Press Release 084/2012

High Resolution – Large Amounts of Data

KIT Coordinates New Helmholtz Platform for Detector Technology and Systems
KATRIN – das Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment – ist ein Beispiel für den  Einsatz von hochempfindlichen Detektoren in der Forschung. (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)
KATRIN – the Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment – is one example for the use of highly sensitive detectors in research. (Photo: Markus Breig, KIT)

Highly sensitive detectors are used in basic research as well as in applied research. But they are also required in many everyday applications. The Helmholtz Association is now setting up a platform in order to further develop technologies and systems for building detectors of photons, neutrons, and charged particles. The KIT is the coordinating institution for the platform. Further participating institutions are six more Helmholtz Centers and two Helmholtz Institutes, as well as an increasing number of high profile research institutions and universities worldwide.
 
Each digital camera incorporates photon detectors – be it a professional reflex camera or a smartphone camera. In medical engineering, photon detectors are also very important – for example for the positron emission tomography (PET), an imaging technology for the detection of cancer and other diseases. Neutron detectors are indispensable for basic research in nuclear physics, as well as for radiation protection and civil security. Detectors of charged particles are used in different areas, ranging from elementary particle physics to building installations – for example in smoke detectors.

The coordinating spokesperson of the new Helmholtz Platform for Detector Technology, Professor Marc Weber, Head of the Institute for Data Processing and Electronics (IPE) at KIT, says: “Future applications need a new generation of highly integrated detectors, which are more sensitive, work faster and work with growing resolutions. This can only be achieved by a consistent use of three-dimensional detector setups and customized intelligent electronics.” Weber further explains that the platform necessitates the cooperation of a wide range of experts: The subject variety ranges from innovative materials via detector technologies and integrated electronics to intelligent processing of extremely high data rates. The data analysis is increasingly becoming integrated in the detectors. Growing data rates require very fast data transmission rates or data processing close to the detectors. “We provide the basis for the development of more efficient, and at the same time smaller and lighter devices,” says Professor Weber. The researchers aim to increase data transmission rates by a factor of 1 000 and the number of detector channels by factors in between ten and 100.

The new platform will give all participating institutions access to the latest detector technologies and to the detectors based on these technologies. Furthermore, it will enhance the international visibility of German know-how in the field. The Helmholtz Association is funding the Platform for Detector Technology with a total of 13 million Euros as a portfolio theme from 2012 to 2016. Afterwards, research will continue within the framework of the Helmholtz Association’s research programmes. Participating institutions, apart from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), are the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), the Forschungszentrum Jülich, the Helmholtz-Zentrum für Schwerionenforschung (GSI), the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB), the Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), the Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht Centre for Materials and Coastal Research (HZG), the Helmholtz Institute Jena (HIJ), and the Helmholtz Institute Mainz (HIM). Seven more research institutes and eleven universities from Germany and other countries are participating as associated partners.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 22.05.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseUxt5∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafQjn5∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseCeh4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 084/2012

Hohe Auflösung – große Datenmengen

KIT koordiniert neue Helmholtz-Plattform für Detektortechnologien und Detektorsysteme
KATRIN – das Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment – ist ein Beispiel für den  Einsatz von hochempfindlichen Detektoren in der Forschung. (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)
KATRIN – das Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment – ist ein Beispiel für den Einsatz von hochempfindlichen Detektoren in der Forschung. (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

Hochempfindliche Detektoren werden in der Grundlagenforschung und der angewandten Forschung eingesetzt, sind aber auch aus vielen Alltagsanwendungen nicht mehr wegzudenken. Die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft baut nun eine Plattform auf, um Technologien und Systeme zum Aufbau von Detektoren für Photonen, Neutronen und geladene Teilchen weiterzuentwickeln. Das KIT hat die Koordination der Plattform inne. Weitere sechs Helmholtz-Zentren und zwei Helmholtz-Institute sowie eine steigende Zahl von hochkarätigen internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen und Universitäten sind daran beteiligt.
 
Detektoren für Photonen finden sich in jeder Digitalkamera – ob professionelle Spiegelreflexkamera oder Kamera im Smartphone. Auch in der Medizintechnik sind Photonendetektoren gefragt – beispielsweise für die Positronen-Emissions-Tomographie (PET-Scan), ein bildgebendes Verfahren zum Nachweis von Krebs und anderen Erkrankungen. Neutronendetektoren sind für die Grundlagenforschung in der Kernphysik, aber auch für den Strahlenschutz und die zivile Sicherheit unentbehrlich. Detektoren für geladene Teilchen werden in verschiedenen Bereichen von der Elementarteilchenphysik bis hin zur Haustechnik – beispielsweise in Rauchmeldern – eingesetzt.
 
„Die Anwendungen der Zukunft benötigen eine neue Generation hochintegrierter Detektoren, die empfindlicher, schneller und mit immer höherer Auflösung arbeiten. Dies ist nur noch durch einen konsequenten dreidimensionalen Aufbau von Detektoren und durch maßgeschneiderte intelligente Elektronik zu erreichen“, sagt der koordinierende Sprecher der neuen Helmholtz-Plattform für Detektortechnologien, Professor Marc Weber, Leiter des Instituts für Prozessdatenverarbeitung und Elektronik (IPE) des KIT. Wie Weber erklärt, erfordert die Plattform die Zusammenarbeit eines breiten Spektrums von Experten: Die Bandbreite der Themen reicht von innovativen Materialien über Detektortechnologien und integrierte Elektronik bis hin zur intelligenten Verarbeitung extrem hoher Datenraten. Die Datenauswertung ist zunehmend integraler Bestandteil der Detektoren. Die immer größeren Datenraten erfordern eine extrem schnelle Datenübertragung oder aber eine Verarbeitung der Daten in der Nähe des Detektors. „Damit schaffen wir die Voraussetzungen für die Entwicklung immer leistungsfähigerer und zugleich immer kleinerer und leichterer Geräte“, erläutert Professor Weber. Ziele der Forscher sind, die Datenübertragungsraten um den Faktor 1 000 zu steigern sowie die Zahl der Detektorkanäle um Faktoren zwischen zehn und 100 zu erhöhen.
 
Auf der neuen Plattform sollen alle Beteiligten den Zugang zu modernsten Detektortechnologien und den auf ihnen basierenden Detektoren erhalten. Sie wird die deutsche Kompetenz auf diesem Gebiet international sichtbar machen. Die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft fördert die Plattform Detektortechnologien von 2012 bis 2016 als Portfoliothema mit 13 Millionen Euro. Anschließend laufen die Forschungsarbeiten im Rahmen der Helmholtz-Programmforschung weiter. An der Plattform beteiligt sind neben dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) das Deutsche Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), das Forschungszentrum Jülich, das Helmholtz-Zentrum für Schwerionenforschung (GSI), das Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB), das Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), das Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht – Zentrum für Material- und Küstenforschung (HZG), das Helmholtz-Institut Jena (HIJ) und das Helmholtz-Institut Mainz (HIM). Als assoziierte Partner sind bis jetzt sieben weitere Forschungseinrichtungen und elf Universitäten aus dem In- und Ausland eingebunden.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 22.05.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafCid9∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseDje1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.