Press Release 139/2011

Startup Competition in Karlsruhe

KIT Students Group PionierGarage Will Organize the First STARTup Live RhineValley in Karlsruhe from September 23 to 25, 2011
Geballte Power: Die studentische Hochschulgruppe PionierGarage des KIT organisiert den Gründerwettbewerb STARTup Live Rhine Valley in Karlsruhe.  (Foto: KIT)
The KIT PionierGarage students group organizes the competition STARTup Live RhineValley in Karlsruhe. (Photo: PionierGarage)

Working at full power for 54 hours: About 100 students of economics, engineering, and design from various universities in Baden-Württemberg will develop and implement business models at the first “STARTup Live RhineValley” from September 23 to 25, 2011 in Karlsruhe. The startup weekend under the heading of “Mentor Driven. Expert Rated” is a successful European concept that will now be implemented for the first time in the region of Karlsruhe by the KIT students group PionierGarage. Journalists are cordially invited to the event.

The group of participants from KIT has already selected a topic from five research areas and developed a corresponding business model. During the competition, this model will be implemented. “At the competition, young entrepreneurs have ideal prerequisites to develop their ideas, find new team members, establish contacts to mentors, and obtain a first feedback from investors,” says Philipp Richter from the STARTup organization team.
 

First, the teams will have to find supporters of their idea during a presentation of 90 seconds. Then, experienced entrepreneurs from all over Europe will act as business mentors, give advice as to how the teams of young entrepreneurs can implement their business idea, and finally evaluate all ideas. KIT employees will also be among the mentors. One of them is Andreas Neus from the Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI).

The first STARTup Live RhineValley in Germany is organized by the KIT students group PionierGarage. This platform gives KIT students, who think like entrepreneurs, the opportunity to develop and implement their ideas in a team. For the organization of the competition, PionierGarage cooperates with many partner university groups from Karlsruhe, Mannheim, Friedrichshafen, Tübingen, and Stuttgart as well as with partners from the Cyberforum.

KIT’s contribution to the competition is a result of the project “Research to Business Live” of KIT, Cyberforum, and PionierGarage. By an association of researchers, students, and experienced entrepreneurs, it wishes to close the gap between technology and market. Interdisciplinary teams of students conceived business models for technologies developed by KIT researchers.

The best teams of the STARTup weekend will be given the possibility to take part in the STARTup weekend in Vienna from Monday, October 3 to Friday, October 7. For ideas in the energy sector, the Knowledge and Innovation Community (KIC) InnoEnergy will grant a special award.

The event will take place in the rooms of Vollack GmbH, Am Heegwald 26, Karlsruhe.

Information on the program and registration:
http://www.starteurope.at/event/startup-live-rhinevalley-1/

Information on PionierGarage:
www.pioniergarage.de

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

sk, le, 16.09.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGme6∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtEkp8∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseJvd5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 139/2011

Gründerwettbewerb in Karlsruhe

Ein Unternehmer-Wochenende unter Vollgas – die KIT-Hochschulgruppe PionierGarage veranstaltet von 23. bis 25. September 2011 das erste STARTup Live Rhine Valley in Karlsruhe
Geballte Power: Die studentische Hochschulgruppe PionierGarage des KIT organisiert den Gründerwettbewerb STARTup Live Rhine Valley in Karlsruhe.  (Foto: KIT)
Geballte Power: Die studentische Hochschulgruppe PionierGarage des KIT organisiert den Gründerwettbewerb STARTup Live Rhine Valley in Karlsruhe. (Foto: PionierGarage)

54 Stunden Energie pur: Rund 100 Studierende der Fachrichtungen Wirtschaft, Technik und Design von verschiedenen Hochschulen aus Baden-Württemberg entwickeln beim ersten „STARTup Live RhineValley“ vom 23. bis 25. September 2011 in Karlsruhe Geschäftsmodelle und setzen sie um. Das Gründerwochenende unter dem Motto „Mentor Driven. Expert Rated.“ ist ein europäisches Erfolgskonzept, das die KIT-Hochschulgruppe PionierGarage erstmals für die Region Karlsruhe umsetzt. Journalisten sind herzlich zu der Veranstaltung eingeladen.

Die Teilnehmergruppe vom KIT hat bereits im Vorfeld ein Thema aus fünf Forschungsbereichen ausgewählt und dazu ein Geschäftsmodell erarbeitet. Dieses wird nun beim Wettbewerb umgesetzt. „Beim Wettbewerb bekommen junge Gründer ideale Voraussetzungen, um ihre Ideen zu entwickeln, neue Teammitglieder zu finden, Kontakte mit Mentoren zu knüpfen und auch schon mal erstes Feedback von Investoren einzuholen“, sagt Philipp Richter vom STARTup-Organisationsteam.

Zunächst müssen die Teams in einer 90-Sekunden-Präsentation Unterstützer für die eigene Idee finden. Anschließend beraten erfahrene Unternehmer aus ganz Europa als „Business Mentoren“ die jungen Unternehmerteams bei der Umsetzung der Geschäftsidee und bewerten diese anschließend. Auch KIT-Mitarbeiter werden die Teams als Mentoren unterstützen, darunter Andreas Neus vom Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI).

Der Organisator des ersten STARTup Live RhineValley in Deutschland ist die Hochschulgruppe PionierGarage des KIT, eine Plattform, die unternehmerisch denkenden KIT-Studierenden die Möglichkeit bietet, ihre Ideen in Gruppenarbeit zu entwickeln und umzusetzen. Bei der Organisation des Wettbewerbs arbeitet die PionierGarage mit vielen Partnerhochschulgruppen aus Karlsruhe, Mannheim, Friedrichshafen, Tübingen und Stuttgart sowie Partnern aus dem Cyberforum zusammen.

Der Wettbewerbsbeitrag des KIT geht aus dem Projekt „Research to Business Live“  des KIT, des Cyberforums und der PionierGarage hervor, das als Zusammenschluss von Forschern, Studierenden und erfahrenen Unternehmern die Lücke von Technologien zum Markt schließen will. Interdisziplinäre Studierenden-Teams konzipierten zu diesem Zweck Geschäftsmodelle für Technologien, die KIT-Forscher entwickelt haben.

Die besten Teams des STARTup-Wochenendes erhalten unter anderem die Möglichkeit, bei der STARTup Week in Wien von Montag, 3. Oktober bis Freitag, 7. Oktober, teilzunehmen. Für Ideen aus dem Energiebereich stellt die Knowledge and Innovation (KIC) InnoEnergy einen Sonderpreis zur Verfügung.

Die Veranstaltung findet in den Räumen der Vollack GmbH, Am Heegwald 26, in Karlsruhe statt.

Informationen zum Programm und Anmeldung unter:
http://www.starteurope.at/event/startup-live-rhinevalley-1/

Informationen zur PionierGarage:
www.pioniergarage.de

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

sk, le, 16.09.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtQri8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseUcj9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.