Press Release 152/2011

Navigation Device Shows Blind People the Way

A Student and a Graduate of KIT Win the “European Satellite Navigation Competition”
Blinde Frau mit Stock
The navigation device supports blind and visually impaired persons indoors and outdoors. (Photo: Ottó Kálmán)

KIT student Jan Patrick Schindler and KIT graduate Matthias Wuest are working on a digital white cane with an integrated navigation system. At the European Satellite Navigation Competition (ESNC), Munich, both were awarded the first prize in the special category of University Challenge yesterday evening, which means that the development of the device will be financed among others under an incubator program in the amount of EUR 75,000.

The idea of both developers combines the navigation technology for driving a car with three-dimensional image processing used in game pads. Visually impaired and blind people are enabled to find their way around both indoors and outdoors without any help. Indoor navigation is based on images taken by cameras integrated in the device. These images are compared with stored floor plan data to show the way to the user. Communication between the device and the visually impaired person may take place via an audio function. “But we are also thinking about other possibilities,” says the economic engineer-to-be Jan Patrick Schindler. The development might also be attractive to seeing persons. For instance, the system might be used as a pilot through public buildings, such as hospitals, big department stores, or event locations.

“I very much thought about how things that are theoretically possible can be implemented technically,” says the diploma student. The project with the working title NAVIP (navigation device for visionally impaired persons) is based on the possibilities of the European navigation system Galileo. “The US-American satellite navigation system GPS reaches an accuracy of about 20 m, which is far too imprecise for pedestrians. With the help of Galileo, however, a position can be determined with a far higher precision,” says Schindler. “But Galileo presumably will not start operation before 2016. Our next step therefore is to develop technical approaches, by means of which a prototype can be tested within a foreseeable period. We plan to present the GPS-based prototype within half a year.” Further development of NAVIP will be supported by the ESNC prize that is associated with an incubator program in the amount of about EUR 75,000 for a duration of twelve months, which is sponsored by a leading supplier of digital map data. In addition, a patent office acting all over Europe will provide patent counseling in the amount of EUR 5,000. 

401 ideas from nearly 50 countries were submitted to the ESNC competition organized under the auspices of the Bavarian State Ministry of Economics, Infrastructure, Transportation, and Technology. 180 international experts from industry and research evaluated the ideas. Apart from the use of the global navigation satellite system, major criteria of the jury were the benefit of the application proposed, its innovative character, and prospects of economic success. Jan Patrick Schindler, who was born in Hanover and is now living at Neulingen near Pforzheim, points out that during his studies of economic engineering at KIT with its large scope of technical and economic issues, he has learned to “rapidly understand complex relationships.” Schindler will complete his studies next spring.

More information on the European Satellite Navigation Competition: www.galileo-masters.eu
 

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

afr, 20.10.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseUpz4∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneBny0∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 152/2011

Navigationsgerät soll Blinden sicher den Weg zeigen

Ein Student und ein Absolvent des KIT waren mit ihrer Entwicklung beim Wettbewerb „European Satellite Navigation Competition“ erfolgreich.
Blinde Frau mit Stock
Im Freien wie in Innenräumen soll das Navigationsgerät blinde und sehbehinderte Menschen unterstützen (Foto: Ottó Kálmán)

Der KIT-Student Jan Patrick Schindler und der KIT-Absolvent Matthias Wuest arbeiten an einem digitalen Blindenstock mit integriertem Navigationssystem. Bei der European Satellite Navigation Competition (ESNC) erhielten die beiden dafür gestern Abend in München den ersten Preis in der Spezialpreis-Kategorie University Challenge. Dieser fördert die weitere Entwicklung des Geräts unter anderem mit einem Inkubatorprogramm im Wert von rund 75.000 Euro.

Die Idee der beiden Entwickler verbindet die beim Autofahren genutzte Navigationstechnologie mit der dreidiemensionalen Bildverarbeitung wie sie für Spielekonsolen verwendet wird. Sehbehinderte und blinde Menschen könnten sich damit sowohl im Freien als auch im Inneren von Gebäuden ohne fremde Hilfe zurecht finden. Für die Indoor-Navigation sollen in das Gerät integrierte Kameras Bilder aufnehmen, die mit gespeicherten Grundriss-Daten abgeglichen werden, um dem Nutzer den Weg zu weisen. Die Kommunikation zwischen Gerät und Sehbehinderten könnte über eine Audiofunktion stattfinden. „Wir denken aber auch über andere Möglichkeiten nach“, so der angehende Wirtschaftsingenieur Jan Patrick Schindler. Denn auch für Sehende könnte die Entwicklung attraktiv sein, etwa als Lotse durch öffentliche Gebäude wie Krankenhäuser, durch große Warenhäuser oder Veranstaltungsorte.

„Mich hat die Frage sehr beschäftigt, wie das, was theoretisch möglich ist, sich technisch realisieren lässt“, sagt der Diplomand. Das Projekt mit dem Arbeitstitel NAVIP (navigation device for vision impaired persons) setzt auf die Möglichkeiten des europäischen Navigationssystems Galileo. „Das US-amerikanische Satellitennavigationssystem GPS bietet eine Genauigkeit von etwa 20 Metern, das ist für Fußgänger natürlich viel zu ungenau, mit Hilfe von Galileo kann dagegen eine Position mit einer weitaus höheren Präzision bestimmt werden“, sagt Schindler. „Allerdings wird Galileo voraussichtlich nicht vor 2016 einsatzbereit sein, deshalb ist der nächste Schritt, technische Ansätze zu erarbeiten, die es möglich machen, trotzdem in absehbarer Zeit einen Prototyp zu testen. Wir planen den auf GPS-Basis arbeitenden Prototyp in einem halben Jahr zu präsentieren.“ Unterstützt wird die weitere Entwicklung von NAVIP durch den ESNC-Preis, der mit einem zwölfmonatigen Inkubatorprogramm im Wert von rund 75.000 Euro, gesponsert von einem führenden Anbieter digitaler Kartendaten, verbunden ist. Darüber hinaus stellt eine europaweit agierende Kanzlei patentanwaltliche Beratung im Wert von 5.000 Euro zur Verfügung.

401 Ideen aus nahezu 50 Ländern wurden 2011 zu dem Wettbewerb ESNC eingereicht, der unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bayerischen Staatsministeriums für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Verkehr und Technologie steht. Eine internationale Riege mit 180 Experten aus Industrie und Forschung hat die Ideen bewertet. Wichtige Kriterien der Jury waren neben dem Einsatz des Globalen Navigationssatellitensystems der Nutzen der vorgeschlagenen Anwendung, ihre Innovationskraft und ihre Aussicht auf wirtschaftlichen Erfolg. Im Studium des Wirtschaftsingeneurwesens am KIT mit seiner Bandbreite technischer und wirtschaftlicher Themen habe er gelernt, sich „schnell in viele Bereiche hineinzudenken“, sagt der in Hannover geborene und in Neulingen bei Pforzheim lebende Jan Patrick Schindler, der sein Studium im kommenden Frühjahr abschließen wird.

Nähere Informationen zur European Satellite Navigation Competition: www.galileo-masters.eu

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

afr, 20.10.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneOjo8∂kit edu