Press Release 168/2011

Underground Water Reservoirs for the Jordan Valley

Israeli, Palestinian, Jordanian, and German Researchers Cooperate under the SMART Project
Die Jordanquelle ist noch reich an Wasser, während im unteren Jordantal Wassermangel herrscht (Foto: Nico Goldscheider).
The Jordan spring is rich in water, while water is lacking in the lower Jordan valley. (Photo: Nico Goldscheider)

Water scarcity in the lower Jordan valley is extreme and political differences among the neighboring countries are high. To supply the population living in this region with sufficient clean water, Israeli, Jordanian, Palestinian, and German researchers cooperate under the direction of KIT. The SMART (Sustainable Management of Available Water Resources with Innovative Technologies) project focuses on technical solutions as well as on ecological and socioeconomic aspects.

The catchment area of the lower Jordan river between the Sea of Galilee and the Dead Sea is characterized by a very dry climate. Evaporation by far exceeds the amount of precipitation. The team of international experts of various disciplines is developing an integrated water resources management (IWRM) concept taking into account all water resources available. Apart from groundwater, these resources also include processed wastewater, desalinated brackish water, and, after strong rainfall in winter, flood water that flows via wadis into the Jordan river and then into the Dead Sea. Among the academic partners participating in the project funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) are the Ben Gurion University of the Negev, the University of Tel Aviv, the Palestinian Al-Quds University, and the Jordanian University of Amman. In addition, ministries, water supply companies, and authorities as well as local decision-makers are involved.

One of five German and three Jordanian young scientists writing their PhD theses at KIT within the framework of the SMART project is the geoecologist Moritz Zemann. His diploma thesis at the KIT Institute of Applied Geosciences already focused on the possibility of storing flood water after rare, but sometimes abundant precipitation in the geological underground. This “managed aquifer recharge” in natural reservoirs protects the water against evaporation. The scientists use their geological and hydrological knowledge to explore suitable natural reservoirs in sediments and rock and to develop technical solutions for storing water in the underground. Zemann’s PhD thesis now deals with the question of how the quality of the groundwater can be evaluated and protected. “The willingness to cooperate is high, the project contributes to reducing mutual prejudices,” he says. In total, 20 PhD students are involved in the project. Among the German partners are the University of Göttingen and the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ), Halle. Apart from the acquisition of engineering competence, it is also aimed at finding out which technology is politically feasible and affordable.

The project started in 2006 and has now entered its second phase, namely, practical implementation of research findings. At KIT, several institutes and scientists are involved in SMART apart from the coordinating Chair for Hydrogeology of Professor Nico Goldscheider. The Chair for Water Chemistry of the Engler-Bunte Institute (EBI), for instance, focuses on the desalination of brackish water. “This brackish spring water or groundwater is less salty than seawater, as a result of which energy expenditure for desalination is smaller. Moreover, brackish water can also be found inland,” says Goldscheider. The processed water does not have to be transported from the coastal region, but can be made available for drinking purposes and agriculture in a decentralized manner.

Among others, the dramatic scarcity of water in the lower Jordan valley is related to the population development. “In Jordan, population has grown from about 500,000 people in 1952 to six million today. This means that ten times more people need drinking water,” explains Goldscheider. The KIT professor adds that “the SMART project so far has survived all crises, even in times of major political tensions. On both sides, there probably is a silent, peaceloving majority and obviously, many of these reasonable people are scientists and researchers.”

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

afr, 14.11.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
pressePry5∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseLec9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 168/2011

Unterirdische Wasserspeicher für das Jordantal

Projekt SMART israelischer, palästinensischer, jordanischer und deutscher Forscher
Die Jordanquelle ist noch reich an Wasser, während im unteren Jordantal Wassermangel herrscht (Foto: Nico Goldscheider).
Die Jordanquelle ist noch reich an Wasser, während im unteren Jordantal Wasser-mangel herrscht (Foto: Nico Goldscheider).

Die Wasserknappheit im unteren Jordantal ist extrem, und die politischen Gräben zwischen den Anrainerstaaten sind tief. Um die in der Region lebenden Menschen dennoch mit ausreichend sauberem Wasser zu versorgen, arbeiten israelische, jordanische, palästinensische und deutsche Forscher unter Federführung des KIT zusammen. Das Projekt SMART (Sustainable Management of Available Water Resources with Innovative Technologies) hat technische Lösungen ebenso im Blick wie ökologische und sozioökonomische Fragen.

Das Einzugsgebiet des unteren Jordan zwischen dem See Genezareth und dem Toten Meer ist von einem sehr trockenen Klima geprägt. Die Verdunstung übersteigt die Niederschlagsmenge um ein Vielfaches. Das internationale Team aus Experten verschiedener Disziplinen entwickelt ein Konzept für ein integriertes Wasserressourcen-Management (IWRM), das alle verfügbaren Wasservorkommen einbezieht. Neben dem Grundwasser gehören aufbereitetes Abwasser, entsalztes Brackwasser und Flutwässer dazu, die nach starken Regenfällen im Winter über die Wadis zum Jordan und letztlich ins Tote Meer abfließen. Akademische Partner des vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) finanzierten Projekts sind unter anderem die Ben Gurion Universität des Negev, die Universität Tel Aviv, die palästinensische Al-Quds-Universität und die Jordanische Universität in Amman. An der Kooperation beteiligt sind außerdem Ministerien, Wasserversorgungsunternehmen und Behörden sowie lokale Entscheidungsträger.

Einer von fünf deutschen und drei jordanischen jungen Wissenschaftlern, die am KIT im Zuge von SMART ihre Dissertation schreiben, ist der Diplom-Geoökologe Moritz Zemann. Schon seine Diplomarbeit am KIT-Institut für Angewandte Geowissenschaften beschäftigte sich mit der Möglichkeit, die nach seltenen aber manchmal heftigen Niederschlägen entstehenden Flutwässer im geologischen Untergrund zu speichern. Diese „künstliche Grundwasserneubildung“ in natürlichen Speicherräumen schützt das Wasser vor Verdunstung. Die Wissenschaftler nutzen ihr geologisches und hydrologisches Wissen, um geeignete natürliche Speicher in Sedimenten und Gesteinen zu erkunden und technische Lösungen für das Einbringen des Wassers in den Untergrund zu entwickeln. Mit der Frage, wie die Qualität des Grundwassers zu bewerten und zu schützen ist, beschäftigt sich Zemann in seiner Doktorarbeit. „Der Wille zur Zusammenarbeit ist groß, das Projekt trägt dazu bei, gegenseitige Vorurteile abzubauen“, sagt er. Insgesamt sind 20 Doktoranden in das Projekt einbezogen, das auf deutscher Seite von der Universität Göttingen und dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ) in Halle mitgetragen wird. Neben der ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Kompetenz geht es auch darum, welche Technik gesellschaftspolitisch umsetzbar und bezahlbar ist.
     
Das 2006 gestartete Projekt befindet sich derzeit in seiner zweiten Phase, in der begonnen wird, die Forschungserkenntnisse praktisch umzusetzen. Am KIT sind außer dem federführenden Lehrstuhl für Hydrogeologie von Professor Nico Goldscheider weitere Institute und Wissenschaftler an SMART beteiligt. So befasst sich der Lehrstuhl für Wasserchemie am Engler-Bunte-Institut (EBI) mit der Entsalzung von Brackwasser. „Dieses brackische Quell- oder Grundwasser ist weniger salzig als Meerwasser und lässt sich daher mit geringerem Energieaufwand entsalzen; außerdem findet man es auch tief im Landesinneren“, sagt Goldscheider. So muss das aufbereitete Wasser nicht aus der Küstenregion transportiert werden, sondern kann dezentral zum Trinken und für die Landwirtschaft bereit gestellt werden.

Der dramatische Wassermangel im unteren Jordantal hängt unter anderem mit der Bevölkerungsentwicklung zusammen. „In Jordanien ist die Bevölkerung von etwa 500.000 Menschen im Jahr 1952 auf heute sechs Millionen angewachsen, das bedeutet zehnmal mehr Menschen brauchen Trinkwasser“, erläutert Goldscheider. Das SMART Projekt habe bislang „alle Krisen überstanden, selbst in Zeiten großer politischer Spannungen“, sagt der KIT-Professor. „Auf beiden Seiten gibt es wahrscheinlich eine schweigende friedliebende Mehrheit“, vermutet Goldscheider, „und offenbar finden sich besonders viele dieser Vernünftigen unter Wissenschaftlern und Forschern“.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

afr, 14.11.2011
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseEmn1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.