Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Press Release 181/2011

Leibniz Prize for Peter Sanders

KIT Scientist Is One of the Key Persons for the Effective Use of Algorithms in Informatics
Professor Peter Sanders (Foto: Heidi Offterdinger)
Professor Peter Sanders. (Photo: Heidi Offterdinger)

Professor Peter Sanders from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is awarded the renowned Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) for the year 2012. The Leibniz Prize in the amount of EUR 2.5 million is the science award in the highest amount worldwide. Since 2004, Sanders has been conducting research and teaching at KIT. The scientist is one of the key characters in algorithm engineering in Germany and internationally.

Algorithms are the basis of computer programming and, hence, a key technology for information society. Major achievements, such as the availability of the knowledge of mankind via search machines, have to be attributed mainly to efficient algorithms. Algorithm engineering is aimed at developing simple, practicable, and high-performance solutions for an effective use of algorithms in informatics.

As an expert in algorithm engineering, Sanders reached the world record in energy-efficient data processing with his team in 2010. By the smart use of algorithms, they succeeded in significantly reducing the energy consumption associated with the processing of large data volumes. Another successful project of the scientist from Karlsruhe is the route planner. With the help of a special process, optimum routes can be calculated extremely rapidly. By means of the techniques developed by Sanders, millions of route calculations per second can be performed, which is essential for the optimization of logistics and simulations of traffic. For this work, Sanders was granted the Google Research Award in 2008 and 2011.

By the combination of techniques from linear algebra and networking flow theory, Sanders succeeded in developing an efficient algorithm for the construction of optimum encoding schemes. This new algorithm has meanwhile become a cornerstone in information theory and refutes a dogma of the modeling of communication networks. It had been assumed that relay nodes simply transmit incoming data nodes. Sanders and his team proved that higher data rates are possible.

About the Person
After his studies and PhD at the former Universität Karlsruhe, San-ders qualified as professor at Saarland University in 2000. From 1997 to 2004, he conducted research at the Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Saarbrücken. Since 2004, Sanders has been heading the Institute of Theoretical Informatics at KIT. He is author of more than 130 publications and co-author of 100 publications in 14 countries.

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize
Since 1986, the Leibniz Prize has been awarded annually by DFG. It was established to honor outstanding scientists for research in all areas of science. The prize money in the amount of about EUR 2.5 million can be spent by the winners according to their own ideas and without bureaucratic expenditure for their scientific work within a period of up to seven years. This year, the Leibniz Prize goes to eleven scientists. The winners were chosen from 131 proposals. So far, 313 researchers have won the prize that is considered one of the most important science awards worldwide. Six prize winners were awarded the Nobel Prize afterwards. The Leibniz Prizes will be handed over on February 27, 2012 in Berlin.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

lg, 08.12.2011
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseKbx7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 181/2011

Leibniz-Preis für Peter Sanders

Der KIT-Wissenschaftler ist eine der Schlüsselfiguren für den effektiven Einsatz von Algorithmen in der Informatik
Professor Peter Sanders (Foto: Heidi Offterdinger)
Professor Peter Sanders (Foto: Heidi Offterdinger)

Professor Peter Sanders vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) erhält den renommierten Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) für das Jahr 2012. Der Leibniz-Preis ist mit 2,5 Millionen Euro der international höchstdotierte Wissenschaftspreis. Seit 2004 forscht und lehrt Sanders am KIT. Der Wissenschaftler ist auf internationaler wie auf nationaler Ebene eine der Schlüsselfiguren des Algorithm Engineering.  

Algorithmen sind die Grundlage der Programmierung von Computern und damit eine Schlüsseltechnologie für die Informationsgesellschaft. Wichtige Errungenschaften wie die Verfügbarkeit des Wissens der Menschheit über Suchmaschinen sind maßgeblich auf effiziente Algorithmen zurückzuführen. Ziel des Algorithm Engineering (AE) ist die Entwicklung einfacher, praktikabler und leistungsfähiger Lösungen für den effektiven Einsatz von Algorithmen in der Informatik.
Als Experte des Algorithm Engineering stellte Sanders mit seinem Team im Jahr 2010 einen Weltrekord in der energieeffizienten Datenverarbeitung auf, indem er durch den geschickten Einsatz von Algorithmen den Energieverbrauch bei der Verarbeitung großer Datenmengen deutlich reduzieren konnte. Ein weiteres Erfolgsprojekt des Karlsruher Wissenschaftlers ist der Routenplaner. Mit Hilfe eines speziellen Verfahrens lassen sich optimale Fahrtrouten extrem schnell berechnen. Sanders Techniken erlauben es, Millionen von Routenberechnungen pro Sekunde zu realisieren, was für Logistikoptimierungen und Verkehrssimulationen ein entscheidender Vorteil ist. Dies brachte ihm 2008 und 2011 den Google Research Award ein.

Durch die Kombination von Techniken aus linearer Algebra und Netzflusstheorie gelang es Sanders, einen effizienten Algorithmus zur Konstruktion optimaler Kodierungsschemata zu entwickeln. Dieser neue Algorithmus ist mittlerweile ein Eckstein eines hochaktuellen Themas der Informationstheorie und widerlegt ein „Dogma“ über die Modellierung von Kommunikationsnetzen. Dies besagte bislang, dass Relais-Knoten ankommende Datenknoten einfach weiterleiten. Dass tatsächlich höhere Datenraten möglich sind, konnten Sanders und sein Team nachweisen.

Zur Person
Nach seinem Studium und der Promotion an der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe habilitierte Sanders an der Universität des Saarlandes im Jahr 2000. Von 1997 bis 2004 forschte er am Max-Planck-Institut für Infomatik in Saarbrücken. Seit 2004 leitet Sanders das Institut für Theoretische Informatik am KIT. Er ist Autor von mehr als 130 Veröffentlichungen und Koautor in 100 Publikationen in 14 Ländern.

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis
Der Leibniz-Preis wird seit 1986 jährlich von der DFG vergeben. Er zeichnet herausragende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler für ihre Forschungen auf allen Gebieten der Wissenschaft aus. Das Preisgeld von etwa 2,5 Millionen Euro können sie in einem Zeitraum von bis zu sieben Jahren nach ihren eigenen Vorstellungen und ohne bürokratischen Aufwand für ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit ausgeben. Der Leibniz-Preis geht in diesem Jahr an 11 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Die Preisträger wurden aus 131 Vorschlägen ausgewählt. Bislang wurden 313 Forscher mit dem Preis ausgezeichnet, der auch weltweit als einer der wichtigsten Wissenschaftspreise gilt; sechs Preisträger erhielten nach dem Leibniz-Preis den Nobelpreis. Verliehen werden die Leibniz-Preise 2012 am 27. Februar in Berlin.

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

lg, 08.12.2011
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseTgx4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.