Press Release 164/2011

Physicist Alexey Ustinov Acquires Russian Mega Grant

The CFN Scientist Is Granted EUR 3.5 Million for the “Superconducting Metamaterials“ Project

Alexey Ustinov, who has been working as professor at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and scientist at the DFG Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) since 2008, has acquired one of the much sought-after mega grants of the Russian Government. In the next two years, 150 million rubles corresponding to about EUR 3.5 million will be available for his “Superconducting Metamaterials” project. Ustinov plans to establish a research laboratory at the University of Science and Technology “MISIS” in Moscow.

The physicist will use the grant to set up a well-equipped laboratory with the corresponding staff in the Russian Federation and to advance his research at Karlsruhe and Moscow in the next years. The research laboratory will be established at the renowned National University of Science and Technology “MISIS” that has a long tradition in the field of condensed matter. Among the scientists teaching there were Alexei Abrikosov, Physics Nobel Prize winner in 2003 and specialist in the field of condensed matter, and Vadim Schmidt, whose publications and textbook on physics of superconductors are considered classic today.

Superconductors are materials that do no longer have any measurable electric resistance at a certain temperature. In the ideal case, current in an annular superconductor can flow for months without decay. Superconducting metamaterials are artificially produced structures with electromagnetic properties that cannot be found in nature. In contrast to normal metallic structures, superconducting metamaterials can be made smaller down to the micro- or nanometer range without losing their low-loss properties. It is the aim of the team of Ustinov in Moscow to develop loss-free metamaterials. These are of interest for circuits required for quantum computers.

Superconductors also are perfectly suited for studying quantum effects in metamaterials: This is where the research goals of Ustinov’s team in Moscow meet with those of CFN. In Karlsruhe, Ustinov’s team will study how quanta of electromagnetic field behave in superconductors. In current experiments, superconducting resonators are used to operate quantum bits and manipulate out their quantum states. Ustinov’s bilateral commitment will strengthen cooperation of both universities, MISIS and KIT. However, KIT will remain his main place of work. In case of success, project funding in Russia may be extended by another two years. 

About the Mega Grant
In spring 2011, 517 researchers worldwide applied for the Mega Grant that had been announced for the second time by the Russian Government. It was decided to give these grants to 39 scientists. Among them are two Nobel Prize winners, four scientists from Germany, six from France, and ten from the Unites States. The criteria applied for awarding the grant were scientific performance indicators, but also the viability of the programs and management and teaching qualities of the researchers played a role. A panel of 1299 international experts with half of them coming from Russia and half from abroad reviewed and evaluated the research projects. The final decision was made by the funding council of the Russian Government. The Mega Grant is intended to make Russia an attractive location of research for internationally renowned scientists after many academics left the country in the 1990s. In the past two years, the Russian Federation succeeded in setting up high-performance research groups and in boosting scientific innovation with its Mega Grants.

DFG Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN)
DFG Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) focuses on an important area of nanotechnology, functional nanostructures. Its excellent interdisciplinary and international research is aimed at representing nanostructures with new technical functions and at making the first step from fundamental research to application. Presently, more than 250 scientists and engineers are cooperating in more than 80 partial projects at the CFN in Karlsruhe. The focus is placed on the areas of nanophotonics, nanoelectronics, molecular nanostructures, nanobiology, and nanoenergy. www.cfn.kit.edu

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

te, 08.11.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseAuc2∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Tatjana Erkert
DFG-Centrum für Funktionelle Nanotrukturen (CFN)
Tel.: +49 721 608-43409
Fax.: 049 721 608-48496
E-Mail:tatjana erkertUqk1∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseEwx3∂kit edu

Presseinformation 164/2011

Physiker Alexey Ustinov gewinnt russischen Mega-Grant

Der CFN-Wissenschaftler erhält 3,5 Millionen Euro für das Projekt „Supraleitende Metamaterialien“.

Alexey Ustinov, seit 2008 Professor am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und Wissenschaftler des DFG-Zentrums für Funktionelle Nanostrukturen (CFN) am KIT, erhält einen der begehrten „Mega-Grants“ der russischen Regierung. Damit stehen ihm in den nächsten zwei Jahren 150 Millionen Rubel, rund 3,5 Millionen Euro, für sein Projekt „Supraleitende Metamaterialien“ zur Verfügung. Ustinov wird damit ein Forschungslabor an der University of Science and Technology „MISIS“ in Moskau einrichten.

Der Grant ermöglicht es dem Physiker, ein gut ausgestattetes Labor mit entsprechendem Personal in der Russischen Föderation aufzubauen und seine Forschung in den kommenden Jahren parallel in Karlsruhe und Moskau voranzutreiben. Ustinov wird das Forschungslabor an der renommierten National University of Science and Technology „MISIS“ einrichten. Die Universität verfügt über eine lange Tradition auf dem Gebiet der kondensierten Materie. Wissenschaftler wie Alexei Abrikosov, Nobelpreisträger für Physik im Jahr 2003 und Spezialist im Bereich der Kondensierten Materie, oder Vadim Schmidt, dessen Veröffentlichungen über Supraleiter heute zu den Klassikern zählen, haben dort gelehrt.

Supraleiter sind Materialien, die bei einer bestimmten Temperatur keinen messbaren elektrischen Widerstand mehr besitzen. Im Idealfall kann in einem ringförmig angelegten Supraleiter monatelang Strom fließen, ohne an Stärke zu verlieren. Bei supraleitenden Metamaterialien handelt es sich um künstlich erzeugte metallische Strukturen mit elektromagnetischen Eigenschaften, wie sie in der Natur nicht zu finden sind. Im Gegensatz zu normalen metallischen Strukturen können supraleitende Metamaterialien kontinuierlich bis in den Mikro- und Nanometerbereich verkleinert werden, ohne ihre leitenden Eigenschaften zu verlieren. Ziel der Forschungsgruppe Ustinovs in Moskau wird es sein, extrem verlustarme – also möglichst verlustfreie – supraleitende Metamaterialien zu entwickeln. Interessant sind diese beispielsweise für die Herstellung supraleitender Dünnschichtschaltkreise, die für die Realisierung von Quantencomputern benötigt werden.

Supraleiter eignen sich auch hervorragend für das Studium von Quanteneffekten in Metamaterialien: An diesem Schnittpunkt treffen sich die Forschungsbereiche von Ustinovs Moskauer Gruppe mit denen am CFN. In Karlsruhe gehen Ustinovs Mitarbeiter der Frage nach, wie sich Quanten in Supraleitern verhalten. In aktuellen Experimenten werden zum Beispiel supraleitende Resonatoren als Quantenbit betrieben, indem ihr Quantenzustand manipuliert und ausgelesen wird. Ein anderes Projekt untersucht die wellenförmige Bewegung einzelner Ladungspaare durch eine Reihe von Tunnelkontakten. Ustinovs bilaterales Engagement wird die Zusammenarbeit der beiden Universitäten MISIS und KIT stärken, sein Hauptbetätigungsfeld wird das KIT bleiben. Im Anschluss an das nun laufende Projekt ist eine Verlängerung der Förderung um weitere zwei Jahre möglich.


Zum Mega-Grant
517 weltweit forschende Wissenschaftler bewarben sich im Frühjahr 2011 um den Mega-Grant, der zum zweiten Mal von der russischen Regierung ausgeschriebenen wurde, 39 erhielten ihn. Unter ihnen sind zwei Nobelpreisträger, vier Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland, sechs aus Frankreich und zehn aus den Vereinigten Staaten. Bei der Vergabe spielten nicht allein wissenschaftliche Leistungsindikatoren eine Rolle, sondern auch die Zukunftsfähigkeit der Programme und die Führungs- und Lehrqualität des Forschers. Ein international besetztes Gremium aus 1299 Experten, die etwa zur Hälfte aus Russland und zur Hälfte aus dem Ausland kommen, prüfte und bewertete die Forschungsprojekte. Die endgültige Entscheidung traf der Förderungsrat der russischen Regierung. Der Mega-Grant soll Russland als Forschungsstandort für international renommierte Wissenschaftler attraktiv machen, nachdem in den 1990er-Jahren viele Akademier Russland verließen. Mit den Mega-Grants gelang der Russischen Föderation in den vergangenen zwei Jahren durch den Aufbau leistungsfähiger Forschungsgruppen ein enormer Schub an wissenschaftlicher Innovation.

DFG-Centrum für Funktionelle Nanostrukturen (CFN)
Das DFG-Centrum für Funktionelle Nanostrukturen (CFN) hat sich einem wichtigen Bereich der Nanotechnologie verschrieben: den funktionellen Nanostrukturen. Ziel ist es durch exzellente interdisziplinäre und internationale Forschung Nano-Strukturen mit neuen technologischen Funktionen darzustellen sowie den ersten Schritt von der Grundlagenforschung zur Anwendung zu gehen. Zurzeit arbeiten in Karlsruhe mehr als 250 Wissenschaftler und Techniker über das CFN vernetzt in mehr als 80 Teilprojekten zusammen. Der Fokus liegt auf den Bereichen Nano-Photonik, Nano-Elektronik, Molekulare Nanostrukturen, Nano-Biologie und Nano-Energie.

  

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

te, 08.11.2011

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Tatjana Erkert
DFG-Centrum für Funktionelle Nanotrukturen (CFN)
Tel.: +49 721 608-43409
Fax.: 049 721 608-48496
E-Mail: tatjana erkertCkq5∂kit edu