Press Release 083/2012

KIT Adopts Ethical Guidelines

Appeal to the Responsibility of All Employees in Research, Teaching, and Innovation against the Background of Academic Freedom – Regulations for Fair Cooperation
KIT: Leitlinien für ethische Grundsätze wurden gestern verabschiedet. (Foto: KIT, Gabi Zachmann)
KIT adopted ethical guidelines yesterday. (Photo: KIT, Gabi Zachmann)

In the course of its yesterday’s meeting, the KIT Senate adopted the “Guidelines for Ethical Principles of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)”. These guidelines are based on the freedom of the arts, science, research, and teaching as outlined in Article 5, paragraph 3, of the German constitution. At the same time, they appeal to the responsibility of all employees and members of KIT for their acting. As a major principle, research, teaching, and innovation at KIT are to serve the gaining of knowledge and the protection of the environment, to entail a sustainable benefit for humanity, and to pursue peaceful purposes.  

As outlined in the Preamble of the Joint Statutes of KIT of March 21, 2011, KIT has committed to act in accordance with ethical principles in all fields of science, teaching, innovation, and services. For the purpose of detailing, an ethics commission appointed by the Senate drafted the guidelines for all members and employees of KIT, which were adopted yesterday by the Senate in the second reading.

“Between the first reading in February and the second reading, the Senate deliberately left a longer period of time in order to allow for discussions at institutes, departments, in the staff council, and among students,” says KIT Vice President for Human Resources and Law, Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt.

To account for academic freedom, the guidelines do not contain any canon of instructions or detailed prohibitions and orders. Among others, they refer to the problem of “dual use”, that is the multiple use of research results, and ask the members and employees of KIT to weigh currently unforeseeable potential applications of research results with the necessary sensitivity. As an ultimate consequence, research associated with risks that cannot be limited is to be given up.

An element of the societal obligations of research, teaching, and innovation is public accessibility of the findings. In their guidelines, the KIT members commit to making the results and findings obtained generally available to the scientific community and the society in agreement with the legislation and contractual regulations. Research that meets these requirements is to be supported by activities and resources. Participation in public discourse and in the further development of societal framework conditions, counseling of politics, and responsible use of personal, temporal, financial, and material resources are other maxims for acting. In addition, the ethical guidelines focus on the fair and trusting cooperation of KIT members as a basis of the KIT culture and on participation of students and employees in decision-making and organization processes at KIT.

For discourse, further development of the ethical guidelines, counseling of KIT members and employees, and current discussion of sensitive problems, the KIT Senate appoints two ombudspersons for ethical principles as well as an ethics commission.

The precise wording of the ethical guidelines can be found in the pdf file enclosed: http://www.kit.edu/downloads/KIT_Ethische_Leitlinien.pdf

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 22.05.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseLiq7∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafMhy3∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 083/2012

KIT verabschiedet ethische Leitlinien

Appell an die Verantwortung aller Mitarbeiter in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation vor dem Hintergrund der Wissenschaftsfreiheit – Regelungen zum partnerschaftlichen Umgang
KIT: Leitlinien für ethische Grundsätze wurden gestern verabschiedet. (Foto: KIT, Gabi Zachmann)
KIT: Leitlinien für ethische Grundsätze wurden gestern verabschiedet. (Foto: KIT, Gabi Zachmann)

In seiner gestrigen Sitzung hat der KIT-Senat „Leitlinien für ethische Grundsätze des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT)“ verabschiedet. Die Leitlinien haben die in Art. 5 Abs. 3 des Grundgesetzes geregelte Freiheit von Kunst, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Lehre fest im Blick. Sie appellieren gleichzeitig an die Verantwortung aller Beschäftigen und weiteren Mitglieder am KIT für ihr Handeln. Ein wichtiger Grundgedanke der Leitlinien ist, dass Forschung, Lehre und Innovation am KIT dem Erkenntnisgewinn, dem nachhaltigen Nutzen für die Menschheit und dem Schutz der Umwelt dienen sowie friedliche Zwecke verfolgen sollen.

Bereits in der Präambel der Gemeinsamen Satzung des KIT vom 21. März 2011 hat sich das KIT zu einem Handeln verpflichtet, das sich an ethischen Grundsätzen orientiert – in allen Wirkungsfeldern von Forschung, Lehre, Innovation und Dienstleistung. Zur Konkretisierung hat eine vom Senat einberufene Ethikkommission die Leitlinien für alle Mitglieder sowie Angehörigen des KIT ausgearbeitet, die gestern vom Senat in zweiter Lesung verabschiedet wurden.

„Zwischen der ersten Lesung im Februar und der zweiten Lesung hatte der Senat bewusst einen längeren Zeitraum gelassen, um eine Diskussion unter anderem in den Instituten, Fakultäten, im Personalrat und unter den Studierenden zu ermöglichen“, betont die KIT-Vizepräsidentin für Personal und Recht, Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt.

Vor dem Hintergrund der Wissenschaftsfreiheit enthalten die Leitlinien keinen Kanon von Handlungsanweisungen und auch keine konkreten Verbote und Gebote. Sie weisen unter anderem auf die Problematik des „dual use“, also der vielfältigen Nutzung von Forschungsergebnissen hin und fordern Mitglieder und Angehörige des KIT auf, mit der notwendigen Sensibilität die potenziellen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Forschungsergebnissen abzuwägen, die zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt abzusehen sind. Auf Forschung mit nicht einzugrenzenden Risiken der Forschungsaktivitäten selbst soll in letzter Konsequenz verzichtet werden.

Zur gesellschaftlichen Verpflichtung von Forschung, Lehre und Innovation gehört auch die öffentliche Zugänglichkeit der Erkenntnisse: In ihren Leitlinien verpflichten sich die KIT-Mitglieder die gewonnenen Ergebnisse und Erkenntnisse dem wissenschaftlichen Umfeld und der Gesellschaft unter Beachtung der Gesetzeslage und vertraglicher Regelungen allgemein zugänglich zu machen und ausschließlich Forschung, die diesen Anforderungen entspricht, durch Aktivitäten und Bereitstellung von Ressourcen zu fördern. Die Beteiligung am gesellschaftlichen Diskurs, die Mitwirkung an der Weiterentwicklung gesellschaftlicher Rahmenbedingungen, Politikberatung und der verantwortungsvolle Einsatz persönlicher, zeitlicher, finanzieller und materieller Ressourcen sind weitere Handlungsmaxime. Darüber hinaus befassen sich die ethischen Leitlinien mit dem partnerschaftlichen und vertrauensvollen Umgang der KIT-Angehörigen untereinander als Basis der KIT-Kultur sowie der Partizipation der Studierenden und Beschäftigten an Entscheidungsfindungs- und Gestaltungsprozessen im KIT.

Für den Diskurs, die Weiterentwicklung der ethischen Leitlinien, die Beratung von KIT-Mitgliedern und -Angehörigen sowie für die aktuelle Diskussion bei sensiblen Fragestellungen setzt der KIT-Senat zwei Ombudspersonen für Ethische Grundsätze und eine Ethikkommission ein.

 

Die ethischen Leitlinien finden sie hier: http://www.kit.edu/downloads/KIT_Ethische_Leitlinien.pdf

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg, 22.05.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafJpm8∂kit edu