Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 165/2011

125 Years Discovery of Electromagnetic Waves

On November 11, 1886, Heinrich Hertz for the First Time Performed His Pioneer Experiment / Birth of Radio, TV, Mobile Radio Communication, and WLAN
Heinrich Hertz forschte und lehrte zwischen 1885 und 1889 in Karlsruhe (Foto: KIT).
Heinrich Hertz did research and taught in Karlsruhe from 1885 to 1889. (Photo: KIT-Archiv)

Making telephone calls with mobile phones, checking e-mails while being away on business, listening to news in the car: Communication on the way at any time and any place is part of our everyday life. It is made possible by a fundamental physical effect discovered by Heinrich Hertz exactly 125 years ago in Karlsruhe: The electromagnetic wave.

“For the late 19th century, the search for electromagnetic waves was something that corresponds to our search for dark matter or the mass of the neutrino today,” explains Volker Krebs, retired professor at KIT and Chairman of the Heinrich Hertz Society. Existence of electromagnetic waves of finite wavelength was the question most fervently discussed by fundamental researchers at that time. With his measurements, Hertz confirmed the so-called close-range effect theory and demonstrated that electromagnetic effects propagate at the speed of light,” says Krebs. “This initially application-free finding made 125 years ago today is the basis of any mobile phone call and any radio transmission.”

Over several weeks, Hertz conducted his experiments in a lecture hall of the then technical university, today’s Heinrich Hertz lecture hall on Campus South of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Hertz used a sphere gap in an oscillating electromagnetic dipole as emitter. The receiver was a slotted wire ring in which sparks were observed whenever a flashover took place at the emitter. On November 11, 1886, propagation of an electromagnetic wave was observed for the first time with this setup. Thus, James Clerk Maxwell’s close-range effect theory of electrodynamics was confirmed. In additional experiments with mirrors and standing waves, Hertz demonstrated later on that he had generated waves of 30 to 100 cm wavelength and 1000 - 300 MHz frequency. This makes Hertz the pioneer of high-frequency and radio technology that was then transferred to application by Guglielmo Marconi, Alexander Popow, and Ferdinand Braun. The unit of frequency, the Hertz, Hz, is named after Heinrich Hertz.

“For Hertz, Karlsruhe was the first step in his career,” emphasizes Dr. Klaus Nippert, Head of the KIT Archive. At Karlsruhe, 28-year-old Hertz was granted his first position as ordinary professor from 1885 to 1889. He was paid a sufficient salary and used the existing physical collection. The predecessor of Hertz had been Ferdinand Braun, Nobel prize winner in 1909 and inventor of the cathode beam tube that was applied widely as oscilloscope and television tube later on. “In Baden, Hertz left his bachelor existence behind,” knows Nippert. He married the daughter of a colleague and started a family. With his wife Elisabeth and his daughter Johanna, Heinrich Hertz left Karlsruhe after four years and moved to Bonn after having refused appointments to Berlin, Gießen, and America. But as early as in 1894, Hertz died in Bonn from sepsis at the age of 36. He was buried in Hamburg, his place of birth.

“Heinrich Hertz was an excellent researcher and university teacher,” says Professor Horst Hippler, President of KIT. “He was always eager to find out basic physical relationships. KIT is very proud of having him among its academic ancestors.”

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 08.11.2011
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseAuv2∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakisDxb3∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseFsv1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 165/2011

125 Jahre Entdeckung der elektromagnetischen Wellen

Am 11. November 1886 führte Heinrich Hertz erstmals sein bahnbrechendes Experiment durch / Geburtsstunde von Funk, Radio, Fernsehen, Mobilfunk und WLAN
Heinrich Hertz forschte und lehrte zwischen 1885 und 1889 in Karlsruhe (Foto: KIT).
Heinrich Hertz forschte und lehrte zwischen 1885 und 1889 in Karlsruhe (Foto: KIT-Archiv).

Mit dem Handy telefonieren, mal eben E-Mails von unterwegs checken, im Auto die aktuellen Nachrichten hören: Die Kommunikation von unterwegs, zu jeder Zeit und an jedem Ort gehört zu unserem Alltag. Möglich macht es ein grundlegender physikalischer Effekt, den Heinrich Hertz vor genau 125 Jahren in Karlsruhe entdeckte: die elektromagnetische Welle.

„Die Suche nach elektromagnetischen Wellen war für das ausgehende 19. Jahrhundert das, was für uns heute die Suche nach der Dunklen Materie oder der Neutrinomasse ist“, erklärt Volker Krebs, emeritierter Professor am KIT und Vorsitzender der Heinrich-Hertz-Gesellschaft. Ob elektromagnetische Wellen mit endlicher Wellenlänge existieren, war zwischen den Experten die am heißest diskutierte Frage der Grundlagenforschung. „Mit seinen Messungen konnte Hertz die sogenannte Nahewirkungstheorie bestätigen und zeigen, dass sich elektromagnetische Effekte mit Lichtgeschwindigkeit ausbreiten“, sagt Krebs. „Diese zunächst anwendungsfreie Grundlagenerkenntnis vor 125 Jahren ist heute Basis jedes Handytelefonates und jeder Rundfunkübertragung.“

Seine Experimente führte Hertz über mehrere Wochen in einem Hörsaal der damaligen Technischen Hochschule durch, dem heutigen Heinrich-Hertz-Hörsaal auf dem Campus Süd des KIT. Er nutzte als Sender eine Kugel-Funkenstrecke in einem schwingenden elektromagnetischen Dipol. Als Empfänger diente ein geschlitzer Drahtring, in dem er immer dann Funken beobachtete, wenn auch am Sender ein Überschlag stattfand. Damit war am     11. November 1886 erstmals die Ausbreitung einer elektromagnetischen Welle im Versuch beobachtet worden und damit die Maxwellsche Nahewirkungstheorie der Elektrodynamik bestätigt. In weiteren Experimenten mit Spiegeln und stehenden Wellen konnte Hertz später zeigen, dass er Wellen mit einer Wellenlänge von 30 bis 100 Zentimetern und Frequenzen zwischen 1000 und 300 MHz erzeugt hatte. Damit wurde Hertz zum Begründer der Hochfrequenz- und der Funktechnik, die nach ihm  Guglielmo Marconi, Alexander Popow und Ferdinand Braun in die Anwendung brachten. Heinrich Hertz zu Ehren ist die Maßeinheit der Frequenz, das Hertz, Hz, benannt.

„Karlsruhe war für Hertz die erste Sprosse in der Karierreleiter“, bemerkt Dr. Klaus Nippert, Leiter des KIT-Archivs. In Karlsruhe versah der 28-jährige Hertz zwischen 1885 und 1889 seine erste Stelle als ordentlicher Professor. Damit verfügte er über ein auskömmliches Gehalt und konnte auf die vorhandene physikalische Sammlung zurückgreifen. Hertz‘ Vorgänger im Amt war Ferdinand Braun, Nobelpreisträger 1909 und Erfinder der Kathodenstrahlröhre, die später als Oszilloskop und Fernsehröhre weite Verbreitung fand. „Privat gelang Hertz in Baden der Schritt aus der Jungesellenexistenz“, weiß Nippert. Er heiratete die Tochter eines Kollegen und gründete eine Familie. Mit seiner Frau Elisabeth und Tochter Johanna verließ Heinrich Hertz Karlsruhe nach vierjährigem Wirken in Richtung Bonn, nachdem er Berufungen nach Berlin, Gießen und Amerika abgelehnt hatte. Jedoch bereits im Jahre 1894 starb Hertz als 36-Jähriger in Bonn an einer Blutvergiftung. Sein letzte Ruhestätte fand er in seiner Geburtsstadt Hamburg.

 „Heinrich Hertz war ein hervorragender Forscher und Hochschullehrer“, sagt Professor Horst Hippler, Präsident des KIT. „Ihm ging es stets darum, Klarheit über grundsätzliche physikalische Zusammenhänge zu erhalten. Das KIT ist sehr stolz, ihn zu seiner akademischen Ahnenreihe zu zählen.“

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

kes, 08.11.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseEms7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.