanical engineering, chemical engineering and process technology, and electrical engineering and information technology. It is the first element of the life-long qualification program offered by the KIT School of Energy of the KIT Energy Center. As a “school of life-long learning”, the School of Energy offers excellent education and research opportunities to master students, young scientists, and professionals in the energy sector.  

“For a reliable, sustainable, and affordable supply of energy in the future, we will need experts trained in energy supply options,” says Professor Hans-Jörg Bauer, scientific spokesperson of the KIT Energy Center. He points out that problem solutions of this type will be of increasing importance to the economic performance of industrialized countries as well as to the development of threshold or developing countries.

“As a wide range of subjects is offered, students are enabled to systematically study interdisciplinary aspects of energy technology and to participate in the development of novel, interdisciplinary solutions for reliable energy supply,” says Dr. Julia Johnsen, coordinator of the KIT School of Energy. The new separate master program complements the range of specialized study courses at KIT, such as energy and the environment (Mechanical Engineering) or the studies model “Regenerative Energies” (Electrical Engineering and Information Technology). Most of the courses are offered in the English language.  

The program provides comprehensive training in energy technology: Basic modules convey general engineering knowledge to the students. In addition, the energy experts-to-be can focus on certain aspects, for instance, on renewable energies and energy storage technology and apply their know-how in interdisciplinary projects and traineeships. Other courses deal with mathematical methods, modeling, and simulation.

More information on the Energy Technology program may be obtained at http://www.energy.kit.edu/312.php.

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. The KIT Energy Center pools fundamental research with applied research into all relevant energy sources for industry, households, services, and mobility. Holistic assessment of the energy cycle also covers conversion processes and energy efficiency. The KIT Energy Center links excellent competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis.
Research, education, and innovation at KIT foster the energy turnaround and reorganization of the energy system in Germany. Clear priorities lie in the areas of energy efficiency and renewable energies, energy stores and grids, electromobility, and enhanced international cooperation in research.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

sk, 08.06.2012
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseDpw8∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtQqz6∂kit edu
-

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 096/2012

Neuer Masterstudiengang: Energietechnik

KIT bildet zum Wintersemester 2012/2013 Studierende interdisziplinär in Fragen der künftigen Energieversorgung aus
Umfassende Ausbildung in Energietechnik: Ein neuer Masterstudiengang am KIT vermittelt Studierenden Wissen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. (Foto: Andrea Fabry)
Umfassende Ausbildung in Energietechnik: Ein neuer Masterstudiengang am KIT vermittelt Studierenden Wissen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. (Foto: Andrea Fabry)

Die Energieversorgung der Zukunft benötigt Fachkräfte, die über interdisziplinäres Wissen verfügen – dieses vermittelt der neue Masterstudiengang „Energietechnik“, der sich an deutsche und ausländische Bachelorabsolventen richtet. Das KIT-Zentrum Energie koordiniert den Studiengang, der eine Säule der Ausbildung an der KIT School of Energy bildet, einer Schule für lebenslanges Lernen für Masterstudierende, Nachwuchswissenschaftler und Berufstätige. Der Masterstudiengang startet zum Wintersemester 2012/2013. Die Bewerbungsfrist endet am 30. September 2012. Internationale Studierende, die für ihren Aufenthalt in Deutschland ein Visum benötigen, sollten sich bis 15. Juli bewerben.

Der konsekutive Masterstudiengang „Energietechnik“ baut auf den Bachelorstudiengängen Maschinenbau, Chemieingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik sowie Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik auf. Er wird die erste Säule des lebenslangen Qualifizierungsprogramms der KIT School of Energy bilden, für die das KIT-Zentrum Energie zuständig ist. Als „Schule des lebenslangen Lernens“ bietet die School of Energy Masterstudierenden, Nachwuchswissenschaftlern und Berufstätigen exzellente Bildungs- und Forschungsmöglichkeiten im Bereich Energie.

„Um eine nachhaltige, sichere und bezahlbare Bereitstellung von Energie für die Zukunft zu sichern, benötigen wir in Fragen zu Energieversorgungsoptionen umfassend qualifizierten Nachwuchs“, sagt Professor Hans-Jörg Bauer, wissenschaftlicher Sprecher des KIT-Zentrums Energie. Problemlösungen dieser Art seien zunehmend von Bedeutung für die wirtschaftliche Leistungsfähigkeit der Industrienationen und die Entwicklung der Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländer.

„Die Studierenden werden durch das breite Fächerangebot in die Lage versetzt, systematisch interdisziplinäre Fragestellungen in der Energietechnik zu erschließen und an neuen, Disziplinen übergreifenden Lösungen mitzuarbeiten, die eine zuverlässige Energieversorgung ermöglichen“, so Dr. Julia Johnsen, Koordinatorin der KIT-School of Energy. Als eigenständiges Angebot ergänzt der neue Masterstudiengang daher die am KIT bereits bestehenden Vertiefungsmöglichkeiten in den grundständigen Studienrichtungen, beispielsweise Energie und Umwelt (Maschinenbau) oder das Studienmodell „Regenerative Energien“ (Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik). Die Lehrveranstaltungen werden zum größten Teil in englischer Sprache angeboten.

Der Studiengang vermittelt eine umfassende Ausbildung im Themenfeld Energietechnik: Grundlagenmodule vermitteln den Studierenden eine breite, ingenieurwissenschaftliche Ausbildung. Außerdem können die angehenden Energieexperten individuelle Schwerpunkte setzen, etwa im Bereich Erneuerbare Energien und Energiespeicherung, und ihr Fachwissen in interdisziplinären Projekten und Berufspraktika umsetzen. Hinzu kommen Veranstaltungen aus dem Bereich Mathematische Methoden, Modellbildung und Simulation.

Weitere Informationen zum Studiengang Energietechnik gibt es unter http://www.energy.kit.edu/312.php.

In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen: Das KIT-Zentrum Energie vereint grundlegende und angewandte Forschung zu allen relevanten Energieformen für Industrie, Haushalt, Dienstleistungen und Mobilität. In die ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Energiekreislaufs sind Umwandlungsprozesse und Energieeffizienz mit einbezogen. Das KIT-Zentrum Energie verbindet exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse. Forschung, Lehre und Innovation am KIT unterstützen die Energiewende und den Umbau des Energiesystems in Deutschland. Klare Prioritäten liegen in den Bereichen Energieeffizienz und Erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicher und Netze, Elektromobilität sowie dem Ausbau der internationalen Forschungszusammenarbeit.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

sk, 08.06.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtXvq9∂kit edu