Press Release 174/2011

Science Communication 2.0

Two-day Symposium on Science Communication and New Media with Film Premiere and Vernissage
InsideScience-Wissenschaftsfilme zeigen Forschung aus erster Hand. (Foto: ZAK, Felix Grünschloß)
InsideScience films present first-hand research. (Photo: ZAK, Felix Grünschloß)

On December 03 and 04, 2011, researchers and communication experts will discuss the future of public science at the ZKM | Center for Art and Media. In the course of the interdisciplinary symposium on “Public Science and New Media. The Role of the Web 2.0 Culture in Science Communication”, the partners of the DFG-funded InsideScience project at KIT will present their results. Representatives of the media are cordially invited to come to the premiere of InsideScience films on Saturday, December 03, 2011, 20.30 hrs.

Science no longer is a matter of a few persons sitting in an ivory tower or behind laboratory doors. More and more institutions are starting a dialog with the public and ever more often, the internet plays a prominent role. Science institutions draw attention to their program in social networks, establish video portals, or twitter their calendar of events. But is this enough? Are there strategies to set certain topics? And what is the use of a “public science” for the citizen? The Science Symposium on December 03 and 04, 2011, will discuss these questions and focus on open network dialogs, modern communication paths, and interactive media.

The symposium is organized by the partners of the InsideScience project at KIT. InsideScience stands for science communication 2.0. for communicating research in internet-adapted, partly animated films. The films want to make science an experience and enable the audience to put themselves in the position of the scientist. The premiere of the first InsideScience films will take place on December 03, 2011, 20.30 hrs, at the ZKM_Medientheater. From Monday, December 05, 2011, the films will be available at the InsideScience YouTube channel as well as at www.kit.edu/inside-science.

Another highlight of the symposium will be the science vernissage, during which an accessible exhibit will be presented. It is an interactive platform, whose size and structure form a “science space” that can be walked on by the visitors in order to pursue own paths of knowledge. The exhibit can be visited on December 03 and 04, 2011, at the ZKM_Medientheater. A cost-free tour will be offered on December 03, 2011, 17.00 hrs. 

Interested people as well as pupils are cordially invited to come to the symposium, premiere, and vernissage. Admission will be free.

A detailed program can be found at www.kit.edu/inside-science.

The InsideScience project is carried out by the KIT Collaborative Research Centers 588 “Humanoid Robots” and TR9 “Computer-supported Theoretical Particle Physics” in close cooperation with ZAK | Center for Applied Science and Studium Generale and the Public Relations and Marketing Service Unit (PKM).

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

ak, 25.11.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseNmx9∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Anna Moosmüller
ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale
Phone: +49 721 608-48027
Fax: +49 0721 608-44811
E-Mail:anna moosmuellerZfu4∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseUds0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 174/2011

Wissenschaftskommunikation 2.0

Zweitägiges Symposium zu Wissenschaftsvermittlung und Neuen Medien mit Filmpremiere und Vernissage
InsideScience-Wissenschaftsfilme zeigen Forschung aus erster Hand. (Foto: ZAK, Felix Grünschloß)
InsideScience-Wissenschaftsfilme zeigen Forschung aus erster Hand. (Foto: ZAK, Felix Grünschloß)

Am 3. und 4. Dezember 2011 diskutieren im ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Forscher und Kommunikationsexperten über die Zukunft der Öffentlichen Wissenschaft: Bei der interdisziplinären Tagung „Public Science und Neue Medien. Die Rolle der Web 2.0-Kultur in der Wissenschaftsvermittlung“ präsentieren die Beteiligten des DFG-geförderten Projektes InsideScience am KIT ihre bisherigen Ergebnisse. Darunter: Eine Premiere von InsideScience-Wissenschaftsfilmen am Samstag, 3. Dezember 2011, um 20.30 Uhr, zu der Medienvertreter herzlich eingeladen sind.   

Wissenschaft ist längst nicht mehr nur eine Sache von einigen wenigen, die im Elfenbeinturm oder hinter Labortüren sitzen. Immer mehr Institutionen suchen den Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit und immer öfter spielt dabei das Internet eine prominente Rolle: Wissenschaftseinrichtungen machen in sozialen Netzwerken auf ihr Programm aufmerksam, richten Videoportale ein oder twittern ihren Veranstaltungskalender. Aber ist es damit getan? Gibt es Strategien, bestimmte Themen zu setzen? Und was bringt dem Bürger eine „Öffentliche Wissenschaft“? Das Wissenschaftssymposium am 3. und 4. Dezember 2011 diskutiert diese Fragen und thematisiert offene Netzdialoge, moderne Kommunikationswege sowie interaktive Medien.

Die Tagung organisieren die Beteiligten des Projektes InsideScience am KIT. InsideScience steht für eine Wissenschaftsvermittlung 2.0, die Forschung in internetgerechten, zum Teil animierten Filmen vermittelt. Die filmischen Beiträge möchten Wissenschaft nacherlebbar machen und ermöglichen es dem Zuschauer, sich in den Wissenschaftler hineinzuversetzen. Die Premiere der ersten InsideScience-Filme findet am 3. Dezember 2011, 20.30 Uhr, im ZKM_Medientheater statt. Ab Montag, 5. Dezember 2011, sind sie auf dem InsideScience-YouTube-Kanal sowie unter www.kit.edu/inside-science zu sehen.

Ein weiterer Höhepunkt des zweitägigen Symposiums ist die Wissenschaftsvernissage, bei der ein begehbares Exponat vorgestellt wird: Es handelt sich dabei um eine interaktive Plattform, deren Größe und Struktur einen „Wissensraum“ formen, den die Besucher buchstäblich betreten können, um eigene Wissenswege zu gehen. Das Exponat kann am 3. und 4. Dezember 2011 im ZKM_Medientheater besichtigt werden. Eine kostenlose Führung findet am 3. Dezember 2011 um 17 Uhr statt.

Zur Tagung, Filmpremiere und Wissenschaftsvernissage sind alle Interessierten, auch Schülerinnen und Schüler, eingeladen. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Ausführliches Programm unter www.kit.edu/inside-science

Im InsideScience-Projekt arbeiten am KIT die Sonderforschungsbereiche 588 „Humanoide Roboter“ und TR9 „Computergestützte Theoretische Teilchenphysik“ eng mit dem ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale sowie der Dienstleistungseinheit Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM) zusammen.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) vereint als selbständige Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts die Aufgaben einer Universität des Landes Baden-Württemberg und eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Seine drei strategischen Felder Forschung, Lehre und Innovation verbindet das KIT zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas

ak, 25.11.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Anna Kwiatkowski
ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale
Tel.: +49 721 608-48027
Fax: +49 0721 608-44811
E-Mail: anna kwiatkowskiGwf3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseHop3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.