Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 177/2011

GLORIA: Unique Climate Research Experiment Worldwide

Measurement Campaign in the Arctic to Start in December/Precise Data from the Atmosphere
Das Forschungsflugzeug Geophysica dient als Plattform um das Messinstrument GLORIA auf bis zu 20 Kilometer Höhe zu bringen. (Foto:Tobias Guggenmoser/FZJ)
The Geophysica research aircraft serves as a platform to bring the GLORIA measurement instrument up to 20 kilometers height. (Photo: Tobias Guggenmoser/FZJ)

Precise measurements of the atmosphere are indispensable for predictions of climate change and its impacts, as is currently being discussed at the climate change conference in Durban. A group of researchers from Jülich and Karlsruhe will therefore be starting a unique experiment in December in Northern Sweden: For the first time, the GLORIA instrument will fly on board of the Russian research aircraft “Geophysica” and observe climate-relevant gases and atmospheric movements with unprecedented accuracy. These measurements will contribute essentially to improved climate models.

GLORIA is the acronym of “Gimballed Limb Observer for Radiance Imaging of the Atmosphere“. This complicated name refers to a novel type of infrared camera. It decomposes thermal radiation emitted by atmospheric gases into its spectral colors. This allows for a very precise mapping of the gases and their large-area movements. GLORIA was developed by Forschungszentrum Jülich and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology within the framework of an extended investment project of the Helmholtz Association. Worldwide, it is the first of a new generation of measurement instruments to be used on satellites for weather observation in the future.

Jülicher und Karlsruher Forscher im nordschwedischen Kiruna mit dem GLORIA-Detektor in ihrer Mitte und einem Polarlicht über ihren Köpfen. (Foto: Erik Kretschmer/KIT)
Researchers from Jülich and Karlsruhe at Kiruna, Northern Sweden, with the GLORIA detector in their middle and a polar light above their heads. (Photo: Erik Kretschmer/KIT)

At 10 to 20 km height, GLORIA measures a number of climate-relevant trace gases that are mixed vertically and horizontally by atmospheric exchange processes. Among them are carbon dioxide, methane, ozone, and water vapor as well as many nitrogen and chlorine compounds. For the first time, this new instrument will measure these processes with a very high spatial resolution. “In this way, we will be enabled to test current climate models and to improve them,” says Dr. Martin Kaufmann, physicist at Forschungszentrum Jülich. “Moreover, the height range observed by GLORIA is of enormous importance to the climate: Here, the atmosphere emits the highest amount of heat into space. Greenhouse gases and clouds in this area most significantly affect the energy budget of the earth,” he adds.

The new spectrometer is unique worldwide. It works with a slewable and precisely stabilized infrared camera. It maps air layers below and on both sides of the aircraft. During later data analysis, these images are decomposed into a number of colors. By their “spectral fingerprint”, the different trace gases can be distinguished and their concentrations can be determined very precisely.

GLORIA measurements will also focus on the so-called “gravity waves” in atmosphere. These are strong air turbulences caused by certain weather conditions on the back of mountain ridges among others. They may propagate up to 100 km height. In aviation, these waves are much dreaded, but they also play an important role for the climate. Gravity waves drive global circulation systems in the middle and upper atmosphere. “Obviously, the dynamics of these waves changes with an increasing carbon dioxide concentration in the Earth’s atmosphere,” emphasizes Dr. Peter Preusse from Jülich. “For future climate prognoses, it is therefore very important to exactly understand these effects.”

Felix Friedl-Vallon, physicist at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, is enthusiastic: “The extremely high spatial resolution of our new spectrometer is unprecedented. Horizontal resolution of GLORIA is 30 km, in vertical direction 200 m. This makes GLORIA better than all instruments used so far by one order of magnitude – an enormous progress!” This is mainly due to a novel type of detector chip that can execute more than 10,000 measurements at the same time and a special maneuver called “tomographic flight” by the researchers. During this maneuver, the “Geophysica” flows around an air package or a turbulent zone on a circular track at a height of 15 to 20 km. GLORIA always focuses on exactly the same coordinates – this is a top performance of GLORIA in terms of control, electronics, and optomechanics at the low pressure and extreme temperatures down to minus 75°C.

GLORIA will climb up above the Arctic in December for four test and measurement flights. After the first successful operation on the “Geophysica”, the spectrometer will be installed on board of the new German research aircraft “HALO” in summer 2012. And the scientists hope that from 2020 an instrument version suited for use in space will supply major climate data within the PREMIER mission on board of an ESA satellite. Due to their age, several European and American environmental satellites will stop work in the years to come. “GLORIA closes the resulting gap in atmosphere research,” explains Hermann Oelhaf, meteorologist at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 02.12.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseVas1∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisDjo4∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseJdn3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 177/2011

GLORIA: weltweit einzigartiges Experiment für die Klimaforschung

Messkampagne in der Arktis startet am Nikolaustag / Präzise Daten aus der Atmosphäre
Das Forschungsflugzeug Geophysica dient als Plattform um das Messinstrument GLORIA auf bis zu 20 Kilometer Höhe zu bringen. (Foto:Tobias Guggenmoser/FZJ)
Das Forschungsflugzeug Geophysica dient als Plattform um das Messinstrument GLORIA auf bis zu 20 Kilometer Höhe zu bringen. (Foto:Tobias Guggenmoser/FZJ)

Präzise Messungen der Atmosphäre sind für Vorhersagen des Klimawandels und seiner Folgen, wie sie zurzeit auf der Weltklimakonferenz in Durban diskutiert werden, unentbehrlich. Eine Forschergruppe aus Jülich und Karlsruhe startet daher am 6. Dezember in Nordschweden ein einzigartiges Experiment: Das Instrument GLORIA fliegt erstmals mit dem russischen Forschungsflugzeug „Geophysica“ und beobachtet klimarelevante Gase und atmosphärische Bewegungen mit bisher unerreichter Genauigkeit. Diese Messungen tragen zu wesentlich verbesserten Klimamodellen bei.

GLORIA ist die Abkürzung für „Gimballed Limb Observer for Radiance Imaging of the Atmosphere“. Hinter dem komplizierten Namen verbirgt sich eine neuartige Infrarot-Kamera. Sie zerlegt die von den atmosphärischen Gasen ausgesandte Wärmestrahlung in ihre Spektralfarben. Dadurch können diese Gase und ihre großräumigen Bewegungen sehr genau abgebildet werden. GLORIA wurde am Forschungszentrum Jülich und dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie im Rahmen einer Ausbauinvestition der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft gemeinsam entwickelt. Es ist weltweit das erste einer neuen Generation von Messinstrumenten, die in Zukunft auch auf Satelliten, zum Beispiel zur Wetterbeobachtung, eingesetzt werden sollen.

Jülicher und Karlsruher Forscher im nordschwedischen Kiruna mit dem GLORIA-Detektor in ihrer Mitte und einem Polarlicht über ihren Köpfen. (Foto: Erik Kretschmer/KIT)
Jülicher und Karlsruher Forscher im nordschwedischen Kiruna mit
dem GLORIA-Detektor in ihrer Mitte und einem Polarlicht über ihren Köpfen.
(Foto: Erik Kretschmer/KIT)

GLORIA registriert in zehn bis 20 Kilometern Höhe zahlreiche klimarelevante Spurengase, die hier durch atmosphärische Austauschprozesse vertikal und horizontal vermischt werden: beispielsweise Kohlendioxid, Methan, Ozon und Wasserdampf sowie viele Stickstoff- und Chlorverbindungen. Das neue Gerät wird diese Prozesse erstmals mit einer sehr hohen räumlichen Auflösung messen. „So wird es für uns möglich, aktuelle Klimamodelle zu testen und zu verbessern“, freut sich der Jülicher Physiker Dr. Martin Kaufmann. „Zudem ist die von GLORIA beobachtete Höhenregion für das Klima enorm wichtig: Hier strahlt die Atmosphäre am meisten Wärme in den Weltraum ab, und deshalb sind in diesem Bereich Treibhausgase und Wolken besonders belastend für den Energiehaushalt der Erde“, fügt er an.

Das neue Spektrometer ist weltweit einzigartig. Es arbeitet mit einer schwenkbaren und präzise stabilisierten Infrarot-Kamera. Sie bildet Luftschichten unterhalb und seitlich des Flugzeugs ab. Bei der späteren Datenanalyse werden diese Bilder in eine Vielzahl von Farben zerlegt. Durch ihren „spektralen Fingerabdruck“ lassen sich dann die verschiedenen Spurengase unterscheiden und ihre Konzentrationen sehr genau bestimmen.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Messungen mit GLORIA sind die sogenannten „Schwerewellen“ in der Atmosphäre. Dabei handelt es sich um starke Luftturbulenzen, die bei bestimmten Wetterlagen unter anderem an der Rückseite von Gebirgszügen entstehen. Sie können sich bis in 100 Kilometer Höhe ausbreiten. In der Luftfahrt sind diese Wellen gefürchtet, sie spielen aber auch für das Klima eine wichtige Rolle. Schwerewellen treiben in der mittleren und oberen Atmosphäre globale Zirkulationssysteme an. „Offensichtlich ändert sich die Dynamik dieser Wellen mit dem Anstieg des Kohlendioxids in der Erdatmosphäre“, unterstreicht Dr. Peter Preusse aus Jülich, „für zukünftige Klimaprognosen ist es daher sehr wichtig, diese Effekte genau zu verstehen.“

Felix Friedl-Vallon, Physiker am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, ist begeistert: „Bislang unerreicht ist die extrem hohe räumliche Auflösung unseres neuen Spektrometers. Die horizontale Auflösung beträgt bei GLORIA 30 Kilometer, und in der vertikalen Richtung 200 Meter. Damit ist GLORIA um eine ganze Größenordnung besser als bisherige Instrumente – das ist ein enormer Fortschritt!“ Möglich wird dies vor allem durch einen neuartigen Detektor-Chip, der über 10.000 Messungen auf einmal ausführen kann, sowie ein spezielles Manöver, welches die Forscher „Tomographischen Flug“ nennen. Hierbei umfliegt die „Geophysica“ auf einer kreisförmigen Bahn in 15 bis 20 Kilometer Höhe ein Luftpaket oder eine turbulente Zone. GLORIA behält dabei immer genau die gleichen Koordinaten im Fokus – eine steuerungstechnische, elektronische und optomechanische Meisterleistung, die GLORIA bei niedrigem Druck und extremen Temperaturen von bis zu minus 75 Grad Celsius vollbringt.

Ab dem 6. Dezember steigt GLORIA zunächst für vier Test- und Messflüge über der Arktis in den Himmel. Nach erfolgreichem Ersteinsatz auf der „Geophysica“ wird das Spektrometer ab Sommer 2012 an Bord des neuen deutschen Forschungsflugzeugs „HALO“ installiert. Und ab 2020, so die Hoffnung der Wissenschaftler, liefert eine weltraumtaugliche Version des Gerätes wichtige Klimadaten, und zwar als Bestandteil der PREMIER-Mission an Bord eines ESA-Satelliten. Altersbedingt stellen in den kommenden Jahren mehrere europäische und amerikanische Umweltsatelliten ihre Arbeit ein. „GLORIA schließt eine Lücke, die hier für die Atmosphärenforschung entsteht“, betont Hermann Oelhaf, Meteorologe am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 02.12.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: pressePgt9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.