Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 091/2012

State Research Award for Peter Sanders

KIT Computer Scientist Honored for His Work on Route Planners
Professor Peter Sanders erhält den Landesforschungspreis für das Jahr 2011  (Foto: Heidi Ofterdinger)
Professor Peter Sanders is granted the state research award for the year 2011. (Photo: Heidi Ofterdinger)

The 2011 Award of the State of Baden-Wuerttemberg for Applied Research goes to Professor Peter Sanders from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). This announcement was made by Theresia Bauer, Minister of Science, Research, and the Arts, at today’s press conference in Stuttgart. The computer scientist is granted the award in the amount of EUR 100,000 for his research into route calculations. The State Award for Fundamental Research goes to the philologist Professor Peter Auer from Freiburg University. The awards ceremony will take place on July 20 at Freiburg.

Professor Peter Sanders considers the high practical relevance and multitude of algorithmic techniques to be the charm of his research work. “Moreover, the improvement potential is surprisingly high. For instance, calculations have been accelerated millions of times.”

For route planners, Sanders has developed a method, by means of which optimum driving routes can be calculated extremely quickly. Millions of route calculations can be made per second. The idea is “to use the hierarchy of road networks such that we are provided with optimum routes, although we scan a fraction of the roads only”, says Sanders. Motorways, for example, the uppermost level of the hierarchy, are sufficient for calculating the route from Hamburg to Munich. To calculate the route between suburbs of a city, the bottom level of the hierarchy may be sufficient. Apart from classical route planning, also traffic simulations, energy-efficient logistics, and the organization of smart car sharing services are among the applications.

Future research of Peter Sanders will now focus on the development of methods leaving the model of fixed driving times per road section. These methods are to react to the current traffic situation, e.g. traffic jams, or integrate public transport means in the planning.

Early this year, Sanders was granted the renowned Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize by the German Research Foundation (DFG) for his work relating to practice-oriented algorithm engineering. Three times, Sanders was granted the Google Research Award for his research into route calculation. Early this year, he was given this award together with Professor Dorothea Wagner from KIT and Professor Hannah Bast from Freiburg University for the project “Next-Generation Route Planning”.

About the person
Since 2004, Peter Sanders has been conducting research and teaching at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). After his studies and Ph. D. at the former Universität Karlsruhe, he qualified as professor at Saarland University in 2000. From 1997 to 2004, he conducted research at the Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Saarbrücken. Since 2004, Sanders has been heading the Chair of Theoretical Informatics at KIT. He is author of more than 130 publications and co-author of 100 publications in 14 countries. In 2012, Peter Sanders was granted the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize by the German Research Foundation (DFG).    

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

le, 05.06.2012

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneLyh7∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseHmn7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 091/2012

Landesforschungspreis für Peter Sanders

KIT-Informatiker erhält die Auszeichnung für seine Arbeit zu Routenplanern
Professor Peter Sanders erhält den Landesforschungspreis für das Jahr 2011  (Foto: Heidi Ofterdinger)
Professor Peter Sanders erhält den Landesforschungspreis für das Jahr 2011 (Foto: Heidi Ofterdinger)

Der Preis des Landes Baden-Württemberg für angewandte Forschung für das Jahr 2011 geht an Professor Peter Sanders vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Das gab Theresia Bauer, Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst, heute bei einer Pressekonferenz in Stuttgart bekannt. Der Informatiker erhält die mit 100.000 Euro dotierte Auszeichnung für seine Forschung zum Thema Routenberechnungen. Der Preis des Landes für Grundlagenforschung geht an den Sprachwissenschaftler Professor Peter Auer von der Universität Freiburg. Die Preisverleihung findet am 20. Juli in Freiburg statt.

Die hohe Praxisrelevanz und die vielfältigen algorithmischen Techniken machen für Professor Peter Sanders den Reiz seiner Forschung aus: „Dazu kommt das erstaunlich hohe Verbesserungspotenzial, das sich beispielsweise in millionenfach beschleunigten Berechnungen ausdrückt.“

Für Routenplaner hat Sanders ein Verfahren entwickelt, das es erlaubt, optimale Fahrtrouten extrem schnell zu berechnen. Die Techniken erlauben es, Millionen von Routenberechnungen pro Sekunde zu realisieren. Die wesentliche Idee dabei: „Die Hierarchie von Straßennetzwerken so auszunutzen, dass wir beweisbar optimale Routen erhalten, obwohl wir nur einen Bruchteil der Straßen anschauen“, sagt Sanders. So reichen Autobahnen, die oberste Stufe der Hierarchie, etwa für die Berechnung der Strecke Hamburg-München aus. Für einen Weg zwischen Vororten einer Stadt kann die unterste genügen. Neben der klassischen Routenplanung gehören auch Verkehrsimulationen, die energieeffiziente Logistik sowie die intelligente Vermittlung von Mitfahrgelegenheiten zu den Anwendungsfeldern.

In seiner weiteren Forschung wird es Peter Sanders nun darum gehen, Verfahren zu entwickeln, die vom Modell fester Fahrzeiten pro Straßenabschnitt weggehen: Sie sollen es beispielsweise erlauben, auf die aktuelle Verkehrssituation – zum Beispiel Staus – zu reagieren oder öffentliche Verkehrsmittel in die Planung zu integrieren.

Anfang dieses Jahres zeichnete die  Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) Peter Sanders für seine Arbeit zum praxisorientierten Algorithmenentwurf (Algorithm Engineering) mit dem renommierten Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis aus. Für seine Forschung zum Thema Routenberechnungen erhielt er bereits dreimal den Google Research Award, zuletzt Anfang dieses Jahres gemeinsam mit Professorin Dorothea Wagner vom KIT und Professorin Hannah Bast von der Universität Freiburg für das Projekt „Next-Generation Route Planning“.

Zur Person
Peter Sanders forscht und lehrt seit 2004 am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Nach Studium und Promotion an der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe habilitierte er sich im Jahr 2000 an der Universität des Saarlandes, von 1997 bis 2004 forschte er am Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik in Saarbrücken. Seit 2004 leitet Sanders einen Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Informatik am KIT. Er ist Autor von mehr als 130 Veröffentlichungen und Koautor in 100 Publikationen in 14 Ländern. 2012 erhielt Peter Sanders den Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 05.06.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneCxn7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseHva4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.