Press Release 072/2012

More Freedom of Discretion for KIT

KIT Further Development Act Adopted by Baden-Württemberg Parliament Today
(Foto: KIT, Jana Mayer)
(Photo: KIT, Jana Mayer)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) will be granted more autonomy and far more freedom of discretion. Today, the Baden-Württemberg state parliament adopted the KIT Further Development Act, as a result of which KIT will be principal of its civil servants and employer of its employees in the future. In addition, KIT will have the right to make appointments in its own responsibility. It will be granted considerable autonomy to adopt own statutes and become the owner of its movable properties.

“This is a consistent next step for the further development of KIT. Our thanks go to the state and federation for their committed and courageous implementation of the basic elements agreed upon in the KIT Further Development Act,” emphasize KIT Presidents Professor Eberhard Umbach and Professor Horst Hippler. “These new larger scopes of action perfectly support KIT’s way towards an internationally visible top institution in research, education, and innovation. They will also strengthen our position in the competition for the best experts worldwide.”

“KIT is the first example of a real merger of a university and a research institution in Germany. We want to continue this success story by the KIT Further Development Act adopted today,” says the Baden-Württemberg Minister of Science, Research, and the Arts, Theresia Bauer.

The state’s supervisory control of the university sector will be abolished largely. KIT will continue to be a public corporation, but ceases to be a state institution. The funds from the state and federal budgets will be allocated to KIT and can be disposed of autonomously by KIT to fulfill its missions. At the same time, KIT will become the owner of its assets to a large extent. Apart from the special large-scale research fund, the movable properties of the university sector will be transferred to KIT. For a test phase of five years, KIT will be allowed to execute construction projects on its Campus for Mobility and Innovation in its own responsibility.

With the entry into force of the Further Development Act, KIT will become the principal of its civil servants and employer of its employees. Transfer of the staff from the state to KIT is envisaged to take place on January 01, 2013. Rights of staff already employed will be preserved fully. Moreover, KIT will be free to set up and adopt statutes relating to equal opportunities and gender equality.

Participation of Employees and Students
In the future, the Staff Council will participate in the appointment of supervisory board members and have the right to propose a candidate to the finding commission. The Staff Council will be represented in the senate by one member having voting power.

The new KIT Act will also strengthen the influence of students in the election of the Vice President for Teaching. The majority of the representatives of the students in the KIT Senate will have to confirm the election of this vice president. Three students are members of the senate.

A convention of academic and scientific employees will be established to discuss matters and aspects relating to KIT and make recommendations to the KIT bodies.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 09.05.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseHdq0∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafPjq2∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseArr1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 072/2012

Mehr Gestaltungsfreiheit für das KIT

Landtag in Baden-Württemberg hat heute das KIT-Weiterentwicklungsgesetz verabschiedet
(Foto: KIT, Jana Mayer)
(Foto: KIT, Jana Mayer)

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) erhält mehr Autonomie und deutlich größere Freiräume. Mit der heutigen Verabschiedung des KIT-Weiterentwicklungsgesetzes im baden-württembergischen Landtag ist das KIT künftig Dienstherr für seine Beamten und Arbeitgeber für seine Angestellten. Darüber hinaus kann das KIT eigenständig Berufungen durchführen, erhält weitgehende Satzungsfreiheit und wird Eigentümer des beweglichen Vermögens.

„Dies ist ein konsequenter nächster Schritt für die Weiterentwicklung des KIT. Unser Dank gilt dem Land und dem Bund für die engangierte und mutige Umsetzung des Eckpunktepapiers im KIT-Weiterentwicklungsgesetz“, betonen die KIT-Präsidenten Professor Eberhard Umbach und Professor Horst Hippler. „Die neuen Freiräume sind eine hervorragende Unterstützung auf dem Weg des KIT hin zu einer international sichtbaren Spitzeneinrichtung in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation. Sie stärken zudem unsere Position im Wettbewerb um die besten Köpfe weltweit.“

"Das KIT ist der bundesweit erste Fall einer echten Fusion von Universität und Großforschungseinrichtung. Diese forschungspolitische Erfolgsgeschichte wollen wir mit dem heute beschlossenen KIT-Weiterentwicklungsgesetz konsequent fortschreiben“, sagt die baden-württembergische Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst, Theresia Bauer.

So wird die Fachaufsicht des Landes über den Universitätsbereich weitgehend entfallen. Das KIT ist weiterhin eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts, jedoch keine staatliche Einrichtung mehr. Die Mittel aus dem Landes- und Bundeshaushalt werden nun dem KIT als Mittel zur selbständigen Verwendung zur Erfüllung der übertragenen Aufgaben zugewiesen. Gleichzeitig wird das KIT in weitem Umfang Eigentümer des von ihm genutzten Vermögens. Neben dem Sondervermögen Großforschung wird auch das im Eigentum des Landes stehende bewegliche Vermögen des Universitätsteils auf das KIT übergehen. Darüber hinaus wird das KIT im Rahmen einer fünfjährigen Experimentierphase Baumaßnahmen auf dem KIT-Campus für Mobilität und Innovation eigenverantwortlich durchführen können.

Ab Inkrafttreten des Gesetzes wird das KIT für seine Beamten und Angestellten die Funktionen des Dienstherrn und Arbeitgeber wahrnehmen. Der Übergang des vorhandenen Personals vom Land zum KIT ist für den 1. Januar 2013 vorgesehen. Bereits Beschäftigte erhalten dabei vollen Bestandsschutz. Das KIT hat außerdem Satzungsautonomie in Fragen der Chancengleichheit und Gleichstellung.

Mitwirkung von Beschäftigten und Studierende
Der Personalrat wird künftig bei der Besetzung des Aufsichtsrates mitwirken und der Findungskommission einen Vorschlag für ein Mitglied unterbreiten können. Darüber hinaus wird ein Vertreter des Personalrats mit Stimmrecht dem Senat angehören.

Das neue KIT-Gesetz stärkt den Einfluss von Studierenden bei der Wahl des Vizepräsidenten für Lehre. So ist es erforderlich, dass die Mehrheit der studentischen Vertreter im KIT-Senat seine Wahl bestätigt. Dem Gremium gehören drei Studierende an.

Ein zu bildender Konvent aus akademischen und wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern kann Angelegenheiten und Fragen aus dem KIT beraten und Empfehlungen an die KIT-Organe richten.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg, 09.05.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafAnb2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseCqn4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.