Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseRoq4∂kit edu

Press Release 060/2012

Dust from Arable Land Facilitates Cloud Ice Formation

KIT Climate Researchers Study the Relationship of Aerosols, Cloud Formation, and the Climate
Ackerbodenstaub-Fahne vor der argentinischen Küste (Satellitenfoto: NASA Earth Observatory, Jeff Schmaltz)
Plume of dust from arable land on the coast of Argentina. (Satellite photo: NASA Earth Observatory, Jeff Schmaltz)

About ten percent of the Earth’s surface are arable lands. Time and again, these lands lie fallow for cultivation reasons or for the regeneration of the soil. As a result of cultivation and wind erosion, dust particles (aerosols) enter the atmosphere. They influence the formation of clouds and precipitation and, hence, they are also supposed to affect the climate. These relationships are studied by a Helmholtz Young Investigators Group at the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research, Atmospheric Aerosol Research Division (IMK-AAF), of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

The effect of various particles (aerosols) on cloud ice, precipitation, and climate is subject of a Young Investigators Group directed by Dr. Corinna Hoose, IMK-AAF. “Aerosols are condensation nuclei to which water droplets attach. This is the start of cloud formation,” explains Hoose. Her group in particular focuses on ice clouds, i.e. on clouds in which aerosols form ice nuclei. This may influence the albedo of the cloud and, hence, warming of the Earth. “While liquid water clouds, i.e. clouds made of droplets, shield solar irradiation and have a cooling effect, ice clouds may have the opposite effect,” explains Ph. D. student Isabelle Steinke. Moreover, scientists presume that most of the precipitation is initiated by cloud ice. “When ice forms, the crystals grow rapidly, gain weight, and fall down in the form of rain or snow depending on the temperature near the ground surface,” says Corinna Hoose.

IMK-AAF uses the AIDA (acronym of Aerosol Interactions and Dynamics in the Atmosphere) cloud chamber to find out how much ice forms which type and amount of aerosol at what temperature. In the cloud chamber, clouds are formed and analyzed under atmospheric conditions. Isabelle Steinke is presently investigating the impact of aerosols from arable land. “The importance of dust from arable land has long been underestimated. Studies focused on soot particles and desert dust,” says Corinna Hoose. “Now, we have indications that aerosols from arable land may also have a considerable effect.” Presently, about 10% of the Earth’s surface are covered by arable land. Due to the high prices of corn and soy on the world market, additional pastures in South America, for example, are converted into arable land. In experiments with soil dust from arable land near Karlsruhe, Steinke found that these aerosols tend to form more ice than desert dust that is known to be “ice-active”. “This is probably due to the higher content of biological material, such as bacteria, spores or fungi, and plant residues,” says the scientist. In previous AIDA experiments, certain bacteria were found to be extraordinarily ice-active.

In the next months, the group, together with soil scientist Roger Funk from the Leibniz Center for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF) and other international research partners, will feed aerosols from arable land in China, Argentina, and Northern Germany into AIDA in order to find out how variable soil properties and the origin affect ice formation.

The results will be used to improve climate models. The Ph. D. student Matthias Hummel, for instance, is working on a model-based estimation of the impact of arable land dust in Europe. “We expect influences, but quantification will be difficult: More arable land, of course, produces more soil dust. But its share in ice and precipitation formation compared to other impacts is still unknown. This knowledge, however, contributes on the way towards more precise climate models.”

The KIT Climate and Environment Center develops strategies and technologies to secure the natural bases of life. For this purpose, 660 employees of 32 institutes produce fundamental and application-oriented knowledge relating to climate and environmental change. It is not only aimed at eliminating the causes of environmental problems, but increasingly at adapting to changed conditions.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

drs, le, 25.04.2012

Press contact:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneTiv9∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 060/2012

Staub aus Ackerböden begünstigt Eiswolkenbildung

KIT-Klimaforscher untersuchen den Zusammenhang von Aerosolen, Wolkenbildung und Klima
Ackerbodenstaub-Fahne vor der argentinischen Küste (Satellitenfoto: NASA Earth Observatory, Jeff Schmaltz)
Ackerbodenstaub-Fahne vor der argentinischen Küste (Satellitenfoto: NASA Earth Observatory, Jeff Schmaltz)

Rund zehn Prozent der Erdoberfläche sind Ackerflächen, die bewirtschaftungsbedingt oder zur Regeneration des Bodens auch immer wieder brachliegen. Durch Bewirtschaftung und Winderosion gelangen Staubpartikel (Aerosole) in die Atmo-sphäre: Sie beeinflussen die Wolken- und Niederschlagsbildung – und damit vermutlich auch das Klima. Diese Zusammenhänge untersucht eine Helmholtz-Nachwuchsgruppe am Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung, Bereich Atmosphärische Aerosolforschung (IMK-AAF) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT).

Wie sich unterschiedliche Partikel (Aerosole) auf Eiswolkenbildung, Niederschlag und Klima auswirken, ist Gegenstand der  Forschungsgruppe „Aerosol effects on cloud ice, precipitation and climate“ um Dr. Corinna Hoose am IMK-AAF. „Aerosole dienen als Kondensationskerne, an die sich Wassertröpfchen anlagern – so beginnt die Wolkenbildung“, erklärt Hoose. Besondere Relevanz für ihre Gruppe haben Eiswolken, also Wolken, in denen Aerosole Eiskeime bilden. Denn das kann sich beispielsweise auf das Rückstrahlvermögen der Wolke (Albedo) – und damit auf die Erderwärmung – auswirken. „Während Flüssigwasserwolken, also solche aus Tropfen, als ‚Schutzschild‘ vor der Sonneneinstrahlung kühlend wirken, könnten Eiswolken den umgekehrten Effekt haben“, erläutert Doktorandin Isabelle Steinke. Zudem, so vermuten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, wird die Mehrheit des Niederschlags durch Eiswolken ausgelöst. „Kommt es zur Eisbildung, wachsen die Kristalle schnell, werden schwer und fallen herunter – je nach Temperatur in Bodennähe als Regen oder Schnee“, so Corinna Hoose.

Wie viel Eis eine bestimmte Aerosolsorte und -menge bei welcher Temperatur bildet, untersucht das IMK-AAF in der AIDA-Wolkenkammer (steht für: Aerosol Interactions and Dynamics in the Atmosphere), in der sie Wolken unter atmosphärischen Bedingungen bilden und erforschen können. Isabelle Steinke untersucht zurzeit die Auswirkungen von Ackerboden-Aerosolen. „Lange wurde die Bedeutung von Ackerbodenstaub eher unterschätzt, die Untersuchung von Rußpartikeln und Wüstenstaub stand im Vordergrund“, sagt Corinna Hoose. „Jetzt haben wir jedoch Hinweise, dass auch die Aersole, die von Feldern stammen, durchaus Wirkung haben könnten.“ Derzeit sind etwa zehn Prozent der Erdoberfläche mit Ackerböden bedeckt. Wegen der hohen Weltmarktpreise für Mais und Soja werden zum Beispiel in Südamerika auch weitere Weideflächen in Ackerböden umgewandelt. In Experimenten mit Bodenstaub von einem Acker aus der Nähe von Karlsruhe fand Steinke heraus, dass diese Aerosole möglicherweise sogar noch stärker zur Eisbildung neigen als der bereits als „eisaktiv“ bekannte Wüstenstaub. „Das liegt vermutlich am höheren Gehalt an biologischem Material wie Bakterien, Pilzsporen und Pflanzenrückständen“, sagt die Wissenschaftlerin. Bestimmte Bakterien hätten sich bereits in früheren AIDA-Experimenten als außergewöhnlich eisaktiv herausgestellt.

In den nächsten Monaten wird die Gruppe gemeinsam mit dem Bodenkundler Roger Funk vom Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) und weiteren, internationalen Forschungspartnern Ackerboden-Aerosole von Feldern aus China, Argentinien und Norddeutschland in AIDA einbringen, um herauszufinden, wie sich unterschiedliche Bodeneigenschaften und Herkunft auf die Eisbildung auswirken.

Die Ergebnisse sollen dazu beitragen, Klimamodelle zu verbessern. So arbeitet der Doktorand Matthias Hummel an einer modellgestützten Abschätzung des Einflusses von Ackerbodenstaub in Europa: „Wir erwarten, dass es Einflüsse gibt, deren Umfang einzuschätzen, ist allerdings schwierig: Zwar produzieren zum Beispiel mehr Ackerflächen auch mehr Bodenstaub. Wie viel das im Vergleich zu anderen Einflüssen bei der Eis- und Niederschlagsbildung ausmacht, wissen wir aber noch nicht. Doch auch diese Erkenntnis ist ein Baustein auf dem Weg zu genaueren Klimamodellen.“       



Das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt entwickelt Strategien und Technologien zur Sicherung der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen: Dafür erarbeiten 660 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus 32 Instituten Grundlagen- und Anwendungswissen zum Klima- und Umweltwandel. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Beseitigung der Ursachen von Umweltproblemen, sondern zunehmend um die Anpassung an veränderte Verhältnisse.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

drs, le, 25.04.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneJkc4∂kit edu