Press Release 162/2011

KIT Is Growing at an Enormous Speed

2011 Annual Academic Celebration: More than 3100 Ph. D. Students Are Conducting Research at KIT
Die KIT-Präsidenten Professor Eberhard Umbach und Professor Horst Hippler (v.l.n.r) begrüßen zur Akademischen Jahresfeier 2011.
KIT Presidents Professor Eberhard Umbach and Professor Horst Hippler (from left to right) welcome the guests of the 2011 Annual Academic Celebration. (Photo: Sandra Göttisheim)

Stamina is the magic word in the further development of KIT, emphasized Presidents Professor Horst Hippler and Professor Eberhard Umbach at this year’s Annual Academic Celebration. An example in the recent past was the draft KIT Act II: “It considerably extends our freedom of action and opens up better opportunities in national and international competition,” said Hippler in his speech. Hippler’s review of the past year, however, focused on the rapid growth of KIT in terms of both third-party funding acquired and number of graduate and Ph. D. students.

“KIT is growing at an enormous speed.” This was the central message of KIT President Horst Hippler at the Annual Academic Celebration. Acquisition of third-party funding from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation), the EU, and industry increased again. Presently, KIT is active in more than 50 programs relating to research and young scientists. But Hippler pointed out that this also results in special challenges for KIT: Only with sufficient basic funding can the rooms required for the execution of the projects be made available and the operation costs be borne.

Development of the number of students is similar: The total number of 22,500 students at KIT in the current winter semester means an increase of nearly 10% compared to the past year. “With this, our capacities are nearly exhausted. We will have problems when the two final secondary school classes will come in 2012,” said Hippler. Although new buildings were purchased in 2011, further areas are urgently required as are funds for staff, energy, and operation. Since the state government will abolish tuition fees as per the 2012 summer semester, Hippler considers the full and dynamic compensation announced to be a very important step. If added to the tuition fees, however, these funds would have very much improved the framework conditions for the students. Hippler emphasized that KIT will continue its efforts to maintain the high quality of education.

The number of Ph. D. students at KIT also has increased considerably again from 2500 one year ago to 3100. Hippler assumes that up to 800 doctors will leave KIT annually in the next years. “These high figures furnish evidence of the good research conditions at KIT. We are very proud of the development opportunities of our young scientists.”

Conferral of honors and prizes is a traditional constituent of the Annual Academic Celebration. This year, KIT Presidents Hippler and Umbach honored 15 lecturers with department teaching prizes. The prizes in the amount of EUR 10,000 per department serve to improve education. “They clearly show that good education and teaching is highly appreciated by KIT and equivalent to research work,” said Umbach. In addition, promotion of young scientists is of high priority at KIT. This year, nine young researchers were granted Ph. D. awards for excellent Ph. D. theses in the KIT competence fields by Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT Vice President for Research and Information.

Professor Manfred Popp, former Chairman of the Executive Board of Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, handed over the Otto Haxel Award of the Freundeskreis des Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe e. V. (Friends of Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe). This award is granted for scientific and technical achievements that are expected to result in effective innovations and, hence, major impulses for industry. This year’s award was given to Dr. Max Mertins from Novatec Solar. This company located in Karlsruhe has specialized in the manufacture of solar steam generators based on Fresnel collectors consisting of flat mirror strips. For them, Mertins developed an innovative receiver design with the help of a calculation program and heat losses were reduced by 50%. Now, standard turbines in solar power plants reach higher cost and energy efficiencies.

At the Annual Academic Celebration, the award “Selected Place 2011” was handed over to the KIT project “Aero-Tram – Wide-area measurements of air quality”. The tram operated by the Karlsruhe Transport Authorities is equipped with measurement instruments of the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK) to study air quality in the city. Dr. Bernhard Vogel, IMK, accepted the award from Frank Arlaud, Deutsche Bank.

The central scientific speech “Information Makes Markets – and How?!” was delivered by Professor Christof Weinhardt, Head of the KIT Institute of Information Systems and Management. The business engineer and economist is spokesman of the KIT Competence Area of “Technology, Culture, and Society” and one of the heads of the Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI) at KIT. Referring to selected research projects and applications, Weinhardt explained how information influences market development and how this influence works. Among others, he spoke about automatic trade on financial markets, which is frequently considered to be responsible for financial crises. This is not confirmed by studies made by Weinhardt’s research group. They reveal that technology leaps like those in the XEXTRA system of the Frankfurt Stock Exchange enhance information efficiency and lead to more rapid, fairer prices. Based on the example of flower auctions in Holland, Weinhardt explained that man’s acting is not only influenced by costs and reasoning, but also by emotions and in particular by stress. In the research area of “Physioeconomics”, new processes are developed to analyze the effect of emotion and excitement on decision-finding on the markets and to implement useful applications, e.g. training for emotion control.

The Annual Academic Celebration was framed by the musical program of the Collegium Musicum of KIT conducted by Hubert Heitz. The Celebration was opened by the KIT anthem and the “Ouverture” and “Chanson du Toréador” from Georges Bizet’s opera Carmen. It was completed by the “Aragonaise” and “Marche et Choeur” also from Carmen.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, sk, 05.11.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseKsh6∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneXqh9∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseZzk5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 162/2011

Das KIT wächst - mit enormer Geschwindigkeit

Akademische Jahresfeier 2011: Mehr als 3.100 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden forschen am KIT
Die KIT-Präsidenten Professor Eberhard Umbach und Professor Horst Hippler (v.l.n.r) begrüßen zur Akademischen Jahresfeier 2011.
Die KIT-Präsidenten Professor Eberhard Umbach und Professor Horst Hippler (v.l.n.r) begrüßen zur Akademischen Jahresfeier 2011. (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)

Ausdauer sei das Zauberwort bei der Weiterentwicklung des KIT, so die Präsidenten Professor Horst Hippler und Professor Eberhard Umbach bei der Akademischen Jahresfeier. Das habe jüngst auch der Entwurf zum KIT-Gesetz II gezeigt: „Er erweitert unseren Gestaltungsspielraum deutlich und eröffnet uns so größere Chancen im nationalen und internationalen Wettbewerb“, sagte Hippler in seiner Rede. Im Mittelpunkt des Jahresrückblicks stand aber das rasante Wachstum des KIT: bei den eingeworbenen Drittmitteln wie bei den Studierenden- und Doktorandenzahlen.

 

„Das KIT wächst – und zwar mit enormer Geschwindigkeit.“ So lautet die zentrale Botschaft von KIT-Präsident Horst Hippler bei der Akademischen Jahresfeier. Erneut stiegen die Drittmitteleinnahmen aus Projekten der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), der EU und der Industrie an. Derzeit ist das KIT in mehr als 50 Programmen zu Forschung und wissenschaftlichem Nachwuchs aktiv. Das, so Hippler, stelle das KIT aber auch vor Herausforderungen: Nur mit ausreichender Grundausstattung könne man die für die Umsetzung der Projekte benötigten Räume zur Verfügung stellen und die Betriebskosten tragen.

Ähnlich sieht es bei den Studierendenzahlen aus: Mit den insgesamt 22.500 Studierenden im laufenden Wintersemester verzeichnet das KIT eine Steigerung von knapp zehn Prozent gegenüber dem Vorjahr. „Damit ist unsere Kapazität fast vollständig erschöpft. Problematisch wird das, wenn 2012 der doppelte Abiturjahrgang kommt“, sagte Hippler. Zwar habe man in diesem Jahr neue Gebäude erworben, dennoch benötige man dringend weitere Flächen und Mittel für Personal, Energie und Betriebskosten. Zum Sommersemster 2012 schaffe die Landesregierung die allgemeinen Studiengebühren ab, die angekündigte volle und dynamische Kompensation sei deshalb ein wichtiger Schritt, so Hippler. Diese Mittel zusätzlich zu den Studiengebühren einzuführen, hätte es jedoch ermöglicht, den Studierenden bessere Rahmenbedingungen zu bieten. Das KIT werde aber weiterhin alles daran setzen, die hohe Qualität der Lehre aufrecht zu erhalten.

Ebenfalls noch einmal deutlich gestiegen ist die Zahl der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden am KIT: von 2.500 vor einem Jahr auf nun 3.100. Hippler geht davon aus, dass in den kommenden Jahren pro Jahr bis zu 800 Promovierte das KIT verlassen. „Wir verstehen diese enormen Zahlen als Beleg für die guten Forschungsbedingungen am KIT, auf die Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten für unseren wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sind wir sehr stolz.“

Traditionell gehören Ehrungen und Preisverleihungen zur Akademischen Jahresfeier. So zeichneten die KIT-Präsidenten Hippler und Umbach in diesem Jahr 15 Dozentinnen und Dozenten mit Fakultätslehrpreisen aus: Die 10.000 Euro Preisgeld pro Fakultät sind an Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Lehre gebunden. „Damit setzen wir ein deutliches Zeichen dafür, dass gute Lehre eine Leistung ist, die das KIT ebenso wertschätzt wie eine Forschungsarbeit“, so Umbach. Große Bedeutung hat am KIT auch die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses: Mit Doktorandenpreisen für herausragende Dissertationen in den KIT-Kompetenzfeldern zeichnete Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information, in diesem Jahr neun junge Forscherinnen und Forscher aus.

Professor Manfred Popp, früherer Vorstandsvorsitzender des Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe, verlieh den Otto-Haxel-Preis des Freundeskreises des Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe e. V. Dieser Preis zeichnet wissenschaftliche und technische Leistungen aus, die wirksame Innovationen erbringen und damit wichtige Impulse für die Industrie liefern. Die Wahl fiel in diesem Jahr auf Dr. Max Mertins von Novatec Solar. Das Karlsruher Unternehmen ist spezialisiert auf die Herstellung von solaren Dampferzeugern auf der Basis von Fresnel-Kollektoren, die aus ungewölbten Spiegelstreifen bestehen. Für diese entwickelte Mertins mithilfe eines Berechnungsprogramms ein innovatives Receiverdesign, das Wärmeverluste um 50 Prozent reduziert. Damit ist es möglich, Standardturbinen in Solarkraftwerken kosten- und energieeffizienter zu betreiben.

Einen Preis als „Ausgewählter Ort 2011“ erhielt das KIT-Projekt „Aero-Tram – Großflächige Messungen der Luftqualität“ bei der Akademischen Jahresfeier: Die Straßenbahn der Verkehrsbetriebe Karlsruhe ist mit Messgeräten des KIT-Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK) ausgestattet, das so die Luftqualität in der Stadt untersucht. Dr. Bernhard Vogel vom IMK nahm die Auszeichnung von Frank Arlaud, Deutsche Bank, entgegen.

Den wissenschaftlichen Festvortrag „Informationen machen Märkte – und wie!?“ hielt Professor Christof Weinhardt, Leiter des Instituts für Informationswirtschaft und -management des KIT. Der Wirtschaftsingenieur und Volkswirt ist unter anderem Sprecher des KIT-Kompetenzbereiches „Technik, Kultur und Gesellschaft“ sowie einer der Leiter des Karlsruhe Service Research Institutes (KSRI) am KIT. In seinem Vortrag zeigte Weinhardt an ausgewählten Forschungsprojekten und Anwendungsgebieten, wie Informationen das Marktgeschehen beeinflussen und wie diese Einflussnahme funktioniert. Unter anderem sprach er über den automatisierten Handel an Finanzmärkten, der häufig für Finanzkrisen verantwortlich gemacht wird. Die Studien aus Weinhardts Forschungsgruppe bestätigen das jedoch nicht, sie zeigen: Technologiesprünge wie bei dem System XEXTRA der Frankfurter Börse sorgen für höhere Informationseffizienz, also für schnellere, faire Preise. Anhand der Blumenauktionen in Holland zeigte er, dass nicht nur Kostengrößen und Rationalität den Menschen beim Handeln beeinflussen, sondern auch Emotionen, insbesondere Stress. Im Forschungsfeld „Physioeconomics“ werden nun neue Verfahren entwickelt, die es erlauben, den Zusammenhang von Emotionen und Erregung auf die Entscheidungsfindung in Märkten zu analysieren und in nützlichen Anwendungen umzusetzen, zum Beispiel in Trainings zur Emotionsregulierung.

Das musikalische Rahmenprogramm der Akademischen Jahresfeier gestaltete das Collegium Musicum des KIT unter der Leitung von Hubert Heitz: Es eröffnete mit der KIT-Hymne sowie der „Ouvertüre“ und dem „Chanson du Toréador“ aus Georges Bizets Oper Carmen. „Aragonaise“ und „Marche et Choeur“, ebenfalls aus Carmen, bildeten den feierlichen Abschluss.

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

le, sk, 05.11.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneNrc2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseQcn2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.